Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
4 Reviews
1234.755
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 14, 2012

more

December 14, 2012

I'm from India and I follow the work of JBRF. Being so far away it would seem improbable that their work would touch lives here. But it does. My brother was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder 8 years ago. He has been through 5 hospitalizations, more than a dozen drugs and ECT (Electro Convulsive Therapy). Yet, in all of those 8 years he has not remained symptom free for more than 3 months; that's all the "normal" days put together. The research done by Dr Papolos at JBRF has defined a set of characteristics (symptoms) of the disorder that are normally not associated with the disease (as per the DSM criteria). This approach opens up new ways to treat, control and maybe one day cure the disorder. The first step in this direction is the Ketamine study at JBRF. Coming back to my brother, he has more than 75% of the symptoms defined by Dr. Papolos. Once JBRF publishes the results of the Ketamine study, I hope his doctors would be able to prescribe Ketamine. And, after a decade of torment, may he find peace.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Our 13 year old son was diagnosed with bipolar disorder at age five. He has struggled through two hospitalizations, 5 schools in 8 years and daily suffering that is indescribable. We tried all conventional medications. In July 2011, we put him under the care of Dr. Papolos who diagnosed him with the fear of harm phenotype, and he entered into the pilot Ketamine research study through JBRF. Not only is he now successfully attending school, but he can accept limits and navigate the ups and downs of daily life. For the first time we feel like he has a future. We are forever grateful for the important and necessary work of the JBRF. The lives of children like ours and their families and communities depend on it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

May 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Juvenile Bipolar Research Foundation is dedicated to increasing the quality of life for children and families struggling with bipolar disorder. My husband and I are very thankful for the research that the JBRF is doing and the education this organization provides. Our son has participated in some of the studies over the years. It has been empowering to work toward solutions when faced with the trials and tribulations associated with this illness. JBRF is providing parents, educators, medical professionals and, even the children themselves, with a road map toward successful treatment. This is not and easy task. It requires hard work and financial support. It is heartbreaking to think of how much our children suffer with anxiety, low moods, high moods, anger, night terrors, medication side effects, etc, the list goes on. And yet we hope and pray daily that solutions will come, that our children and grandchildren may know peace and joy. These solutions can only come through continued research. Hopefully, one day, in the not too distant future, better options will be available and remission will be a reality for many.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
May 10, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have been a consistent donor to the Juvenile Bipolar Research Foundation since its inception. It is the only organization that it totally focused on research - not intervention/politics/policy-making/advocacy/counseling. I have a son who has severe bipolar disorder and, while he will never be capable of attending college and creating a prosperous and independent life, I have great hope that his children (my grandchildren) will have good lives with good experiences and fulfillment. The gene may travel from generation to generation and create havoc throughout the years - but I have confidence that this little organization will save the lives of my grandchildren. JBRF is the only foundation pursuing independent "outside of the box" research - completely ignoring the politics of academia and government - and digging into pure science and biology and genetics. I am not a huge donor, but I am a donor with an enormous amount of belief. This is the little engine that could.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

I have a child who has struggled with bipolar disorder his entire life. I now have 2 grandchildren who quite likely have the gene. I want to invest in the future of my grandchildren (and their children).

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I made a donation to the Genetic study because it is consistently underfunded - yet it probably holds the answer to it all.

What would you tell others about this organization?

This is the "little engine that could". It is always the out layer that makes a true difference.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers