Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 3, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having started with the club in 2002, I have seen it grow from a crew that was counted on one hand to days with over 100 volunteers working on multiple projects. We have grown into a full fledged partner with the National Park Service, with the superintendent sitting in on all of our board meetings. Our 10 person board. Our workdays give a person the chance to make a visible impact on the quality of the hiking trails in the park in just one workday. Now our workdays see trail crews as diverse as they can be, corporate types, military personnel, inter-city kids, university students, high school students, grade school kids, track clubs, horse riders and scout organizations. If a company wants a special work day just to draw their people together, we even arrange that as well..

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In 2009 when my youngest graduated from high school I found that I had lots of free time on my hands. I wanted to find a community project that I could get involved with. While hiking at Kennesaw Mountain I saw a notice asking for volunteers to come out and work on Saturday doing some trail maintenance. In the 9 years I had lived in Kennesaw I had made many hikes up the mountain and love the outdoors so I thought I would give it a try. I cannot believe it has been over 3 years since I started volunteering with the Kennesaw Mountain Trail Club. I have learned so much about trail maintenance, invasive plants and the history of the mountain, before, during and after the Civil War.

The Kennesaw Mountain Trail Club is a wonderful organization. They not only work on maintaining the trails at Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield but also are helping in preserving our history. Their efforts are supported by volunteers in the many man hours of service that they have so generously given along with grants and donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2013

I originally volunteered at Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield Park because I wanted to remedy one problem on one of the trails after I got involved, I learned much the community loves this metropolitan wilderness area and how small the staff is that is committed to the natural and historical preservation of this most visited (more than 1.5 million visitors in 2010) National Civil War Battlefield. In the last 10 years we have done more than 90% of all the maintenance and construction on the 20+ miles of trails in the park. Since 2009, we have grown and implemented a trail ambassador program that provides expanded visitor support in a wide variety of ways including safety, Historical interpretation, Visitor guidance and staff support for the Visitor Center.
The all volunteer Kennesaw Mountain Trail Club donated more than 16,000 Hours to the park in Fiscal 2012. The club has no paid staff, offices, and only limited administrative expenses. More than 90% of all grants and donations goes directly to supporting the park, and Community outreach to bring more people from many backgrounds and ethnicity to the park to experience the outdoors, and learn about the history that has taken place on these 3,000 acres.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
March 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Kennesaw Mountain National Battlefield is the most visited Civil War battle field in the entire park system due to its closeness to the Atlanta meto area and the huge number of colleges and university's in the area. With the National Park Service reducing the number of park service personnel over the years, the Kennesaw Mountain Trail Club has been a huge reason that the trails in the park are as well maintained as they are. Volunteering for them is a great way to see a days effort result in a visible return in better trails, for a short amount of time invested.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers