Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 18, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing organization. I have been working with them for an entire year. Their passion and energy for their mission is unmatched. Every month they tirelessly match 3 or 4 service personnel suffering from PTSD with a specially trained dog - often rescued from a shelter. With a lot of hard work, a lot of love, and a good sense of humor the healing takes hold. The soldiers train on-site for 3 weeks and are well taken care of by "Mom" Shari, her staff , family, and her incredible volunteers. Graduates are constantly reporting back how much their lives are changed.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 24, 2012

I owe K9s For Warriors a huge debt, if it was not for them I would not be here today. Since having Slider my service dog my family and my quality of life has been life-changing. These folks care f... more

September 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

If it was not for this organization I would have been six feet under. K9s For Warriors had a huge impact on my family and my life. They not only gave me the tools to survive, but the drive to live. I cannot thank them enough for their hard work and huge impact they have on all Veterans they serve.

Charlie & Slider

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would give them the funding they need if I had the funds.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 24, 2012

I owe K9s For Warriors a huge debt, if it was not for them I would not be here today. Since having Slider my service dog my family and my quality of life has been life-changing. These folks care for the Veterans and follow up with them after. It is like having a second family. I now get out and do things with my family, instead of sitting in a room by my self playing solitarie with a deck of 51, locking my family, friend and the world out. Thank you so much K9s.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Shari Duval, founder and President has made this program into a family for Veterans who live with PTSD and TBI. The program has a 3 primary pillars of support; (1) New life is given to shelter dogs, 95% of the service dogs trained are rescued from shelters, giving a second chance at life for the dog and his/her warrior. (2) Service Dogs, each veteran is given a fully trained service dog at no cost as well as a 3 week stay in a home, all meals provided, again at no cost. (3) K9s Apprentice Trainer Program, graduates can learn to be trainers and come back and work at K9s for Warriors, this portion of the program has given purpose back to my life since after my medical retirement I not only lost a job as a Marine, but my identity. Cooper is my 2yr old yellow lab. We have been through so much together and he has stood by my side without fail. Before Coop I hid in my workshop or sat on my couch watching Netflix too afraid to go outside because of my PTSD. Coop and I have been a team for a year now and so far we hiked 900 miles of the Appalachian Trail, traveled to and from Florida twice, been on TV, and are now planning a through hike for other graduates of the program to help reintegrate them as well. Without Shari (Mom as she is referred toby her Warriors) and K9s for Warriors I would not be here today, they have given me my pride, peace, and confidence back and most of all they saved my life and I am forever in their debt. Thank you K9s. Thanks Mom!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Grow this program so that each veteran who chooses to have a service dog will never have to wait.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

This is organization is like no other. It brings 2 resources (combat warriors and rescue dogs) and blends them to one with very little administrative costs.

Broken warriors arrive to the organization with a small flame to survive, they want better and when they leave their flame is a
bon-fire full of life, determination and lots of smiles ready to face the day to day. The transition is amazing and we thank you K9s for Warriors for helping our heroes become a survivor.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son-in-law and his family have been blessed with receiving a dog named Axel from K9 for Warriors. He served 3 deployments 2 in Iraq , 1 in Afghanistan. He returned a very empty young man and wanted nothing to do with life. He wanted to just remain isolated from his wife and 3 beautiful kids. He was diagnosed with acute PTSD/TBI and has been medically discharged. He was able to cope with his disability, retirement from the Marines and becoming Dad and Husband again all with the help of Axel. The isolation ended when he returned home to Virginia with his remarkable new friend and guardian Axel.

The light returned to his eyes and he smiled more and was calmer. This organization saved his life....he will never be the man he was which is tragic. PTSD /TBI have robbed him of that. The addition of Axel has kept him going and has given him some of his life back.

Our vets deserve this kind of help. Please support K9 for Warriors and the miraculous work that they do. Miracles do happen if you believe they will....I believe that Axel was my family's miracle.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this organization. I'm an Iraq war vet with severe combat ptsd and through this amazing organization I got my life back AND no longer have to take all the medications I used to that just made me feel like a zombie all day. K9s for Warriors changed my life and I'm forever grateful!!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 19, 2013

more

September 19, 2013

I have been volunteering by raising awareness/donations for K9s For Warriors for over 2 years & will continue to do so with great pleasure. I so believe in what they do that I bring up the subject whenever I get the opportunity to tell their story.....no matter where I am. The Duval family, extended & original, is giving all they have to help returning veterans get their lives back. Each veteran has family, friends, comrades, etc. who also benefit by having their loved one back in their daily lives. This is a "love" driven program and I "love" the fact that people across the country will support this sincerely dedicated K9s For Warriors family. They spend their money wisely, and get thru their days with the help of over 200 unique volunteers. Kasseroles for K9s brings home cooked meals to visiting/in training warriors. Kans4K9s collects thousands of aluminum cans each month, recycles them for cash and donates that money back to the program. Companies like The Kong Company see the value in this program and I hope you will too. Sandi, Todd, Brett, Sheri & numerous other insiders are dedicating themselves to the success of K9s For Warriors..........won't you join them? Do what you can when you can.......you can make a difference.....and it's not always money.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Let them grow and offer their services to more worthy veterans!!! They are ready, willing and able, but need the help of monetary donations from corporations, churches, civic groups, youth groups, foundations & individuals. Service dogs "change lives".....................just ask someone who has one.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013

more

September 18, 2013

I have been following this organization for quite a few months. The work they do with these wonderful dogs to get them prepared for helping our veterans is inspiring. I volunteer at a nearby shelter and find the work very rewarding and hopefully in the near future I will become involved with K9s For Warriors. Any support that you can give them would be appreciated.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013

more

September 17, 2013

I heard about K9’s For Warriors via a friend. I have met a couple of their graduates and spoken with a few others. The impact this organization has had on their lives is amazing! They are able to get back to living again. This group saves both the Warriors and the dogs, what more could you ask for? They go so far above and beyond and truly have a passion for what they do. They don’t just give them a dog and send them on their way, they house them, feed them, counsel them, train the teams and I truly believe they love each and every Warrior they serve. Top notch all the way!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have visited the facility , met the graduating warriors and their wonderful service dogs. I have heard the success stories of these warriors returning to life, work, and family . I have seen the tears of happiness from the wives of the warriors. I support this wonderful, worthwhile charity with all my heart and will continue to do so. This group saves the lives of the warriors and rescues the dogs from shelters as well. What a combination,

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help exercise & socialize our canines in training, help with events & fundraising. Volunteer