Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
| 1 2 3 45 |
Write A Review
August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 22, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

JDI is one of the few organizations that works tirelessly to help stop the scourge of prison rape. They are a generous and compassionate group of people who know and care about the people they are working to save.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 27, 2012

more

July 27, 2012

In more than two decades of work as a human rights advocate and scholar I have never encountered an organization that can match JDI in sheer courage, intelligence, creativity, and effectiveness. Virtually the only organization confronting this country’s shameful – and preventable – epidemic of sexual violence in detention, JDI is unique in that it works to develop complex legislation and stimulate real policy change at the federal, state and local levels, while at the same time assisting and empowering individual survivors of sexual violence who have nobody else to turn to. In the face of public apathy and official intransigence, it has already brought about real change in the lives of one of this country’s most neglected communities. I have no doubt that it will continue its remarkable and critically important work until the scourge of prisoner rape is finally ended.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 26, 2012

more

July 26, 2012

I am a mental health counseling student interested in counseling inmates. I am also related to an individual who was repeatedly molested and raped in prison by a "guard." My relative has been permanently scarred by it, and, we, as her family also hurt. Not surprisingly, the offender had molested numerous others only nobody cared enough to remove this individual from the correctional system. My relative was released many years ago. Were she in prison today, I feel certain JDI would do all it could to bring the guard-offender to justice. Because it's important for me to get involved in preventing prison rape, I can't be silent, even all these years later. The opportunity to make a small gift from time to time lets me feel I'm making a difference in the lives of people who like my relative, were serving a sentence, not bargaining on being raped. In my view, I have as much a responsibility in preventing prison rape as I would have in preventing rape on "the outside." JDI's newsletters have helped me to cope with the pain I have for my relative, and for those countless others who who suffer the crippling trauma of rape because, on its own, our penal system lacks what it takes to bring prison rape to an end. JDI keeps me engaged by allowing me to take part in actions toward ending prison rape, and informs me about the lives of inmates who have been impacted by their hard work. I hope others will see the importance of JDI's role in ending prison rape, and will support their cause in justice. Prison rape need not be a fact of prison life.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

I do not now recall when I became fully aware of the rampant sexual abuse and human rights violations that are occurring daily in the jails, prisons, and detention centers of the United States. Perhaps it was when I became a father and realized, to my horror, that my son or daughter could make a mistake and could become a victim of such injustice. Through the efforts of JDI, I found a collective voice that demanded an end to the mistreatment of those behind bars and offered hope to the survivors of sexual abuse. I vowed to support JDI's campaign and to speak out against offensive references to prison rape in the media and in public and private forums. And I will continue to support JDI until this shameful perversion of justice comes to an end.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 25, 2012

more

July 25, 2012

I am a forensic psychiatrist, and one area of my expert testimony in court is sexual abuse of prisoners. A big problem for those who would end sexual abuse in prison is that its occurrence, though widespread, is generally secret, unknown to the public. Sexual abuse often goes unreported because the victim fears retaliation and is overwhelmed by shame. Until recently, the perpetrator, for example prison guards who rape and sexually abuse women prisoners, did not need to fear being exposed and punished. Just Detention International has worked relentlessly to reverse that shameful reality. The nonprofit has shined a public light on the dreadful sexual abuse that occurs on a daily basis in our jails, prisons and immigration lock-ups. JDI has led the movement, that by now includes other human rights groups, to support the survivors of sexual abuse behind bars and to change correctional practices that make sexual abuse possible. JDI has encouraged survivors to tell their stories, to participate in litigation to halt prison sexual abuse, and to campaign for legislation to protect prisoners from sexual abuse. JDI led the campaign to pass federal legislation, the Prison Rape Elimination Act, and then to demand that Attorney General Holder approve the Prison Rape Elimination Commission's standards for "zero tolerance" jail and prison management. When I testify in related litigation, I see the effects of JDI's work in the way survivors of prison sexual abuse transcend the shame and courageously stand up (against the omnipresent threat of retaliation) and say it was wrong and should not be permitted to happen again to others. The social justice work of JDI makes my work as a forensic psychiatrist possible - they give survivors the courage and support to stand up and speak out. JDI has had a huge impact on the way we understand sexual abuse behind bars, the amount of attention we give the problem, and the ways we work together to end this horrible injustice.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The newfound courage in survivors of sexual abuse behind bars. With the public outcry JDI has propagated and publicized, and the great work JDI has done with individual survivors, they are no longer victims of shame, but rather they become indignant advocates for freedom from sexual victimization.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give them a lot more resources, including grants and donations, to carry on their absolutely critical work.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

My personal contact with survivors of sexual abuse behind bars as I assessed their plight in preparation for courtroom testimony.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I always support JDI. They continually change their organization and their programs to fit evolving social events, and they are always at the cutting edge.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Absolutely, and I do, all the time.

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

I support Just Detention International because they are doing what no group I know of does: monitor conditions in prisons and advocate for prisoners. We have this awful "secret" in our country that rape and abuse is widespread in prison. JDI is helping to change that, and it is inspiring prisoners and citizens all over the world with its work. Keep trucking JDI.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

Of all the social justice nonprofits I donate to, JDI is the one I receive the greatest gratifcation for doing so. It addresses a need not all of us wish to contemplate--that rape is not part of the punishment--it is very effective in doing so, and it's uncorruptible. These good people really work hard and honestly, and are thoroughly transparent. Their Executive Director, Lovisa Stannow, must be among the most committed individuals in the entire social justice spectrum. I truly wish JDI would win the Nobel Prize. They certainly deserve it, and they deserve our donations and if possible our time.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

As a policy advocate for transgender people, I have been incredibly impressed with JDI's commitment to include LGBT people, people with intersex conditions, and other vulnerable populations in everything that they do. I have also been impressed with their fusion of deep policy expertise with supporting and lifting up the voices and stories of survivors. Their work has provided connection and support to thousands of individuals and made an enormous difference in policy efforts to prevent abuse in confinement. They make critical contributions to every coalition effort of which they are a part.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

My husband and I are proud monthly donors to Just Detention International for so many reasons. Fighting for the rights of imprisoned women and men is cruical & often misunderstood work. JDI gives these victims a voice and the power to help affect real change. I have been profoundly moved by their tireless efforts to help others understand the devastating effects of prisoner assault. They empower the victims of this type of violence not only survive but to thrive. I could not be more proud of the work that JDI does every day on behalf of victims and their families. We are honored to donate to JDI.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 23, 2012

more

July 23, 2012

This is a great organization that serves a group of people that are often ignored, marginalized, and discarded in our society. There is an apocryphal quote by Dostoyevsky that says, "The degree of civilization in a society can be judged by entering its prisons." If that is true, America is in terrible shape, but with the work of JDI, that is hopefully starting to change, bit by bit. By working to make prisons more humane, they ultimately working to make our society more humane.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers