Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

This is about people who have turned personal tragedy into saving the lives of others. NOTHING could be more heartfelt and honest. Ken would be proud.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 11, 2013

more

June 11, 2013

I recently found an article on Facebook that talked about your son. My sister lived across from Geneva high school at the time. I grew up in Kingsville but was visiting with my sister (At the time I was living in Cincinnati and was a trauma nurse at an intercity hospital.)

We were leaving
to go somewhere when I looked across the street and saw what looked like two people doing CPR. They were doing it so perfectly that my first thought was that they were having a drill of some sort. When I realized it was not a drill, I ran across the street to help the coaches and I too helped try to revive your son.

I am a mom of four boys myself so I thought you would want to know how hard those coaches and myself tried. They really were doing everything right and they were devastated. That was the only moment as a nurse I felt afraid and helpless.

I am do happy and proud that you have gone on to do great things in the name if your son.


I hope I have not upset you by contacting you. I had called the hospital later that day to find out the status, though as a nurse I was pretty sure I already knew the answer. I was terribly saddened to find that he had passed.

So as a mom, thank you for maybe making a difference in someone's life,

Kristy Dubsky
Strongsville, OH

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 9, 2012

more

August 9, 2012

I have had the pleasure of working with founder Linette Derminer of KEN Heart Foundation, for over 6 years. Her guidance and mentorship has enabled us to successfully develop a non-profit foundation in Washington State. Linette's dedication and countless hours of service in memory of her son, Kenneth has without a doubt made a difference in how the medical community views youth heart health. KEN Heart's tireless ability to educate the public about sudden cardiac arrest (SCA) in youth and the need for a national SCA database, AED's in all public places, CPR and AED training and most recently youth heart screenings will change public policy. KEN Heart Foundation is a leader in the fight to prevent the devastating effects of SCA in young people and I'm grateful to partner in their efforts.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I have been a volunteer, as well as a friend of the family who dedicates countless hours raising money to provide schools with difibrilaters! KEN (Kids Endangered Now) has worked very hard for years educating and providing schools and family's with items that could save lives! Linette Derminer has a ton of ambition and faith to reach out to others without her and the many family members/ friends helping her out with this non-profit orginasation KEN would not have reached out and touched as many people as they have! Over the years I have seen so many charities whom all work very hard, KEN in my eyes is truly one of the best family orginized team! I can't wait to see the lives that she will forever change in the up coming years!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

We approached KEN HEART FOUNDATION not once but twice to donate a defribrillator at Kingsville Area Little League. Both times, they came through for us and now our players, coaches, and spectators can feel safe knowing the equipment is in place to handle and emergency. They give so mush to the area to help and are as pleasant and courteous as can be.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 8, 2012

more

August 8, 2012

I met Linette and her husband after they hired our company to do some home improvements. I saw how dedicated they are in their foundation. Having a son that was born with congenital heart defects 21 years ago, I admire how they turned their personal loss into a way to reach out to others, and to help prevent the same tragedy from happening to another family.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Unsure

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 19, 2012

more

July 19, 2012

The KEN Heart Foundation has been a leader in the reduction of fatalities in youth caused by Sudden Cardiac Arrest for many years. Their dedication and tireless efforts speak volumes. Any time I have needed information on Sudden Cardiac Arrest in youth as it applies to sport Linette has been an amazing resource.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Quite well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 2, 2011

more

June 2, 2011

I can not say enough about the courageous work being done by the Ken Heart Foundation. The founder, Linnette, was one of the first to reach out to me after the loss of my own son Jonathan. Our son too was living with an undetected heart syndrome whose first warning sign was sudden cardac arrest. Sudden Cardiac Arrest strikes children and youth across our nation everyday and Linette and the KHF were one of the first to start connecting the devasting losses of youth to undetected heart syndromes in a data base which has helped to raise the level of concern and awareness about SCA and youth nationally. With organization like KHF raising awareness, screening kids, and putting defibrillators where our children work and play the tradgies of SCA are reduced. Each time we prevent a death, we honor our own children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The KHF has eagerly shared their knowledge of how to raise awareness and protect other children from SCA with countless others. Linette has mentored me in how to do the same in my own community. She has always lent her ear, heart and shoulder to those walking their own path of grief even as she had to shoulder her own.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding to do more!!

June 26, 2010

more

June 26, 2010

"I think this organization is outstanding and is well worth it. Since it was instilled in 2000 I have watched it grow over the years and will continue to help in anyway possible to see its continued growth. "KEN Heart is commited to saving childrens lives from a sudden cardiac arrest. THEY WORK DILLIGENTLY TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC AS TO THE WARNING SIGNS OF Sudden Cardiac Arrest (SCA). Linette truly understand the sadness a family goes thru from the loss of a child. By supporting KEN Heart, they are able to grow and continue to educate those that have the power to help save a childs life""

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

that I am able to help others.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

June 26, 2010

more

June 26, 2010

I would like to nominate the Ken Heart Foundation because of all the wonderful things the foundation does for families and the community. My mother’s mission started on 6/7/2000 when her son collapsed on the football field during a mini camp. Her son (Kenneth) had an undetected heart defect and passed away that day. Through this tragedy she gathered strength and told her self that she would not let this happen to another family and Kenneth’s death would not be in vain. My mother (Linette Derminer) started doing her own research about heart defects and other families were coming out of the woodwork that the same incidences happed to them. She learned about AED's and how affective they are for revival of a cardiac arrest. She started her own heart foundation; kids endanger now (K.E.N). She hosts her own fundraisers in hopes to raise money so she can place AED’s in schools and athletic groups. One of the biggest highlights of the foundation was that she donated a difbulator to a YMCA and a man went in cardiac arrest and he was revived for that same AED. She is also involved in parent heart watch, which is an organization that helps consol other families who had lost a loved one from a heart defect. My mother deserves some recognition for her great efforts, and I think this would be a wonderful achievement for her. The KEN Heart Foundation is helping to train high school student how to be first responders in CPR and also raising money to give free heart screening to kids who can’t afford the screening.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I am the cpr trainer for the foundation and i love my job. Without Ken Heart, I would not be able to do the great things I do.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers