Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12.2345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
February 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The 'former board member and president' must have access to data the public doesn't have, or otherwise cannot perform basic math functions. According to data published on the Kansas Humane Society webpage, the actual number of 'animals' that the Kansas Humane Society took in, was (and this requires extrapolating dome data from the graph the Kansas Humane Society provides), the Murfin Animal Care Campus (The Kansas Humane Society plus the Wichita Animal Shelter comprise the Murfin Animal Care Campus), the 'campus' took in approximately 22,00 animals in 2011. But the Wichita Animal Shelter (statical data provided on the City of Wichita Animal Care data website) took in 10,245 of the total, leaving, if my calculator works correctly, 11,755 animals to be attributed to the Kansas Humane Society. Now in my grade school, I was taught that 17,000 (claimed by the 'former board member and president') is actually 5245 animals FEWER than this writer claims. Perhaps the public is unaware of different figures, but as the Kansas Humane Society claims to follow the ASILOMAR accords, the protocols of the accords are very straightforward, and simple, as to how the intake numbers are ascertained. These figures I presented had to be extrapolated from data published by the Kansas Humane Society since the Society seems to refuse data pertinent to the Society itself. Instead, it seems to bury their data in the generalized Murfin Animal Care Campus statistics (supported by the Wichita Animal Shelter 'hard' data) using innuendo to suggest greater success than the Society in reality, enjoys. Every fact mentioned here is verifiable online and in person.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

November 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

As a past board member and president of the board, I have been able to see the Kansas Humane Society from the inside out. I've spoken with many people who were satisfied and many who were dissatisfied with the Humane Society and have found many, many more who liked the organization. The goal of the Humane Society is to find homes for all adoptable animals which is not as easy as some may think when they have 17,000 animals coming through the doors on a yearly basis. Working with animals in this forum is extremely difficult. But the Humane Society does their level best to make the lives of the animals in their shelter as comfortable as possible while showing as much compassion as possible. It's a great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 14, 2012

I wish that The Kansas Humane Society would be open with the public and give actual numbers of how many animals are brought in to their shelter, and the actual disposition of those animals. They talk about percentages of live release rates, but don't give any actual numbers. Just recently Jennifer Cambellr stated, October 2012, to the newsmedia that they took care of over 17,000 animals last year. Yet when you look at the total numbers taken in by both KHS and the Wichtia Animal Shelter it shows a much lesser number. They did cut the number of cat cages in half last year and routinely have empty dog runs when dogs are being euthanized at the neighboring facitly.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A little

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 26, 2012

more

Review from CharityNavigator
1 previous review
April 13, 2012

Actually, I am a former volunteer and was in fact dismissed from this organization because I was not in 'philosophical agreement' with the administration. And no, I wasn't. I do not condone subterfu... more

August 26, 2012

Financial data for 2011 from the Kansas Humane Society is STILL not available in late August 2012. I would advise that no one make any contributions to this organization until this information is publicly available. I believe that every charitable organization is responsible to the public which both donates to them and essentially subsidizes their programs. This long delay in making any financial available leads one to question the integrity, and indeed financial viability, of any organization. A charitable 'humane' shelter is essential to a community the size of Wichita. The question is, 'are we getting good management of donated funds and publicly subsidized facilities, or does the public need to re-evaluate the current organization...and find an equation that works for the unwanted and unloved animals in this community'?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

My everyday life and companionship with my dogs.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Require an administrative and financial audit to understand, and make public, an unbiased, truth-based evaluation of the organization's strengths, weaknesses, and importance to the community. That is essentially the responsibility of its Board if Directors. But I personally believe that this organization, and it's Board, are not only not interested, but fearful of releasing any kind of financial or evaluative information to the public.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

General knowledge. Almost every community, of any size, has a charity-based animal shelter.

April 13, 2012

Actually, I am a former volunteer and was in fact dismissed from this organization because I was not in 'philosophical agreement' with the administration. And no, I wasn't. I do not condone subterfuge. It is my opinion, that the UN-AUDITED financial report (see Charity Navigator) makes a false statement when identifying this agencies assets (listed at approximately $10 million), because in fact the Kansas Humane Society does NOT OWN its shelter (which this agency paid to be constructed at a cost in excess of $10 million) but is instead a lessee of the building which is owned by the City of Wichita. It is my opinion that this is misrepresentation of agency assets made to deceive the public and donors as to the 'success' of this agency, which in turn generates confidence...and more donations. I would volunteer for this agency again, in a heartbeat if there were what I consider (my opinion) qualified, competent, and ethical administration and board.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

No

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

help save lives by providing care and compassion in a variety of areas throughout KHS including walking dogs, cuddling cats, helping in our veterinary clinic, or working with potential adopters to find their perfect pet. Volunteer