Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
56 Reviews
1234.8755
Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review
September 22, 2013

more

September 22, 2013

I am the President of the West Orange Chapter of the Junior state, and have been a member for two and a half years. This organization has given me the opportunity to take trips to our nations capitol, take college classes on government, and educate members of my high school about how our government works. In short, JSA provides the invaluable civics education that is so sorely lacking in our schools.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Decrease the costs of the fantastic trips

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013

more

September 21, 2013

Junior States of America is highly organized and functional. It's difficult to believe that this whole thing is organized by none other but a group of teenagers. The people involved are amazing, they will do big things in the world. The organization helps many high school students to become more politically active and informed. JSA is amazing!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 11, 2013

more

September 11, 2013

The Junior State of America has allowed me to develop as a thinker, a speaker, a leader and a friend. As the largest student run organization in the country, JSA does not teach leadership, but rather provides a tangible leadership experience. With this incredible autonomy, we learn from our own mistakes and the guidance of our peers. While allowing students to find their voice and express their opinions, JSA teaches us to critique ideas, not the people who generate them. Unlike most teenage groups, we exemplify the integral American value of “innocent until proven guilty”. Each student is welcomed into a community of open minds and hearts where everyone is valued and respected. By instilling this confidence in its members, JSA prepares its members to “be the people” who actively engage in our society.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more people join!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 10, 2013

more

September 10, 2013

As a high school student, Junior State and the Junior Statesmen Foundation had a profound impact on my life. I learned how to get up in a front of a group of people and speak about topics of importance to me. I learned how to lead others. And I developed lifelong friendships. As an adult, I continue to volunteer in support of Junior State and the JSF because they are continuing to make this experience available to high school students and encouraging their engagement in civic life. I know of no more important civic mission.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 9, 2013

more

September 9, 2013

The Junior Statesmen of America has made a profound impact on my life. I attended the Princeton and Georgetown Summer Schools, and I am an active member of the year-round organization. I can safely say that the friends I made in JSA will be my friends for the rest of my life. The Junior State is not only a club that seeks to foster citizenship, but a first step in a long and prosperous political career. Our alumni include former Defense Secretary Leon Penetta, former Attorney General Ed Messe and former Press Secretary Mike McCurry. JSA is a truly fantastic organization !

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

This past summer, I went to JSA Summer School at Georgetown. I chose the program because it looked interesting, and I thought that I might get to explore my interest in politics a little bit more. Needless to say, when I arrived, I was floored. Never before had I seen a group of students as well-informed and passionate about politics. Debates about hot button issues broke out during meal times, but no matter how much we disagreed, we all were grateful to one another for being able to share our views in a civilized manner. After the three week program ended, my interest in politics had not only increased ten-fold, but I had made dozens of new friends (on both ends of the political spectrum, I might add). My experience was so wonderful that I've decided to start my own JSA chapter at my high school so that I can share this experience with my fellow students.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 7, 2013

more

September 7, 2013

While the Junior State of America (JSA for short) is considered a debate club, the opportunities for members far exceed what you would expect from its simple description. The debates are about intriguing current events, and spark interest in the minds of many: It is impossible to leave a JSA convention without having learned something new about current events. Besides the debates, JSA offers members opportunities to be politically and socially active. Many students write articles for the Huffington Post, write to their local officials, and attend activism workshops at conventions to help others do the same. My high school has an annual event "Fight Apathy", which is dedicated to helping others speak their minds about the issues at hand. In terms of community service, JSA encourages chapters to serve the community as a group, making a more lasting effect. JSA also has multiple leadership opportunities available, for those who wish to be part of the team that keeps moving JSA forward. I am glad to say that I am a member of the Junior State of America, and thus far, it has most definitely proved to be a both fun and beneficial experience.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

This probably is not possible, but the only change I would make is to have more conventions.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

One of my biggest high school regrets is not joining JSA my freshmen year. As a sophomore and junior, though, I have left every convention astounded by the quality of political and ideological discourse achieved. Following the first email I saw about an upcoming convention, JSA has gradually taken over my life. The first thing I do upon opening my laptop is check my JSA email. I go on Facebook to see if there have been any Cabinet notifications. The week is gauged by the weekly club meeting and the debates I write for it, and the year is marked by the three major overnight conventions. I've invested much of my time, energy, and enthusiasm into JSA, and I always get back more than I gave.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase our alumni connections.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

This is a wonderful organization! I beeline that everyone should take advantage of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not, it is a fine organization.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 6, 2013

more

September 6, 2013

There are clubs, there are debate clubs, there are politics, there are political clubs, and then, there's the Junior State of America.
When I joined JSA in sophomore year, I was shy. Uncertain. Lacking confidence. Without a voice. I had thoughts, I had opinions, but I didn't have the words to
express my mind. I had interests, but I needed to make them fuller, to turn them into true passions. I could talk, but I couldn't speak.
And then, through a chance chat with a friend, I became acquainted with JSA, and decided to check it out the following week.
In life, there comes times when you reach a turning point, a new beginning filled with new opportunities, new insight, new people, new adventures. JSA was my turning point, marking the end of the old, quiet me, and ushering in the age of the confident, intelligent me, the 2.0 version with more wit, charm, ideas, and most importantly, the ability to turn those ideas and opinions into words that people will listen to.
It's more than the welcoming atmosphere, the comfort of choosing your side and topic, the luxury of rambling on and on about your thoughts on a particular matter-JSA is about the people. By the people, for the people-a gathering place for minds that understand one another and operate on the same intellectual level.
There's so many more things I could say, so many more examples I could give and stories I could tell about the Junior State of America, but there's not nearly enough time, space, or attention span to list them all. Instead, I will sum JSA up in three words: Join right now.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more people involved and recruit more members to experience the wonder that is the Junior State of America.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...6 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers