Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.888895
Previous | Next
Write A Review
June 18, 2014

more

June 18, 2014

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the Kane Schools Foundation for all of their dedication to the students and teachers of Kane County School District. We are very blessed to have such a wonderful organization that is focused on improving student performance and supporting professionals in education.

Recently, I received a grant to implement literature, technology and manipulatives into the math curriculum of my classroom. I will be able to purchase 10 Chrome books, an IPad mini, math manipulatives, and several children's math books. Students will be given an opportunity to create math projects to show understanding of each math standard. This will be a fun, exciting, hands-on way of learning and teaching.

Thank you again,
Audrey Tullis
Kanab Elementary School

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 14, 2014

more

March 14, 2014

The Reading Foundations has helped me so much in my teaching career. I cannot thank them enough for all the books , computer programs , computers and ipads they have so generously given to the schools.
The Mo Willems books are some of the best loved books we use in first grade. Two years ago I
had a student with special needs and it was so hard to find books that he loved. Then the Foundation brought the Mo Willems books into my room and WOW! This child started to read, he would not put down the books. In fact, I had to keep checking his backpack before he went home, because he would try to sneak them into his pack and take them home.
I have found that if you can have a child learn to love reading in first grade, then they will become life-long learners and readers.
Without this wonderful Reading Foundation I would not have been able to instill in this special needs child the love of reading.
So Thank you again for all the good work you do for our schools. Sometimes we do not appreciate all that we have been given.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I think the people working in this organization are doing a excellent job and they keep us up to date on all the activities going on.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 16, 2013

more

May 16, 2013

I appreciate the Kane Schools Foundation for the great assistance they provide to improving the experience students have in the classroom. I had noticed that when I introduced samples and specimens to my class that many students were unable to see the specimen because it was small. When these specimens were passed around the class they were often damaged. I wanted to purchase a camera that would allow me to magnify and display specimens through our projector and that would also mount to a microscope. Our budget did not allow for the purchase of such an expensive piece of equipment. Through a grant proposal the Kane Schools Foundation recognized the potential benefit that this piece of equipment would provide to our science classes and provided the funds to purchase the camera. My thanks to the foundation for their willingness to provide opportunities to expand the reach of our learning.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 15, 2013

more

May 15, 2013

Thank you Kane Schools Foundation For Students.

Third grade is a transition year in reading. Students go from learning to read to reading to learn new things. They go from reading small picture books to reading books with chapters. It is a challenge for students to make that jump. If
they can develop a love of reading and find the book that connects with them, they can become life long readers. That is the goal of the reading program at Valley Elementary third grade.

We are having wonderful success with our reading program. We have an extensive third grade library that has book of all levels. It is very important to match a student with books that are in the correct reading level range AND are interesting to them. The books must not be too easy because then they will not grow. They also cannot be too difficult because then the student will be frustrated. Because all students differ in their interests, it is vital to have a wide range of topics and reading levels. We have such a library here in our classroom thanks, in part to the Kane School Foundation for Students. They have donated books to use in our classroom.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 3, 2013

more

April 3, 2013

Student Name: Sixth Grade Students Teacher Name: Carol Lee Jacobs
(Average class size—55-75) Robin Coleman

Area of Success: Reading April 1, 2013

We would like the Kane Schools Foundation to know how much we appreciate their support and
donations to our school, which has helped improve student achievement. Over the past four years we have seen an increase in the sixth grade students’ DIBELS scores. In earlier years, we have had at least eight to ten students score in the strategic or intensive range in DIBELS testing. Now we are seeing fewer students scoring in those ranges and more students meeting the benchmark for that testing period. This year (2013) we only have one student scoring in the intensive and two students scoring in the strategic ranges. Hooray! This accomplishment was not achieved by just the sixth grade teachers, but by all of our teachers here at Kanab Elementary School.
The Kane Schools Foundation has provided a way for us to acquire materials and resources that have helped improve reading throughout all grades in our school. The foundation has been especially devoted to increasing student literacy and concentrating on providing materials which are readily available to all teachers. Through monies provided by the foundation we have been able to build our school libraries; which includes: guided reading library, six-traits library, take-home library, and classroom libraries. In addition, this organization awarded our elementary a grant to purchase an i-pad for each teacher to complete DIBELS testing. We have found that electronic testing has the following benefits: less student stress, accuracy, saves time, no bulky materials, and instant results. Testing with the i-pad has been a huge success.
So, thank you again Kane Schools Foundation for your tireless efforts and support in our ultimate goal to increase our students’ self-esteem and success. You are the best!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 26, 2012

more

November 26, 2012

I have been a teacher at Kanab Elementary for many years and have been impressed with the amount of time, work, and dedication that this foundation and its members give our district. I also appreciate the support they give our schools through grants, supplies, and scholarships. Kane Schools Foundation is an excellent non-profit organization that deserves the greatest respect! Thanks for all you do!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012

more

July 16, 2012

Kane Schools Foundation is a great organization that is focused on improving the abilities of students to learn and enhance their knowledge. As a 2nd grade teacher I am always looking for ways to enhance my curriculum. This year they have giving me a $5000 grant to purchase books. These books will help me to implement the new Common Core Curriculum in my classroom and provide a greater opportunity for my students to enhance their knowledge and improve their reading abilities. This a great foundation and it is fully committed to student success.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 20, 2012

more

June 20, 2012

The Kane Schools Foundation for Students has done wonderful things in our district. I'm a music teacher. My orchestra has been happy to perform for some of their fundraisers, and this year was the recipient of a $5000 Classroom Support Grant. The grant will purchase banjos, mandolins, fiddles, ukuleles and a bass to help guitar and orchestra students experience several important musical styles from around the world while gaining valuable "second language" skills. Thank you for the support!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012

more

January 31, 2012

Kane Schools Foundation for Students has provided library books for Big Water School, a rural school in a small community. We are 20 miles from the nearest public library so the school's library is precious. The organization also supports teacher training and on-line writing programs. We appreciate their tireless energy and dedication to improving our schools.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers