Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.823535
Previous | Next
Write A Review
September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Having just spent three days at Jungle Friends, I think you should know that it is one of the most extraordinary sanctuaries I have ever visited. The dedicated staff, mostly volunteers, takes care of more than 100 monkeys with enthusiasm and careful attention to detail. Director Kari Bagnal has tremendous spirit and knowledge--she's great with animals and people! Jungle Friends is a model primate sanctuary; I've never seen so many contented, calm monkeys and so many staffers loving their work. The place is pristine; the monkey habitats are spacious and inventive. I encourage everyone to support this place, which I hope expands to help more monkeys in need. There are so many!
Elizabeth Hess, author Nim Chimpsky: The Chimp Who Would Be Human

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I visited the facility and I have tracked a few recent rescues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am hoping that their budget can grow. The director is attracting some of the best people in the field and they need salaries. The place could expand into surrounding land.

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

Every time I am in Gainesville, FL I pay a visit and am welcomed by all.

I have been visiting Jungle Friends for ten years & find the facility always clean, the monkeys always happy and the people friendly, caring and hard working.

The education one gets from a visit is
astounding, it is a shame that people still want monkeys as pets.

There is no better place for ex pets, lab experiments or circus primates than Jungle Friends! When the monkeys get there, they finally hear a language they understand, they finally make monkey friends, they finally feel dirt on their feet, they finally fly through trees in giant enclosures, they are finally in a troop as life should have had them be in nature.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have visited Jungle Friends primate sanctuary. I was very impressed. The primates have big habitats, trees ,interactions with interns. Everything at JF is totally for the monkeys. Their care is awesome.
Brandon Dillard

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More people have the opportunity to be able to see the place first hand. Then donate their time and money to be able to rescue more monkeys.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

November 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

November 3, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

Kari and her work (actually Her Life) at Jungle Friends is definitely something everyone should experience. I had the honor of buying nuts for the "monks" as Kari calls them and being allowed a tour of the whole amazing place. The compassion and amazing energy of this wonderful lady and the great many people that help with the sanctuary is evident from the moment she greets you at the gate. There is not enough time or space to relate how this petite lady accomplishes amazingly huge feats in tireless forms of educating, building, rescuing, nurturing, reaching out, guiding, giving....and constantly giving in more ways than she probably knows. Through her emails and newsletters, many follow along with her as she rescues, builds, nurses, battles to save and sadly sometimes loses the battle...but her will and drive and compassion never wane. Travels with her (online or in person) are an adventure in the lives of these dear creatures she loves and I know that anyone who finds their way to Jungle Friends will come away with a new perspective of how even the smallest creatures deserve love and will no doubt feel the love that has created this amazing top-rated place.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Jungle friends is a great place for all the monkeys that had a terrible life in side shows, pets no longer wanted or being taken care of. I talked to kari on the phone about my capuchin and she was very helpfull and did not rush me off the phone. I have donated moneh several times and feel that this is a very worth while sanctuary. I would like to visit one day and voluntere. These monks deserve the life they are supposed to have. I give Jungle Friends 5 stars!! Tammy Lee Dickson Sams

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I met Kari at an AR2002 conference and subsequently visited Jungle Friends Sanctuary. Kari and her staff ROCK!!! They are very knowledgeble, upbeat, creative, caring, compassionate, and ...and the list goes on! They advocate as well for other non-humans and share their knowledge. I wish I could volunteer someday and also be mentored by Kari and her staff---what an education that would be!!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 25, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

When my niece received graduate degree, she had the opportunity to start a career with any number of companies and garner a large salary. But instead she chose to make a the world a little better by going to work for Jungle Friends and using her talents to make the lives of often neglected primates better. Jungle Friends is not only an organization with care and compassion, they are also a financially responsible organization that respects the purpose of the donations they receive. This is combination is rare and exceptional, and sadly missing from many other charitable organizations.

More feedback...

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Kari and Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary is a model of progressive, ethics and compassion in our community. Kari involves herself in promoting the morality of non exploitation of monkeys and humans. The work that she and all of the volunteers do at the sanctuary is inspiring. The rescue and care of abused, neglect and exploited monkeys finally have a place of peace and the sanctuary is a role model for similar victimized precious creatures. A society can be judged by the way they treat their voiceless.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2012

more

October 17, 2012

The rescue and rehabilitation of animals that have been thought what these animals have is a tremendous undertaking and the way in which they accomplish their goal is truly remarkable!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 30, 2012

more

January 30, 2012

Jungle Friends is a wonderful sanctuary for primates. Their staff, interns, and volunteers are some of the most dedicated I have ever seen! The "monks" are all very well cared for, and all in much better conditions than from whence they came. The folks at Jungle Friends also strive to end the use of primates in labs for research and educate the public that they do NOT make good pets!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We welcome all ages (over 18) and skills. If you have a passion for animals, we will find you a job to do at Jungle Friends. Outdoors, indoors, or even from your home computer, we can use your help. We love interns and volunteers! Volunteer