Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

Kentucky Avenue School has done wonders for my child. Learning has become an active and social process. KAS is a place where self expression, a sense of responsibility and big ideas are encouraged. Teachers foster a sense of wonder, curiosity and celebrate the whole child. Children are actively involved and parents are welcomed!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2012

more

October 2, 2012

As parents, we have found that KAS truly understands that all children are different, and sincerely embraces the ideal that each should be recognized, nurtured and challenged. Its educational philosophy is flexible, individualized, holistic, multiple-perspective, based in the development of critical thinking, and morally informed. The most recent illustration of what makes KAS special, to us, was a simple print-out taped up in our child's new classroom - "We work to become, not to acquire". Just so. At KAS it is about each child's self-actualization, not the acquisition of rote knowledge (or possessions), but the personal journey towards self-understanding, self-worth, meaning in life, connectedness to others, and social contribution. WE WORK TO BECOME.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 26, 2012

more

September 26, 2012

"Its small size and personal attention of the teachers to each student, their abilities and possibilities. Effort of the teachers to make learning fun and engaging. I find some of the mixes very interesting: history and art, music, literature and history, math, science, drawing and writting. The fact that kids as young as kindergarten are exposed to music and art. They absorb them unconsciously even if they might not have paitence at the conscious level. We like spanish as a second language given US demographics. We like the feel of the small school where the kids know almost everybody and feel heard and safe. We like that the after school is run by in house and not outsourced. We like the healthy food provided by the cafe at low prices. We like the thoughtful spending of resources with kids needs at the forefront."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 21, 2012

more

September 21, 2012

It is very popular these days to throw the word "community" around when describing schools, but Kentucky Avenue School truly is a community. The teachers and the parents are invested in each child's academic education as well as their development into members of the larger community outside of school. This small school houses a big heart. It is a place where the Fifth grade teacher knows the names of all of the Kindergarten kids and the Principal greets all of the children as they enter the building in the morning. My child is not only receiving a great education from a great bunch of educators, but he is learning what is means to be a part of a community that values him and inspires him. It is the best possible foundation for high school and beyond.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2012

more

September 20, 2012

At the public school, so much seemed geared toward teaching kids how to become good test-takers. At Kentucky Avenue School, the teaching and learning that takes place is active, vibrant, rich, productive. The place hums when you walk through the halls. It's the sound of good work, and the deep satisfaction that carries with it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers