Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
49 Reviews
1234.979595
Previous | Next
Write A Review
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

This is one of the most impressive non-profit organizations in the U.S. I am a longtime executive director of other similar non-profits and I have long admired the brilliant way that JDI is managed as well as the passion and commitment of it's very effective staff. Even though I am often busy, their appeals have convinced me to volunteer on several occasions over the years.

Their website and social media are especially impressive. They handle a very "tabu" subject with the dignity and strong attention that it deserves. Big Kudos for all around excellence.
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Wow .. Where do I start . I have worked in this field for over 17 years . A year ago I joined JDI and I provide therapy to inmates in Miami, FL jails . I work with inmates who are victims / survivors of sexual abuse / trauma history at some point in there lives. JDI counseling program is outstanding and needed. Most of the inmates over 81% have experience severe sexual abuse / trauma which has impacted there lives in some way . There sexual abuse history probably has a lot to do with the choices and decisions that lead them to be incarcerated. . The inmates are engaged , cooperative and committed to there therapeutic process. 90% of the clients I see on a weekly basis never received any form of counseling/ therapy to address there trauma . Most people see the inmates as criminals, please don't get me wrong I am not minimizing or dismisses there crimes . After hearing there life stories years of abuse, I see them as survivors who have experienced years of abuse , trauma and neglect . The services offered by JDI gives so many women and men opportunities to address there hurt and pain. So when they are released they might have a better chance in life . They can continue there treatment and seek mental health services. I pray and hope agencies and organizations will be able to continue the services they provide that are so needed. The inmates are thankful and appreciative they have a chance to deal with past trauma. With JDI services and other non profit agencies services in our communities so many people receive help Let's continue to support and discuss the importance of non profit agencies/ organizations . I see everyday how the services offered make a difference in SO many people lives ...
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I am a Lecturer in Criminology with a particular interest in penal policy. For many years I have been concerned about the issues of rape and sexual abuse in prisons, and distressed by the lack of awareness of and interest shown by many other professionals, the media and the public.

I
became aware of the work of JDI (then known as Stop Prison Rape) through a long letter written by David Kaiser and published in the London Review of Books. The letter set out the key issues so succinctly and effectively that I used it as a teaching resource. I also made contact with the organization, and have since become a financial supporter.

In my home country, Australia, we have no equivalent organization to JDI, and as a result we have no equivalent to the Prison Rape Elimination Act, we do not have the network of support groups for prison rape survivors, we do not have reporting mechanisms to even know the rate of sexual assault in our prisons.

By personalizing and sharing the stories of real prisoners, by staying out of (unwinnable) arguments about punitive policies, and instead focusing on our social duty to ensure the basic safety and dignity of those people society incarcerates, JDI has made a positive difference in the lives of countless thousands of the most vulnerable people in the world.

There are many non-profit organizations who do great work in all sorts of fields - from community sports to supporting elite artists -- but my measure of what makes a really great non-profit is that it effectively helps people who no one else wants to know. JDI has no particular religious focus, but as a committed Christian I see its work as exemplifying Christian love in action.

I am proud to support JDI, and I regard them as a model for civic society advocacy and support on this issue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

JDI has a focus on the United States which is quite natural, as that is the nation where it began and also the US has rates of incarceration vastly greater than anywhere else in the world. However, there is an unspoken assumption in many email campaigns and the like that I am a US citizen. I understand why this happens, but a conscious effort to 'internationalise' the language and presentation of JDI materials would be welcome. The rest of the worlds needs you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I work for our state coalition of sexual and domestic violence programs and recently began working with the Department of Corrections to implement the PREA standards. JDI has been an invaluable resource for my work, providing in depth advice, support and technical assistance. They've provided a road map for our work locally and generously shared model policy and best practice. I don't know where we'd be without the help of JDI in doing this important work. They've shared so much of their own experience and hard work that and this has made our work here so much better than it would be if we were traveling without a road map. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have worked closely with JDI for the past couple of years and have found their staff to be exceptional professionals who care deeply about ending rape in confinement settings. They are passionate about their work and I have thoroughly enjoyed working with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

As a policy advocate for transgender people, I have been incredibly impressed with JDI's commitment to include LGBT people, people with intersex conditions, and other vulnerable populations in everything that they do. I have also been impressed with their fusion of deep policy expertise with supporting and lifting up the voices and stories of survivors. Their work has provided connection and support to thousands of individuals and made an enormous difference in policy efforts to prevent abuse in confinement. They make critical contributions to every coalition effort of which they are a part.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2011

more

July 27, 2011

JDI is on the national forefront in raising awareness and bringing about an end to the sexual assault of individuals who are incarcerated. Their tireless work around the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) legislation and standards, as well as their efforts in public education and awareness, are unmatched in this country. TD3 Consulting has been privileged to partner with Linda McFarlane and other JDI staff and volunteers, along with the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape (PCAR), on a variety of projects. We know that when we work with JDI - we are making a difference.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

There professionalism and dedication to the cause.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggestions.

July 22, 2011

more

July 22, 2011

Just Detention International is a group that is, quite simply, changing the world. Through policy reform, advocacy, and direct work with survivors of prisoner rape, this human rights organization has helped bring about the most significant prison reform in the United States in more than 30 years.

JDI has also begun to expand its work to parts of the world where HIV in prisons looms as a major threat to community health. This expansion will build on the group's reputation for hard-hitting advocacy and its expertise about what really works to keep people safe.

Notably, this group's impressive record of accomplishment has been undertaken with a lean budget and small but tenacious staff. I can't think of an organization more worthy of support!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

witnessing the way prisons, jails, and detentions centers are finally starting to take steps to address sexual violence behind bars.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

find them more unrestricted resources, especially to help with their international expansion.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 21, 2011

more

July 21, 2011

Through my training with JDI I have acquired skills and valuable knowledge that assists me with my work and treatment of my clients. This knowledge I can pass onto different levels within my organization: social workers, top management and general staff.

The service JDI has rendered is
particularly important in the orientation of new clients, better equipping them to protect themselves and makes their stay in the facility more bearable.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The energy and enthusiasm of the participating staff and being invited to conduct similar training sessions at other facilities prove that JDI's service is well received and a success.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I will suggest more offices in South Africa.

April 29, 2011

more

April 29, 2011

Women's Center-High Desert, Inc. has been involved with Just Detention International since 2005. We work closely together to provide confidential rape ciisis counseling to incarcerated victims of sexual assault. Our pilot site is at Californa Correctional Institution-Tehachapi. We have presented our program at the National Sexual Assault Conference in Los Angeles as well as the California Probation, Parole, and Corrections conference in San Francisco. Due to Just Detention International's continued work on the PREA standards, we were invited to attend a listenting session hosted by the Department of Justice in Washington D.C. We value our working relationship with Just Detention International and truly believe that we are helping to target a population that has been overlooked and ignored for too long.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have personally experienced positive results by working with Just Detention International. The survivors I see who can finally speak to someone in confidence about their situation are incredibly thankful. They feel that someone does care how they are being treated and will advocate for their rights. They have also said how great it is to have a support person by their side while speaking with corrections staff regarding a sexually violent incident.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers