Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

How can I share my experience with JBA with everyone? I am not sure, you see, my son is blind, from birth. As he started growing up, in a dominated sighted world, school, as he was the only blind student in any school that he would attend..the questions would arise, the bad moments at school would happen. You see, my son did not know that he was blind, it sounds silly but it's true, his world in darkness is all he knew so he did not understand when others point it out that he was different, that he could not play ball with them because he was blind, I could very well tell you hundreds of stories of how my son came home from school feeling sad, crying, frustrated and sometimes also angry.

Instead I will tell you what happened just before him attending JBA's Camp Bloomfield and what happened after. Just before going to California to JBA, my son Jason was already too angry, all the time, he was not getting along with teachers, kicking people, he was acting out his frustration. He was just in 3rd grade. The Very first summer I took my son to Camp Bloomfield, that summer changed his life for ever!
He found friends that he hold still to this day, he found out that there was a way to adapt any activity/sport and not only participate, but to excel! He came back home with something I had not seen in a very long time, confidence, smiles, happy attitude.He even told me several times that thanks to Camp Bloomfield, he had the strength to take on the world ahead of him, he gain the confidence he was loosing once before.
In other words, what did my son got from JBA? Life! Quality of life! How do you put price on that? How will I ever be able to repay JBA for ALL that they have done for my son? Never, I just cannot, but tell you how amazingly wonderful they all are, they are not just a name, nor a building, nor a program, the staff is family to me, they are life! They are happiness, it's like they grab a bunch of it and put it in the palms of their hands and when your kids go there, they blow on that happiness towards your child, and just like that..their life and take on life change for the better.

Write a review? No. I am telling you just a little bit of the people that have gave my back my child, that did what just my love of mother could not make happen for my son, they gave my son wings and want to do great things in life. Until this day, my son does not miss a summer with JBA, and he is 17 yrs old this month. To say that I love JBA is an understatement.

From,

A mom, who her heart was
given back to her without pain of seeing her child suffer.
September 12, 2014

more

September 12, 2014

I was able to visit Junior Blind's campus and Camp Bloomfield several times this summer. As a former Director of Operations of an organization for students with special needs on the east coast, I know how important it is to provide children with the opportunities to succeed and thrive at an early age-especially those with disabilities. Through my several visits to Junior Blind, I never ceased to be impressed by the impact they have on their students and campers. It was evident in the never-ending smiles I saw on not just the faces of the children, but the staff as well. One staff member told me how she teared up watchign a camper drive away at the end of camp this summer. If that doesn't show their dedication, I don't know what does! Thank you to the staff of Junior Blind for showing me what incredible work you do for these children-I will definitely be back to visit.
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Junior blind is an amazing non-profit that gives kids the oppertinity to be who they are from a real young age. As a legally blind person myself I feel as a kid I never had the oppertinity to do any of these great things that junior blind is offering to these kids. I had chances as a kid to do some things, but they were very limited and not very popular. All in all junior blind is awesome and so are the people running it!
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

This was my first year working as a camp counselor at Camp Bloomfield and I was amazed. It really is a place where all the kids belong and thrive. Everyone of the kids were so excited at the beginning of the session and didn't want to leave at the end, the skills they learn there and the bonds they make are genuinely heartwarming to experience. Many parents expressed to me how grateful they are that their kids get to have a place where they feel comfortable and where they aren't different at all. I really do believe that this camp and organization is life changing in so many ways for so many different people.
August 12, 2014

more

August 12, 2014

My mother attended as a young teen, I attended camp Bloomfield and weekends when it was every weekend activities, my son attends visions now. Junior blind changed my life taught me that I could be and do anything. They truly are amazing I grew up poor and was able to experience so much thanks to them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have them expand more to northern ca

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 6, 2014

more

August 6, 2014

My son has been a participant in several of the programs at Junior Blind for 8 or 9 years and I/we have so many good memories and praises for all of them! The first time he went to Camp Bloomfield, I know--I really KNOW--he was a whole inch taller when I picked him up at the end of the week because he was so happy and had grown so much confidence in himself.
He enjoys friendships he has made through JBA over the years, has learned so many practical skills for independence and has been so inspired that he acquired an ongoing desire to be of service to children with disabilities and is now pointed in that direction through STEP, Hatlen and Davidson Program for Independence.
Thank you, thank you, thank you JBA for the FUN. LOVE and OPPORTUNITIES you have opened up for my son and the many, many other people you serve and benefit!
BRAVO & BRAVA to all of you who contribute to this valuable organization!
With heartfelt appreciation,
Sarah Wyckoff

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more of them around the world!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 31, 2013

more

October 31, 2013

My son is a client but we also donate to the fantastic Junior Blind! Our son has learned to do things beyond what me could ever have imagined with the patient, loving care of all staff. We feel that JB is our family and we are always welcomed. Our son has learned to eat by himself with a spoon. He used to only eat pureed foods and now he can eat chopped food. He is 16 years old. The other day he carried his tray from the table to the counter when he finished eating. It takes hours and hours of training and patience for the children to learn to be independent. I am forever grateful! Our entire family and friends even forego Christmas presents and give donations in the name of our son because we are so grateful! We know that all donations go where they are needed most to help the children at Junior Blind achieve the most independence possible!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We LOVE Junior Blind of America! We have been involved with them since my son was 5 years old started to loose his sight. All the events that they put together and the summer program have been amazing and my son loves all the friends he has made here. Everyone who works here is great and understanding and I make sure that everyone knows this.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

just try to find more ways for them to continue getting the backing of great companies to make this place a haven for visually impaired.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I love helping out at all JBA events and activities. For the most part they're well organized and I enjoy seeing participants have fun - it makes me feel like I've done my job

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My son began working with Junior Blind Infant family program at age 6 mos, and continued on to become a student on campus from the age of 3-5. The in home program we received intially, was life changing. They were a constant support during this very difficult time, when we were just begining to understand our sons visual impairments and multiple disabilities. In addition they provided us with valuable resources within the community, as well as great techniques to help him function in his environment. We feel very strongly that this early intervention was a key component in the development of his functional vision. While he is legally blind, now at age 9, he is very capable of manuevering safely through his environment, thanks to the skills he was taught.
As he continued on to become a student, he was provided with daily support, as well and lifelong skills. The campus is, to this day, one of his favorite places to go. As a family we feel safe here, and enjoy the many events they put on for our children to enjoy. I feel very blessed to have the support of this amazing organization, these past 9 years.
In addition, my oldest daughter has been a volunteer on campus and at Camp Bloomfield for the past 6 years, and is now a CIT, patiently waiting for the day when she can become a counselor. She has learned so much from the staff and enjoys the opportunity to help children who are blind or visually impaired enjoy the same activities at camp that typical kids enjoy at camp. All in a safe environment, where they do not have to worry about being judged or made fun of. They can just be themselves and have fun!!

All in all, Junior Blind of America is one of the most AMAZING Non profit organizations on the planet!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Add additional campus, so more children could be served by this amazing organization!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers