Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
77 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review
July 7, 2014

more

July 7, 2014

I as a recipient of a wonderful K9 from K9s for Warriors. Having the training onsight at their facility was a major plus. It allowed me time to bond with my dog. They are very helpful and a great Org. Having Maverick has helped me not to think of war. I can channel; my thoughts on him. His needs and he keeps me occupied. With out K9s for Warriors. I wouldnt have this new lease on life. Thank you K9s and Mom. Matt, Brett, Danique, Ross, thank you all

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes needed its an amazing place and org

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

August 7, 2014

My daughter was looking for community service for high school and I ran into this organization on my quest to find something she would not only get service hours for, but would also enjoy doing. Since she's not yet 18 years old I'm required to volunteer with her so I can see first hand what a fabulous organization K9s for Warrior is. We've been volunteering since February 2014. We were just there today working a 2 hour shift playing with the dogs. My daughter also signed up to provide today's meal for the warriors so we brought that along with us.

The organization provides a wonderful service for our brave military men and women and also for the dogs they rescue. It's exceptionally well run and I'm looking forward to their expansion into a new facility in the next 6 months. This is an organization that's doing great work and need all the support they can get from their community and beyond.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I read about this organization in the newspaper. I had been looking to volunteer somewhere and since I am a vet and a dog owner for many years, it seemed like a good fit. And it has definitely been that! I am a relatively new volunteer as a Kennel Assistant with 8 volunteer assignments completed to date. All of the staff and volunteers I have met are friendly ,dedicated and competent; it is a joy to work with and for them. And, of course the dogs are a blast to attend especially knowing they are being trained to help a warrior in need. My feelings were best crystallized last week when I attended the graduation of the most recent class of warriors with their new service dogs. I recognized and knew the names of all the service dogs because they were among the ones I had attended! What a flood of emotions I experienced to remember my contact with them during their training to qualify to be matched as a service dog with a warrior. And now, here they were proudly alongside their warrior. I was elated, joyful, and felt a sense of pride that in a small way I helped in that process. It just doesn't get any better than that as a volunteer.

I have an additional comment about the organization and staff. In my experience in the military and civilian workforce I have seldom witnessed a more professional, dedicated well organized operation.
I wish them continued success in their expansion plans and hope to remain part of it

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

NA

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 1, 2014

more

July 1, 2014

I first heard of K9 for Warriors when they visited my place of work over a year ago. Since that time, my company has added K9 for Warriors as a place that employees may donate their volunteer time to. So I did and what an awesome experience. I can't say enough good things about the people that spend countless hours making this a suceess. I enjoyed meeting everyone and most of all playing with the dogs. Many of these are rescued from various organizations and will go on to make such a difference in a warriors life. It's like saving two lives at one time. I have only good things to say about this place and have told many people about my experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2014

more

June 30, 2014

I began volunteering with K9s for Warriors in May 2013. I was immediately taken back by the respect and consideration that everyone involved with organization has for each other. There is a great feeling of being part of team and as a team having a common goal and that goal is helping our warriors. K9s uses 95 percent rescue dogs and I fully believe that some of these rescue dogs know that they have been given a second chance. Some of the dogs have been physically abused, but when they come to K9s, they seem to know that they are in a good place, and everybody there is going to take good care of them, and eventually they are going to have a job. A very important job, and they are eager to be the best they can be for their warrior. It is just a win win for everybody.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I retired from the Air Force after 30 years. I deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan 7 times. After retirement, my memories of war caused me severe depression, aggregation, and extreme difficulty adjusting to the civilian war, including getting along with my family. After a PTSD and TBI diagnosis, multiple visits to personal and family counseling, my wife turned to a PTSD service dog. K9's For Warriors was not only a life saver, but a family saver. I met Justice (my PTSD service dog) shortly after arriving at K9's For Warriors. We have been together ever since. The training Justice and I experienced together was second to none. The accommodations provided to us were well beyond my expectations, the hundreds of volunteers are priceless, the staff showed professionalism, empathy, and really made me feel welcome. I know my everyday struggles without my service dog were intense and debilitating. I wasn't really sure I would ever be able to live another way until K9's For Warriors embraced me and blessed me with my service dog, Justice! THANK YOU K9'S FOR WARRIORS!! Not only from the bottom of my heart, but from my wife, children, and whole family!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

The staff and volunteers at K9's For Warriors is exceptional!!! The warmth and understanding of the hidden wounds we are coming back with is life saving! It truly is. There is nothing I would change about the operations. While I realize there is always room for improvement, my only wish is that more service members could benefit from a service dog like Justice. A west coast operation would be awesome!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 29, 2014

more

June 29, 2014

I have been a volunteer with the K9 for Warriors program for over a year. What a positive difference these wonderful dogs make in a warriors life. I love spending time with the dogs and getting to know each and everyone of their individual personalities. We were fortunate enough to be able to adopt Honor, a former K9 for Warrior dog, and he has brought so much love and joy into our lives.
It is a fantastic program that is a win-win for everyone involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

K-9 for Warriors is run by an amazing group of people who are making a difference for so many.
As a volunteer I am in see each time I arrive at the location to care for the dogs.
The program is so well run, with focus and detail on the a Warriors they will help as
Well as the dogs in
the program. I am honored to be part of such am amazing
Organization that is so focused on helping the amazing service men and women who have
Given so much for our country.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

These people literally do nothing but care. They are far more than a service dog program. It was almost like three weeks of therapy for me. I am a combat veteran with two deployments to Afghanistan. For the past few years I was on a road to self destruction. I found out about K9's on the internet and filled out an application immediately. I did not wait long at all, because there was a drop out and I was scheduled for a class before I even knew it. The staff is amazing. I loved every second I was there and did not want to leave. All of the instructors are extremely proficient and patient. 5 stars is not nearly enough of a rating for this organization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 27, 2014

more

June 27, 2014

K9's for Warriors literally changes lives, and not just for our wonderful Warriors or our precious K9's. I began volunteering as a kennel assistant after reading an article in the JAX local newspaper. I thought it sounded like a great 'marriage' of two groups that I care about tremendously and who, so many times, do not get the care and help that they so richly deserve. Therefore, I expected to become a part of something worthwhile and to enjoy being a part of it.

What I did not expect was to be so profoundly touched to my very core by the storied of our dogs and our Warriors. Hearing the stories of our Warriors and their families and all they've been through on behalf of our country is extremely humbling. Reading the background cards on our rescue dogs and trying to rationalize that this amazing dog that I'm helping to care for was rescued, shivering and afraid, on the side of I95 or starving and tied on a three foot rope and unable to reach her new litter of puppies is absolutely heartbreaking. I shake my head and it hurts my heart to see how they have all been (sometimes literally) forgotten or thrown away.

But then they get to our facility and the magic begins. We see both the dogs and the Warriors slowly begin to heal, gain confidence and slowly move toward a future of love, hope and freedom. Sometimes it's a slow process, sometimes it happens quickly. But it DOES happen and we who volunteer are so blessed to be a part of this miracle. While we all have our problems and challenges in life, it's impossible not to step back and put them in perspective in light of the heroic struggles that we see being overcome right in front of us. And everyone I come in contact with at K9's, from volunteers to staff to the trainers feels exactly the same way. This organization is so much more than just a volunteer opportunity or, for some, a job. It's a calling and a blessing and I thank God every day for our Warriors, our dogs and for the opportunity to be a part of it all.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Put a K9's for Warriors in every state so that our Warriors would have more and easier access to this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...7 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help exercise & socialize our canines in training, help with events & fundraising. Volunteer