Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

I came upon Karma Cat & Zen Dog quite by accident. I was shopping for cat and kitten food in a local pet store. It was one of the stores adoption weekend events. Cages were set up in isles around the store with cats for adoption. I stopped to look at the cats one of the rescues had set up. The rescue's representative asked if I was interested in seeing any of the cats and "no" immediately came out of my mouth. I explained I was buying cat and kitten food because in the last few months I had taken in two kittens that were born to feral cats I feed. It was suggested I get my feral females fixed. Of course, I didn't have a clue how I would do this or the funds either. The rescue rep turned out to be the executive director, Christie. She handed me her business card and offered help. She helped my neighbor and myself raise the necessary funds and we were able to TNR ten cats including my two kittens moms. I love cats and became a volunteer. I cannot express the joy and satisfaction I get volunteering for this awesome organization. The care and love our rescues receive is second to none. Being part of Karma Cat as given me the privledge of participating in TNR and spreading the word of its importance. I am honored and proud to be part of this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 24, 2014

more

February 24, 2014

I found Karma Cat + Zen Dog Rescue Society on VolunteerMatch.com. I wanted to be involved with animals but I was concerned about seeing the dark and sad side of rescuing animals so I volunteered to be a fundraising coordinator. I met the Executive Director and I knew that I had found the perfect organization!!

Christie runs her organization with passion, compassion and integrity. The animals always come first. All the volunteers are the nicest people that I have ever met and they all LOVE to take care of the kitties and they all love her and want to be a part of this amazing group of people. We represent our kitties in the best, most positive way and stay away from the horrific pictures and stories that tend to turn people away.

It's been a year and I can't imagine my life without Karma Cat. I have made wonderful friends, learned SO much about rescue, fundraising and how to take care of my own kitties. I can't say enough good things about this organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 24, 2012

more

October 24, 2012

I got involved with Karma Cat Zen Dog when I adopted my cat, Lucy. I saw how much these cats were cared for and loved, as well as the good it does for the community. That is how and why I became a volunteer. During the time I have volunteered with Karma Cat Zen Dog, hundreds of cats have been carefully placed into good and loving homes. Including Lucy! They definitely deserve 5 stars!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 23, 2012

more

October 23, 2012

I have had cats my whole life and my closest friends and I have dealt with many adoption groups. Gilda and christie are by far the best! They truly care about the cats and it shoes! I have recently adopted 2 babies from karma cat and they have the best personalities! The care and human contact they recieve promotes wonderful lifetime pets! I love karma cat!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

I discovered Karma Cat by coincidence. My 16-year-old cat had recently died, and I wasn't sure if I wanted to adopt a new kitten so soon after losing him. I met with Christie and told her my story, and we agreed that a "special" cat (or two) would be best for me, under the circumstances. Christie showed me every cat that they had and gave me the low-down on all of them. She didn't try to hide it if a cat had a few "issues"--she made it very clear that what she and the volunteers at Karma Cat wanted most of all was to find a forever home for each and every cat, if they could, and that the only way to do this was to be up-front and honest about each cat's quirks and personalities. I adopted two of their "shy" cats, and I was impressed by how much advice and support Christie was willing to offer in order to help all of us make the transition. Christie announced my kitties' adoption on Facebook and on Karma Cat's blog, and I was overwhelmed at the outpouring of kindness and happiness that came my way from so many of the volunteers. I had been grief-stricken at losing my cat (no, I'm not exaggerating), and Karma Cat helped me to feel good about moving forward and giving two new (wonderful) kitties a home.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 21, 2012

more

October 21, 2012

We wanted to add to our family by adopting a cat. We found our new best friend in Jethro, Karma Cat help us with shot and neutering as well as finding a wonderful new friend. Then two months later we added a second kitty since we were so happy with our first one, when Dylan joined we followed their expert advise and now our kitties are best friends. I would recommend Karma Cat for anyone looking to add a new best friend to their family while having the support of great volunteers at Karma Cat!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 16, 2012

more

October 16, 2012

Two years ago, when looking for a cause/organization to volunteer my time with, I found KarmaCat+ZenDog. Fond of animals, I decided to apply for the volunteer position and the rest is history. But, it's a unique history. From day one, I was thoroughly impressed with the selfless dedication that the founders of the organization had. I had low expectations initially, as I figured this to be another rescue organization that just caged and fed animals and nothing more. But the moment I met the first volunteer and the director, etc., I realized this was a labor of love for them. Everyone is truly concerned about the animals and they turn away anyone who isn't. It's an impressively run organization and their number of placements for the animals is a testament to that. Truly a group of dedicated individuals who's hearts are all in the right place and have nothing but the wellness of the animals in mind.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The two years I've been volunteering with them I've seen how enthusiastic everyone is and how seriously they take even the slightest of issues with every single animal.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to expand if possible and help even more animals!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Did your volunteer experience have an effect on you? (teaching you a new skill, or introducing new friends, etc.)

I've learned more about the intricacies of feline health and general physical issues. I've also made fabulous new friends!

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

It has made me feel proud to be spending my time on a worthwhile cause.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

clean and care for the cats in one of our adoption centers Volunteer