Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
52 Reviews
1234.980775
Write A Review
September 23, 2014

more

September 23, 2014

I have contributed to this organization shortly after learning about it in the late 1980s. JDI merits that sort of ongoing support - it addresses an important topic and has been a great catalyst for education and change at the local, state, and federal levels. Their vision is broad yet never loses sight of the individual.
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Prison rape is something that has deeply disturbed me for a long time, ever since I watched the films And Justice for All and Brubaker in college.  I felt sick for days afterwards. The fact that prison rape is so casually accepted worldwide, yet so devastating to its victims, ate away at my peace of mind for years. I couldn’t understand why a crime that can land you in prison stopped being a crime when carried out in prison. I wanted to do something about this terrible injustice, but didn’t know what to do. So the pain just festered inside me. Until one day, researching prison rape, to include tangentially in one of my story lines, I found Just Detention International. I had several reactions. I was amazed and awed, feeling that God had heard my prayers. I felt great relief knowing that there are others, in fact an entire organisation, who believe that prison rape should not be an internationally accepted part of prison life and are fighting to protect vulnerable prisoners. And I felt stupid for not knowing about JDI earlier.

I am so grateful that Just Detention International exists and that it is making progress in helping prisoners live behind bars with dignity and respect and without the cruel and brutal punishment of rape. I am honoured to be able to support JDI.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I donate to this group because I agonize sbout the plight of the powerless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014

more

May 18, 2014

I was introduced to JDI through the writing of Hamilton Nolan on Gawker.com, Hamilton supports prisoner rights and I was intrigued by JDI's simple request for positive and healing thoughts for their clients for a holiday card project.
Upon visiting JDI's web page and reading the incredible
relief they brought to their clients I knew that I needed to do more to help this organization.
I am a sexual abuse survivor, unlike JDI's clients I had the luxury of freedom and the comfort of my family and the resources to heal. The act of writing healing notes to the clients of JDI was incredible. It is easy to discount people in prison as some anonymous "bad guy", but what does that attitude serve?? There is no justice done when people are harmed in prison by rape and sexual assault, it harms us all as a people and a society to allow such acts to go on and to not help the victims, no matter what crime led them to be in prison.
I would encourage anyone who is cynical about what JDI's impact is to read just one or two of the client testimonials, I know that involving myself with JDI, even in a very small way was one of the most rewarding things I did all last year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They should be more widely seen. I hope they can be features on media more. Their work is important and should be known.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

I've been involved with Just Detention International for a few years now. The work they do is absolutely essential and life-saving, and something which I feel very fortunate to be involved with. The level of commitment and dedication they display to the cause of eliminating the sexual abuse of prisoners is exceptional and I have sustained my involvement with this organization due to their mission as well as the success of their program in helping and healing others. I can't say enough good things about this organization, please look into the amazing work they have done and continue to do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Just Detention International when I was researching resources for serving incarcerated survivors of sexual assault. Touched by their compassionate and empowering model, where the voices of survivors of sexual violence in the prison system are at the forefront, I became a regular donor. As a crisis service volunteer myself, I have benefited from JDI's informative webinars on relevant topics. JDI's impact and dedication are clear, and the issue they work on is so important.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Just Detention International has got to be my favorite human rights group hands down. First: I (as a donor) am made to feel that I am directly responsible for changing one or more individuals lives through even the smallest donation I may make. In JDI newsletters I read about how my contributions help real people, real JDI clients whose lives have been turned around, whose faith and esteem have been restored through sheer force of having been helped, having had someone like JDI help them pick up the pieces and move forward. That is, I'm not just reading about some law that was passed, or how JDI was involved, but I am learning about how clients benefited in very tangible ways. Second: I never feel pressured to contribute some predetermined or standard amount as with many other human rights groups, but whatever I can. And while I don't expect to be thanked each time I do make a contribution, the smallest donation I have made has always been reciprocated with fondest thanks from the program's chief director, Ms.Stannow, not someone just pushing paper at a desk. JDI cares about the people they work for because I have seen the positive change in their clients' lives. JDI, you're awesome.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

more

February 6, 2013

I think this is a worthwhile charity (5 star rating) for anyone concerned with the treatment of prisoners. No prisoner should have to deal with sexual abuse because he/she is in prison. It is our countrie's shame that we lock up more people than any other country in the world! No prisoner should not have to submit to rape as well as imprisonment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

JDI is one of the few organizations that works tirelessly to help stop the scourge of prison rape. They are a generous and compassionate group of people who know and care about the people they are working to save.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

In more than two decades of work as a human rights advocate and scholar I have never encountered an organization that can match JDI in sheer courage, intelligence, creativity, and effectiveness. Virtually the only organization confronting this country’s shameful – and preventable – epidemic of sexual violence in detention, JDI is unique in that it works to develop complex legislation and stimulate real policy change at the federal, state and local levels, while at the same time assisting and empowering individual survivors of sexual violence who have nobody else to turn to. In the face of public apathy and official intransigence, it has already brought about real change in the lives of one of this country’s most neglected communities. I have no doubt that it will continue its remarkable and critically important work until the scourge of prisoner rape is finally ended.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers