Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 2, 2014

more

September 2, 2014

I'm a Licensed Mental Health Counselor working with JDI in the Miami-Dade Correction Facilities for almost a year. I have never worked for a more passionate or dedicated organization. JDI advocates tirelessly for incarcerated victims of sexual violence and helps give them a voice. Too often, individuals who are incarcerated are seen as less deserving because of crimes they have committed and are not treated with the respect that we all deserve as human beings. JDI helps make a huge difference by providing services to a very underserved population and we need more organizations like them. I am proud to be a part of this organization and serve in a small capacity to help meet the needs of these individuals.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

This is one of the most impressive non-profit organizations in the U.S. I am a longtime executive director of other similar non-profits and I have long admired the brilliant way that JDI is managed as well as the passion and commitment of it's very effective staff. Even though I am often busy, their appeals have convinced me to volunteer on several occasions over the years.

Their website and social media are especially impressive. They handle a very "tabu" subject with the dignity and strong attention that it deserves. Big Kudos for all around excellence.
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Wow .. Where do I start . I have worked in this field for over 17 years . A year ago I joined JDI and I provide therapy to inmates in Miami, FL jails . I work with inmates who are victims / survivors of sexual abuse / trauma history at some point in there lives. JDI counseling program is outstanding and needed. Most of the inmates over 81% have experience severe sexual abuse / trauma which has impacted there lives in some way . There sexual abuse history probably has a lot to do with the choices and decisions that lead them to be incarcerated. . The inmates are engaged , cooperative and committed to there therapeutic process. 90% of the clients I see on a weekly basis never received any form of counseling/ therapy to address there trauma . Most people see the inmates as criminals, please don't get me wrong I am not minimizing or dismisses there crimes . After hearing there life stories years of abuse, I see them as survivors who have experienced years of abuse , trauma and neglect . The services offered by JDI gives so many women and men opportunities to address there hurt and pain. So when they are released they might have a better chance in life . They can continue there treatment and seek mental health services. I pray and hope agencies and organizations will be able to continue the services they provide that are so needed. The inmates are thankful and appreciative they have a chance to deal with past trauma. With JDI services and other non profit agencies services in our communities so many people receive help Let's continue to support and discuss the importance of non profit agencies/ organizations . I see everyday how the services offered make a difference in SO many people lives ...
August 11, 2014

more

August 11, 2014

Prison rape is something that has deeply disturbed me for a long time, ever since I watched the films And Justice for All and Brubaker in college.  I felt sick for days afterwards. The fact that prison rape is so casually accepted worldwide, yet so devastating to its victims, ate away at my peace of mind for years. I couldn’t understand why a crime that can land you in prison stopped being a crime when carried out in prison. I wanted to do something about this terrible injustice, but didn’t know what to do. So the pain just festered inside me. Until one day, researching prison rape, to include tangentially in one of my story lines, I found Just Detention International. I had several reactions. I was amazed and awed, feeling that God had heard my prayers. I felt great relief knowing that there are others, in fact an entire organisation, who believe that prison rape should not be an internationally accepted part of prison life and are fighting to protect vulnerable prisoners. And I felt stupid for not knowing about JDI earlier.

I am so grateful that Just Detention International exists and that it is making progress in helping prisoners live behind bars with dignity and respect and without the cruel and brutal punishment of rape. I am honoured to be able to support JDI.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

I donate to this group because I agonize sbout the plight of the powerless.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 29, 2014

more

July 29, 2014

I was raped in prison by two different staff members methodically over a year period of time. I was suicidal and hopeless. Through my work as a volunteer with JDI and sitting on their Survivor Council, I found the courage to heal and found my voice in advocacy. I testified before a Joint Senate Committee in a successful effort to change California law, worked on the crafting and implementation of PREA (the Prison Rape Elimination Act), became a PREA peer educator in the first pilot implementation program before the guidelines became mandatory and was honored to be a speaker in a training webinar to share PREA practices with corrections officials. I got to see firsthand how important JDI's work is and how it can and does change lives. They certainly deserve recognition for their tireless efforts.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I am a Lecturer in Criminology with a particular interest in penal policy. For many years I have been concerned about the issues of rape and sexual abuse in prisons, and distressed by the lack of awareness of and interest shown by many other professionals, the media and the public.

I
became aware of the work of JDI (then known as Stop Prison Rape) through a long letter written by David Kaiser and published in the London Review of Books. The letter set out the key issues so succinctly and effectively that I used it as a teaching resource. I also made contact with the organization, and have since become a financial supporter.

In my home country, Australia, we have no equivalent organization to JDI, and as a result we have no equivalent to the Prison Rape Elimination Act, we do not have the network of support groups for prison rape survivors, we do not have reporting mechanisms to even know the rate of sexual assault in our prisons.

By personalizing and sharing the stories of real prisoners, by staying out of (unwinnable) arguments about punitive policies, and instead focusing on our social duty to ensure the basic safety and dignity of those people society incarcerates, JDI has made a positive difference in the lives of countless thousands of the most vulnerable people in the world.

There are many non-profit organizations who do great work in all sorts of fields - from community sports to supporting elite artists -- but my measure of what makes a really great non-profit is that it effectively helps people who no one else wants to know. JDI has no particular religious focus, but as a committed Christian I see its work as exemplifying Christian love in action.

I am proud to support JDI, and I regard them as a model for civic society advocacy and support on this issue.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

JDI has a focus on the United States which is quite natural, as that is the nation where it began and also the US has rates of incarceration vastly greater than anywhere else in the world. However, there is an unspoken assumption in many email campaigns and the like that I am a US citizen. I understand why this happens, but a conscious effort to 'internationalise' the language and presentation of JDI materials would be welcome. The rest of the worlds needs you!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

May 18, 2014

more

May 18, 2014

I was introduced to JDI through the writing of Hamilton Nolan on Gawker.com, Hamilton supports prisoner rights and I was intrigued by JDI's simple request for positive and healing thoughts for their clients for a holiday card project.
Upon visiting JDI's web page and reading the incredible
relief they brought to their clients I knew that I needed to do more to help this organization.
I am a sexual abuse survivor, unlike JDI's clients I had the luxury of freedom and the comfort of my family and the resources to heal. The act of writing healing notes to the clients of JDI was incredible. It is easy to discount people in prison as some anonymous "bad guy", but what does that attitude serve?? There is no justice done when people are harmed in prison by rape and sexual assault, it harms us all as a people and a society to allow such acts to go on and to not help the victims, no matter what crime led them to be in prison.
I would encourage anyone who is cynical about what JDI's impact is to read just one or two of the client testimonials, I know that involving myself with JDI, even in a very small way was one of the most rewarding things I did all last year.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They should be more widely seen. I hope they can be features on media more. Their work is important and should be known.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 26, 2013

more

June 26, 2013

I work for our state coalition of sexual and domestic violence programs and recently began working with the Department of Corrections to implement the PREA standards. JDI has been an invaluable resource for my work, providing in depth advice, support and technical assistance. They've provided a road map for our work locally and generously shared model policy and best practice. I don't know where we'd be without the help of JDI in doing this important work. They've shared so much of their own experience and hard work that and this has made our work here so much better than it would be if we were traveling without a road map. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 24, 2013

more

June 24, 2013

JDI is a powerful, thoughtful, and effective organization. It provides leadership and expertise in policy research and advocacy, and its survivor outreach literally saves lives. It is growing internationally and its ambition could not be more noble -- to put an end to sexual abuse in detention.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers