Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.976195
Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I work for our state coalition of sexual and domestic violence programs and recently began working with the Department of Corrections to implement the PREA standards. JDI has been an invaluable resource for my work, providing in depth advice, support and technical assistance. They've provided a road map for our work locally and generously shared model policy and best practice. I don't know where we'd be without the help of JDI in doing this important work. They've shared so much of their own experience and hard work that and this has made our work here so much better than it would be if we were traveling without a road map. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

JDI is a powerful, thoughtful, and effective organization. It provides leadership and expertise in policy research and advocacy, and its survivor outreach literally saves lives. It is growing internationally and its ambition could not be more noble -- to put an end to sexual abuse in detention.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

I have worked closely with JDI for the past couple of years and have found their staff to be exceptional professionals who care deeply about ending rape in confinement settings. They are passionate about their work and I have thoroughly enjoyed working with them.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 7, 2013

more

June 7, 2013

The best thing I can say about Just Detention International is they saved the lives of a lot of women at the California institution for Women when they came in to implement the Prison Rape Elimination Act pilot program in 2010. JDI rescued us from many years of sexual abuse. They gave us a voice and the information we needed to protect ourselves. They made prison a lot safer for inmates, at least against sexual violence. I am a survivor of sexual abuse in prison and JDI gave me strength to fight. JDI helps in letting the United States know that the punishment of incarceration does not include sexual abuse.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it stronger, bigger and louder.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 1, 2013

more

May 1, 2013

I've been involved with Just Detention International for a few years now. The work they do is absolutely essential and life-saving, and something which I feel very fortunate to be involved with. The level of commitment and dedication they display to the cause of eliminating the sexual abuse of prisoners is exceptional and I have sustained my involvement with this organization due to their mission as well as the success of their program in helping and healing others. I can't say enough good things about this organization, please look into the amazing work they have done and continue to do.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 29, 2013

more


2 previous reviews - show all
July 19, 2012

I am a survivor of prisoner rape. Before I met Just Detention International and all of their wonderful staff, Lovisa, Linda, Cynthia, Jesse, Chris, Derek, Christine, Nicole, Carolina (and please forg... more

April 29, 2013

I learned of Just Detention International several years ago. As a survivor of prisoner rape, I never knew that such an organization existed. JDI has taught me that I am still a person, I am still important, I will survive ~ and more important, I am not alone! As a member of the Survivor Council, I have had the opportunity to work with other survivors and staff members of JDI to work at getting PREA standards signed and in place. Just Detention International is an organization that I am proud to be associated with. I have never met such caring, wonderful people who truly believe in the cause that they are fighting for.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2012

I am a survivor of prisoner rape. Before I met Just Detention International and all of their wonderful staff, Lovisa, Linda, Cynthia, Jesse, Chris, Derek, Christine, Nicole, Carolina (and please forgive me for anyone I’ve missed); I believed that no one cared about my feelings, my fears, my emotions, and concerns. But once I found JDI, my life changed. I have learned that what happened to me is not my fault; I have begun to believe it. JDI has helped my husband and I to be able to share our story and to hopefully help other prison rape survivors. Every time I am able to share my story, or talk with someone about it, I feel myself heal more.
While I was incarcerated in a Michigan women’s prison, I was repeatedly raped by a corrections officer. Not just once, not just twice; but several times a week for over 6 months. Due to my fears of repercussions and being held up from going home, I was too afraid to say anything. Instead, I kept quiet. At that point in time, all I wanted to do was get home to my husband and children. So I did what I felt I had to do for my safety, I didn’t tell anyone.
I am one of the fortunate ones. My rapist was actually convicted and sent to prison. And, as much as I despise him and what he did; I don’t believe that even he should be subjected to being raped in prison.
When I first contacted JDI, I was sent a packet of information. The packet contained information about prisoner rape and the Prison Rape Elimination Act. It contained information about services that were available to me. But the most important thing in that packet was a card. It was a hand-written card that told me how important I was; that what happened to me was not my fault; and that I was not alone. That card started me on my road to further recovery.
I have now had the opportunity to write some of those cards myself, as well as Holiday cards that are sent to incarcerated individuals. And to read some of the testimonies from recipients of those cards, is a blessing.
As a member of JDI’s survivor council, I have met other prison rape survivors. We have had the opportunity to share our stories, become friends and bond with each other. The feeling to know that you are not alone is indescribable.
JDI staff members will send you a quick “hello” on Facebook, e-mail, Twitter, etc. It is amazing to know how good just that small little word makes you feel. JDI always goes over and above what you would expect any other organization to do. And knowing that they do it for everyone, is heart-warming.
Since meeting JDI and their staff, I have become a strong advocate for their cause of putting an end to prisoner rape. I have attended Congressional briefings, had articles published in newspapers and magazines trying to spread the word. I have met with elected officials and other people working to put an end to this horrific crime. JDI has helped get the details of this horrific crime out into the public eye and to work to putting and end to this violent crime; and I feel blessed to have been able to find them.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

JDI has allowed me to spread the word that I am a SURVIVOR and not a victim. I'm not treated like a second-class citizen simply because I was a prisoner - to JDI, I'm still a person! JDI has only one goal in mind - to completely and effectively put an end to sexual abuse in all forms of detention.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely nothing!! Just Detention International reaches everyone. They don't discriminate, they simply care.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

Internet search for prisoner rape.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Since meeting JDI and their staff, I have become a strong advocate for their cause of putting an end to prisoner rape. I have attended Congressional briefings, had articles published in newspapers and magazines trying to spread the word. I have met with elected officials and other people working to put an end to this horrific crime. JDI has helped get the details of this horrific crime out into the public eye and to work to putting and end to this violent crime; and I feel blessed to have been able to find them.

April 13, 2011

While incarcerated in a Michigan prison, I was raped by a corrections officer. Not once, not twice, but several times a week for several months. My rapist was an officer at the prison warehouse. I was assaulted behind pallets stacked with flour and sugar, in the walk-in freezer — anywhere he felt confident no one would catch him.

I was desperate to go home to my husband and children, so I didn’t report the abuse. If I did, my rapist said he would write me up and delay my release. The warden had already made clear that she would always believe an officer over an inmate. And if I had to stay longer, he would be able to rape and assault me longer.

So I kept quiet. It was only when another female had the courage to come forward did the incident come to light. My rapist was actually charged and we went through a criminal trial. He dragged it out for several years, but we managed to get a conviction.

I had been in counseling for many years; I was not only dealing with being raped, but the stigma of being "raped prisoner"; and I was also dealing with the guilt of knowing that since I was his first victim, if I only had the courage to speak out, none of the other women would have had to endure the attacks.

Just Detention International has helped me to realize that the rapes were not my fault. I did nothing to cause them. Just because I was a prisoner, I was still a person and I still had rights. JDI helped me to understand that I did nothing to cause what happened to me, and that it was not my fault!

JDI has allowed me the opportunity to tell my story to other survivors of prisoner rape and I have become a strong advocate for them. JDI has helped me to understand that I was only doing what was necessary to survive; and that I can continue to help other prisoners by speaking about what happened to me.

I have learned to not be ashamed of what happened to me. JDI has taught me that I did not deserve to be raped; and it was the fault of my rapist and the prison system - not me.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

JDI has allowed me to spread the word that I am a SURVIVOR and not a victim. I'm not treated like a second-class citizen simply because I was a prisoner - to JDI, I'm still a person! JDI has only one goal in mind - to completely and effectively put an end to sexual abuse in all forms of detention.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Absolutely none. JDI does a wonderful job and they reach people all over the world.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

Doing an internet search for prisoner rape. I was looking for a support group of some time, and my search led me to a group called Stop Prisoner Rape (now called Just Detention International).

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

JDI has encouraged me to speak out about what happened to me, and they have taught me that I can teach others and help them realize that they too are survivors and not victims. Just because we suffered being raped while we were incarcerated doesn't change that. We are SURVIVORS!

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I found out about Just Detention International when I was researching resources for serving incarcerated survivors of sexual assault. Touched by their compassionate and empowering model, where the voices of survivors of sexual violence in the prison system are at the forefront, I became a regular donor. As a crisis service volunteer myself, I have benefited from JDI's informative webinars on relevant topics. JDI's impact and dedication are clear, and the issue they work on is so important.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 22, 2013

more

April 22, 2013

I joined the Just Detention board over 3 1/2 years ago, and have continually marvelled at how this organization punches so far above its weight, working effectively both nationally and, now, internationally, to stop the sexual abuse of people who are incarcerated or otherwise detained. Domestically, this is an organization that had a critical role in getting the Prison Rape Elimination Act enacted (including by building a diverse coaltion across party lines), and ensuring that the PREA standards are meaningful ones, which are implemented effectively. From policy work, to consulting directly to penal institutions on the front lines, to advocating on behalf of victims of sexual abuse, JDI has been incredibly effective (particularly given its relatively small size), in reducing the risk that people who are in detention suffer life-changing abuse. I am particularly excited about the impact that JDI will have internationally in the years to come. I am proud to serve on JDI's board and hope that others will take the time to learn more about JDI's human rights mission and record of success.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013

more


1 previous review
July 18, 2012

This is an organization that makes every decision with the thought of helping prisoners recover from sexual assault. Their business decisions are based on what's best for the organization as a whole... more

April 7, 2013

I have been a Board Member for JDI for about 2 years. Prior to that, I worked with them when they came into the prison I was Warden over and helped us develop a protocol to respond to victims of sexual assault. They assisted us in developing the procedures, and then helped with teaching the prison staff the appropriate protocols. They also provided training and information to the inmate population so they would understand what their rights were and what to expect.
The assistance JDI provided the Institution made the environment better for the inmates, but also made the environment better for the staff. They felt much better prepared to deal with these types of situations when they arose.
As a Board Member, I continue to see how effective JDI is in changing lives. Whether it be their advocacy work for those still incarcerated, or making sure that as many inmates as possible get a message of hope during the holidays through their Christmas Card Campaign, they truly are an organization that believes in their mission.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 18, 2012

This is an organization that makes every decision with the thought of helping prisoners recover from sexual assault. Their business decisions are based on what's best for the organization as a whole and for the people they are dedicated to helping. I have never worked with a more dedicated group of individuals endeavoring to change and save lives. In the few short years they have been in existence, they have made the message that a prison sentence doesn't include sexual assault something that the public now understands. I am proud to be a Board member of such a worthy organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 5, 2013

more

April 5, 2013

Just Detention International has got to be my favorite human rights group hands down. First: I (as a donor) am made to feel that I am directly responsible for changing one or more individuals lives through even the smallest donation I may make. In JDI newsletters I read about how my contributions help real people, real JDI clients whose lives have been turned around, whose faith and esteem have been restored through sheer force of having been helped, having had someone like JDI help them pick up the pieces and move forward. That is, I'm not just reading about some law that was passed, or how JDI was involved, but I am learning about how clients benefited in very tangible ways. Second: I never feel pressured to contribute some predetermined or standard amount as with many other human rights groups, but whatever I can. And while I don't expect to be thanked each time I do make a contribution, the smallest donation I have made has always been reciprocated with fondest thanks from the program's chief director, Ms.Stannow, not someone just pushing paper at a desk. JDI cares about the people they work for because I have seen the positive change in their clients' lives. JDI, you're awesome.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 34 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers