Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 25, 2014

more

February 25, 2014

Kate's Club is One-of-a-Kind!

Both my parents died when I was 14. There was nothing like Kate's club back then. Kate's club empowers kids who have experienced the death of a parent or sibling. It helps these children understand their grief in an environment with others going through the
exact same thing they have gone through. I've been with Kate's club over almost 5 years now and to see the development of the kids as they've grown in the program is simply amazing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow larger and national

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 21, 2014

more

February 21, 2014

I have been volunteering with Kate's Club for almost a year now and am so happy I decided to make this organization a part of my life. Not only does Kate's Club provide a safe place to come together for children and teens who are overcoming the death of a parent or sibling, but it allows these kids to express themselves during their grief journey and connect with others that are going through the same thing. I have seen kids, who have never opened up before, grow to want to talk about their experiences as other kids share. It's truly an organic experience that only an organization like Kate's Club could facilitate.

Lane and Debra, directors at Kate's Club, run quite the operation! I can always count on them to offer advanced training for buddies who want to learn more about grief and how to work with children through the many stages of grief. Let me tell you, these advanced trainings are super helpful as I, myself, have not experienced such a close loss in my life. They also play very hands on roles during clubhouse days and outings. The success of the organization would not be where it is today without these two women!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Secure more funding so they could relocate to an even larger clubhouse with more outdoor space!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 19, 2014

more

February 19, 2014

I first heard of Kate's Club through the Junior League of Atlanta. I wanted to choose a placement that would be both fun/engaging with children but also would give back in a unique and significant manner. It has been an utter delight to work at Kate's Club over the last two years and I recommend it to people constantly. While the program itself serves a cause that you almost never hear of and the kids are just amazing, one of the best aspects is how great the staff is at creating a positive, engaging and exciting volunteer program. I've never worked with a team that is so organized, on-point and helpful. There is literally not a bad word I can say about this organization, the people who run it and the children it serves. Definitely one of Atlanta's best!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None - it's a spectacular program!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 15, 2011

more

June 15, 2011

As a volunteer for over four years now, I've had the opportunity to work first hand with these children. I've seen them grow together with others in their grief journey through experiences at the clubhouse, within the community and in a school setting. I am humbled by their ability to express emotion and share memories with children and adults who very quickly are no longer strangers but others sharing the life path carved out by loss.
The thing that sets Kate's Club apart, in my opinion, is the balance they have found between fun, community, family, and healing. Children don't come in only to find a circle of people sitting together talking about grief, but instead find a wide variety of therapeutic approaches to healing. At times this may look like an art project expressing emotion, a song to conjure up a memory, or a tree climbing adventure to build courage. Quit often though, it looks as simple as a group of children gathering together over a pizza box getting to know each other, knowing already there is one thing they have in common.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

As an elementary public school teacher, I have seen children who attend Kate's Club regularly or who have attended Kate's Club Outreach School Services make positive changes academically and socially within the school setting. Personally I have also learned about the grief process and found solace in the company of these children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes! Just continue to expand within the community and outside of the walls of the clubhouse!

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers