Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
44 Reviews
1234.977275
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 18, 2014

more

May 18, 2014

I was introduced to JDI through the writing of Hamilton Nolan on Gawker.com, Hamilton supports prisoner rights and I was intrigued by JDI's simple request for positive and healing thoughts for their clients for a holiday card project.
Upon visiting JDI's web page and reading the incredible
relief they brought to their clients I knew that I needed to do more to help this organization.
I am a sexual abuse survivor, unlike JDI's clients I had the luxury of freedom and the comfort of my family and the resources to heal. The act of writing healing notes to the clients of JDI was incredible. It is easy to discount people in prison as some anonymous "bad guy", but what does that attitude serve?? There is no justice done when people are harmed in prison by rape and sexual assault, it harms us all as a people and a society to allow such acts to go on and to not help the victims, no matter what crime led them to be in prison.
I would encourage anyone who is cynical about what JDI's impact is to read just one or two of the client testimonials, I know that involving myself with JDI, even in a very small way was one of the most rewarding things I did all last year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They should be more widely seen. I hope they can be features on media more. Their work is important and should be known.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

I've been involved with Just Detention International for a few years now. The work they do is absolutely essential and life-saving, and something which I feel very fortunate to be involved with. The level of commitment and dedication they display to the cause of eliminating the sexual abuse of prisoners is exceptional and I have sustained my involvement with this organization due to their mission as well as the success of their program in helping and healing others. I can't say enough good things about this organization, please look into the amazing work they have done and continue to do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Just Detention International when I was researching resources for serving incarcerated survivors of sexual assault. Touched by their compassionate and empowering model, where the voices of survivors of sexual violence in the prison system are at the forefront, I became a regular donor. As a crisis service volunteer myself, I have benefited from JDI's informative webinars on relevant topics. JDI's impact and dedication are clear, and the issue they work on is so important.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Just Detention International has got to be my favorite human rights group hands down. First: I (as a donor) am made to feel that I am directly responsible for changing one or more individuals lives through even the smallest donation I may make. In JDI newsletters I read about how my contributions help real people, real JDI clients whose lives have been turned around, whose faith and esteem have been restored through sheer force of having been helped, having had someone like JDI help them pick up the pieces and move forward. That is, I'm not just reading about some law that was passed, or how JDI was involved, but I am learning about how clients benefited in very tangible ways. Second: I never feel pressured to contribute some predetermined or standard amount as with many other human rights groups, but whatever I can. And while I don't expect to be thanked each time I do make a contribution, the smallest donation I have made has always been reciprocated with fondest thanks from the program's chief director, Ms.Stannow, not someone just pushing paper at a desk. JDI cares about the people they work for because I have seen the positive change in their clients' lives. JDI, you're awesome.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 6, 2013

more

February 6, 2013

I think this is a worthwhile charity (5 star rating) for anyone concerned with the treatment of prisoners. No prisoner should have to deal with sexual abuse because he/she is in prison. It is our countrie's shame that we lock up more people than any other country in the world! No prisoner should not have to submit to rape as well as imprisonment.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

JDI is one of the few organizations that works tirelessly to help stop the scourge of prison rape. They are a generous and compassionate group of people who know and care about the people they are working to save.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

In more than two decades of work as a human rights advocate and scholar I have never encountered an organization that can match JDI in sheer courage, intelligence, creativity, and effectiveness. Virtually the only organization confronting this country’s shameful – and preventable – epidemic of sexual violence in detention, JDI is unique in that it works to develop complex legislation and stimulate real policy change at the federal, state and local levels, while at the same time assisting and empowering individual survivors of sexual violence who have nobody else to turn to. In the face of public apathy and official intransigence, it has already brought about real change in the lives of one of this country’s most neglected communities. I have no doubt that it will continue its remarkable and critically important work until the scourge of prisoner rape is finally ended.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

I am a mental health counseling student interested in counseling inmates. I am also related to an individual who was repeatedly molested and raped in prison by a "guard." My relative has been permanently scarred by it, and, we, as her family also hurt. Not surprisingly, the offender had molested numerous others only nobody cared enough to remove this individual from the correctional system. My relative was released many years ago. Were she in prison today, I feel certain JDI would do all it could to bring the guard-offender to justice. Because it's important for me to get involved in preventing prison rape, I can't be silent, even all these years later. The opportunity to make a small gift from time to time lets me feel I'm making a difference in the lives of people who like my relative, were serving a sentence, not bargaining on being raped. In my view, I have as much a responsibility in preventing prison rape as I would have in preventing rape on "the outside." JDI's newsletters have helped me to cope with the pain I have for my relative, and for those countless others who who suffer the crippling trauma of rape because, on its own, our penal system lacks what it takes to bring prison rape to an end. JDI keeps me engaged by allowing me to take part in actions toward ending prison rape, and informs me about the lives of inmates who have been impacted by their hard work. I hope others will see the importance of JDI's role in ending prison rape, and will support their cause in justice. Prison rape need not be a fact of prison life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

I do not now recall when I became fully aware of the rampant sexual abuse and human rights violations that are occurring daily in the jails, prisons, and detention centers of the United States. Perhaps it was when I became a father and realized, to my horror, that my son or daughter could make a mistake and could become a victim of such injustice. Through the efforts of JDI, I found a collective voice that demanded an end to the mistreatment of those behind bars and offered hope to the survivors of sexual abuse. I vowed to support JDI's campaign and to speak out against offensive references to prison rape in the media and in public and private forums. And I will continue to support JDI until this shameful perversion of justice comes to an end.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

I am a forensic psychiatrist, and one area of my expert testimony in court is sexual abuse of prisoners. A big problem for those who would end sexual abuse in prison is that its occurrence, though widespread, is generally secret, unknown to the public. Sexual abuse often goes unreported because the victim fears retaliation and is overwhelmed by shame. Until recently, the perpetrator, for example prison guards who rape and sexually abuse women prisoners, did not need to fear being exposed and punished. Just Detention International has worked relentlessly to reverse that shameful reality. The nonprofit has shined a public light on the dreadful sexual abuse that occurs on a daily basis in our jails, prisons and immigration lock-ups. JDI has led the movement, that by now includes other human rights groups, to support the survivors of sexual abuse behind bars and to change correctional practices that make sexual abuse possible. JDI has encouraged survivors to tell their stories, to participate in litigation to halt prison sexual abuse, and to campaign for legislation to protect prisoners from sexual abuse. JDI led the campaign to pass federal legislation, the Prison Rape Elimination Act, and then to demand that Attorney General Holder approve the Prison Rape Elimination Commission's standards for "zero tolerance" jail and prison management. When I testify in related litigation, I see the effects of JDI's work in the way survivors of prison sexual abuse transcend the shame and courageously stand up (against the omnipresent threat of retaliation) and say it was wrong and should not be permitted to happen again to others. The social justice work of JDI makes my work as a forensic psychiatrist possible - they give survivors the courage and support to stand up and speak out. JDI has had a huge impact on the way we understand sexual abuse behind bars, the amount of attention we give the problem, and the ways we work together to end this horrible injustice.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The newfound courage in survivors of sexual abuse behind bars. With the public outcry JDI has propagated and publicized, and the great work JDI has done with individual survivors, they are no longer victims of shame, but rather they become indignant advocates for freedom from sexual victimization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a lot more resources, including grants and donations, to carry on their absolutely critical work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My personal contact with survivors of sexual abuse behind bars as I assessed their plight in preparation for courtroom testimony.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I always support JDI. They continually change their organization and their programs to fit evolving social events, and they are always at the cutting edge.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Absolutely, and I do, all the time.

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers