Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
132 Reviews
1234.939395
Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review
August 26, 2014

more

August 26, 2014

Joining JSA is easily one of my best decisions. It's a fantastic organization to surround yourself with politically minded peers. Liberals, conservatives, libertarians, communists, anarchists, and supporters of all different blends of political philosophy come together to discuss, socialize, and have fun. It's student to student and the learning experience comes to you naturally. I highly recommend to all those interested and potentially interested in political discussion or having friends.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

I'm very disappointed I am not allowed to give this amazing organization more than 5 stars. The Junior Statesmen Foundation has made my high-school career all the more memorable. I don't know where I would be without the Junior Statesmen Foundation today, because I feel like I have finally found a group of people who understands me. This group has sent me to study in Beijing, China and allowed me to learn about political discourse on the world stage at a summer school at Georgetown University. I love being informed and talking about politics and world events as well as popular culture, and I couldn't find a better way to do this in high school if not for the Junior Statesmen Foundation. The Junior Statesmen Foundation provides an excellent way for students to find themselves through educated discussion. I would be a much angrier black woman had I not found this very impressive organization. Please donate and support this organization; you'll be saving the next generation from dying from apathy and uninformed voting results. ALL MY LOVE GOES OUT TO THE JUNIOR STATESMEN FOUNDATION - WHAT YOU GUYS DO HAS MADE ME A BETTER PERSON, AND I CAN'T THANK YOU ENOUGH.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

JSA is amazing! It is a really easy and effective way of practicing active citizenry, even if you aren't interested in politics (yet). You can get as involved as you want, but whether this means getting vocal in meetings or running for office, you learn valuable leadership, communication, and administrative skills. Students learn from each other about the world around us, which is not a fact that many organizations can claim.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

5 stars aren't enough for this amazing organization. The Junior Statesmen Foundation creates politically and socially aware young adults who aren't afraid to stand up and contribute to their community. I wouldn't be the same without them; they have shaped me to be the young adult I am today by giving me leadership opportunities, teaching me about national and global issues, and connected me to some of the brightest students our generation has to offer. Everyone should take part in this.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

You can see the amazing effect that JSA has on everyone who participates. If you're soft-spoken, you find your voice. If you're passionate, you learn to be compassionate and learn about the opinions of others. It encourages respect among those who disagree and it teaches teambuilding while empowering the youth to take initiative. Not only does it encourage civic engagement, it also encourages activism in communities. It provides an opportunity for everyone, no matter what their background, to succeed.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

Junior State of America is perhaps the largest student-run organization in the country, and has changed the perspectives of students everywhere, including myself, on topics like domestic affairs and international relations. I entered my Freshman year, new to the whole debate process, and found myself intimidated by all the talented and skillful debaters around me. Very soon, I learned I had nothing to be scared of, as I was welcomed warmly to the organization that I would consider home in the years to come. JSA has greatly impacted me, in that, I have learned so much on so many different issues talking, debating, and exchanging opinions. JSA has taught me how to diplomatically convey what I believe in, while actually taking the time to understand an opposition's point of view. Moreover, I have made so many close relationships and made valuable connections in my time at JSA. Most importantly, it has taught me to never be afraid of voicing about what you care, and to be the people.
August 25, 2014

more

August 25, 2014

JSA has honestly been the best part of my high school experience so far. Starting on the chapter level, JSAers have always made me feel included and that my opinions are valuable, even from my very first days as a freshman. I have been lucky enough to be able to attend state conventions as well as chapter and regional conferences. Every event is new and exciting. JSA has helped me become a much better public speaker, and is more applicable to the real world than most debate teams. JSA has presented me with opportunities to lead among my peers, and the student run nature of JSA allows for exploration and experimentation. If you're on the fence about joining, please, please do. Just attend one meeting, one convention and I can promise you'll be hooked!
August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

JSA has given me an opportunity to express myself like I have never before. JSA is filled with like-minded individuals who aren't oppressed by a society that devalues children to being a necessary evolutionary step. JSA is where I can say my views, as unpopular as they may be, in a safe environment free from ridicule. JSA is where I meet people who are the top of the class and strive to be the very best they can be. JSA is where anyone, and I mean anyone is valued. JSA is where abortion is no laughing matters and North Korea can have nuclear arms depending on how you vote. JSA is where children, who aren't necessarily athletic, can get an opportunity to impress colleges with academics... I know right! JSA is what I love! JSA is something I recommend for eveyone!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Do nothing!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 22, 2014

more

August 22, 2014

JSA provides students with insights and experiences that transcend government and politics. When joining JSA, students are welcomed into a warm, ambitious community that helps all of its individuals by supporting their aspirations. The organization is a proponent of the fundamental responsibilities each and every single one of us have as citizens - responsibilities which our generation is increasingly apathetic about. As a group, we advocate activism, leadership, volunteerism, and believe that above all if we "be the people" we will successfully make a difference. The club actively shapes today's students into tomorrow's leaders. Voltaire expressed it best when he stated that "I may not agree with what you have to say, but I will defend to my death your right to say it". JSA provides for its participants a venue in which strong opinions are appreciated, in which voicing your opinion and being ready to defend it in a dialectic fashion is encouraged. JSA is a journey; a journey where the people you meet, the cultures you're exposed to, and the simple life lessons you learn genuinely change your life.
August 21, 2014

more

August 21, 2014

JSA has taught me leadership skills and helped build my confidence among my peers in exceptional ways. Without JSA, I would definitely not be the calm, capable, organized person I am today. Anyone who joins JSA will build important life skills that can be applied outside the organization!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Previous | 1 2 3...13 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers