Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
13 Reviews
1234.923085
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My son is a client but we also donate to the fantastic Junior Blind! Our son has learned to do things beyond what me could ever have imagined with the patient, loving care of all staff. We feel that JB is our family and we are always welcomed. Our son has learned to eat by himself with a spoon. He used to only eat pureed foods and now he can eat chopped food. He is 16 years old. The other day he carried his tray from the table to the counter when he finished eating. It takes hours and hours of training and patience for the children to learn to be independent. I am forever grateful! Our entire family and friends even forego Christmas presents and give donations in the name of our son because we are so grateful! We know that all donations go where they are needed most to help the children at Junior Blind achieve the most independence possible!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We LOVE Junior Blind of America! We have been involved with them since my son was 5 years old started to loose his sight. All the events that they put together and the summer program have been amazing and my son loves all the friends he has made here. Everyone who works here is great and understanding and I make sure that everyone knows this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just try to find more ways for them to continue getting the backing of great companies to make this place a haven for visually impaired.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love helping out at all JBA events and activities. For the most part they're well organized and I enjoy seeing participants have fun - it makes me feel like I've done my job

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son began working with Junior Blind Infant family program at age 6 mos, and continued on to become a student on campus from the age of 3-5. The in home program we received intially, was life changing. They were a constant support during this very difficult time, when we were just begining to understand our sons visual impairments and multiple disabilities. In addition they provided us with valuable resources within the community, as well as great techniques to help him function in his environment. We feel very strongly that this early intervention was a key component in the development of his functional vision. While he is legally blind, now at age 9, he is very capable of manuevering safely through his environment, thanks to the skills he was taught.
As he continued on to become a student, he was provided with daily support, as well and lifelong skills. The campus is, to this day, one of his favorite places to go. As a family we feel safe here, and enjoy the many events they put on for our children to enjoy. I feel very blessed to have the support of this amazing organization, these past 9 years.
In addition, my oldest daughter has been a volunteer on campus and at Camp Bloomfield for the past 6 years, and is now a CIT, patiently waiting for the day when she can become a counselor. She has learned so much from the staff and enjoys the opportunity to help children who are blind or visually impaired enjoy the same activities at camp that typical kids enjoy at camp. All in a safe environment, where they do not have to worry about being judged or made fun of. They can just be themselves and have fun!!

All in all, Junior Blind of America is one of the most AMAZING Non profit organizations on the planet!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add additional campus, so more children could be served by this amazing organization!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a donor to Junior Blind of America I can not say enough about their programs. I always feel that any donation made is always going right where is should - in helping to improve the quality of life for all that participate in their programs. They have the most dedicated staff and you can see it the moment you step on their beautiful campus.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love volunteering at Junior Blind of America because you can see that they make a difference in the life's of those you help. Everyone that works there is caring and goes above and beyond to help. I love volunteering there so much that I have had many friends come and help out also. You always leave there feeling good about what you have done and you want to come back for more.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing, they are doing a great job!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization cares for not only the visually impaired person but multi-disabled as well - something I was not initially aware of. I have been volunteering at Junior Blind for seven years and each year I am amazed at how they continue to evolve their programs for those they serve. It is an exceptional organization to be involved with. Debbie is a wonderful person to work with and always puts in 110%. If there is any organization out there that will put donations to the best use it is Junior Blind. There are organizations that say they change peoples life's - Junior Blind actually does.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Maybe get the word out there more about all of the great things they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The Junior Blind organization is very special to me , because I witness on a regular basis the love and caring needed in this world ,to help all people progress, and feel comfortable, irregardless of any differences you may have. I have seen many children over the last five years start out shy and withdrawn , and over time, become confident , outgoing and then moving forward with there lives in a positive way. Junior blind offers a volunteer a personal, positive experience.The staff has always been friendly, helpful and professional. I plan on volunteering and bringing my friends to help for many years to come,

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would grow and try to help as many children as possible.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

The junior Blind of America has been such a great experience for me. As a client, I have received critical training for independence. Since I have been in the program I have learned to cook, travel independently and how to read Braille. My computer skills have improved greatly as well. The staff here is very motivational and has challenged me to do things that I thought would be impossible. I didn't realize everything I was capable of but Junior Blind has helped me to reach new heights in what I can do. For example, i was really nervous about preparing my first dish. I really never cooked before Junior blind so I was sure I was going to be horrible at it. The Independent living instructors insured me that I would be fine. My first dish was an inchilada casserole. Once I got started, using the appropriate tools, I felt so comfortable in the kitchen. I had no problems cutting up my chicken, seasoning it and cooking it in the skillet. For me, using the stove top had always been a big issue, but the instructors encouraged me to tackle that fear. Now I really do enjoy cooking and I found out that I am a really good baker. Blind people can cook but this was never a statement I thought would apply to me. These are the kind of lessons Junior blind teaches. It gives blind people the opportunity to meet new goals and practice doing tasks they thought they never do. I’m really glad I found this program because it has taught me to have believe in my own strengths and face all challenges.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 29, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been both a donor and a volunteer for the Junior Blind of America. I started out as a volunteer helping at various events such as the Junior Blind Olympics, the Halloween Carnival and their annual Christmas event. I was overwhelmed by how fantastic this organization is and the people who work there and care for the kids and young adults. I was so overwhelmed that I eventually became a donor as well, and have encouraged friends and colleagues to get involved, and donate to the Junior Blind of America.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't say that I would make any changes, however I would like to see many more people get involved with this great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers