Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
1234.826925
Write A Review
December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with sanctuaries for many years all over the country and Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary is by far one of the best, if not THE best primate sanctuary! If you don't believe me, just visit the sanctuary and see for yourself. I couldn't disagree more with the previous comment. I love Jungle Friends! Amanda ME

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask everyone to do more for this sanctuary, by donating, volunteering and spreading the word that monkeys belong in the wild, not in labs or in people's homes!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

I cannot believe I just read a comment that was so far off the truth, it is no funny. In fact, it is slanderous. I have been a part of Jungle Friends for over 10 years when I brought my own monkey the... more

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked with primates for over 40 years, and at many primate sanctuaries in this country, I can honestly say that in my opinion, Jungle Friends is the best. I currently have been at the sanctuary every day since My 23rd. I care for the diabetic and special needs monkeys. The staff is dedicated beyond measure. Please come out and volunteer and make life better for all these wonderful primates!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more dedicated volunteers and of course, more money for Jungle Friends.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

I cannot believe I just read a comment that was so far off the truth, it is no funny. In fact, it is slanderous. I have been a part of Jungle Friends for over 10 years when I brought my own monkey there in 2003. May, 2013, Kari (not Keri) called me because my monkey was sick. I bought a one way ticket and have been there every day since. I have worked with many sanctuaries and Jungle Friends is the best I have ever encountered. The huge, natural habitats are well maintained, and the diets the primates receive are well balanced and fresh. Every primate has 2 bowls, one for biscuits and one for diet. Kari and the staff are very attentive to each and every animal and many lives have been saved because injuries and illness do not go unnoticed. Kari did not take a salary for many years and even now, puts most of her money back into the sanctuary. I have always felt comfortable asking friends and family to donate to this sanctuary because I know, first hand, that the money goes directly to caring for these incredible animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people to donate so that more monkeys could live out their lives in this beautiful sanctuary!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful


I hope most of you have followed the story of Murphy Brown's adventures from Los Angeles to the magical land of Jungle Friends. I wrote a piece for the last newsletter and then another for the website after her arrival in April.
Well it's now July and many things have happened in those
three months. First of and most amazing of all....Murphy Brown has been off of insulin since June 27th and tests normal for the first time in almost five years. Why? Diet? Exercise? Perhaps....but to reverse the damage that was done in those five years of suffering at the hands of incompetent vets and a well meaning but incompetent human mother is only one thing , A MIRACLE. If love could cure diabetes, Murphy would have been cured. Upon her diagnosis, I took classes to learn about the disease, I searched the internet, I sent her blood tests to different vets. I got so many different opinions that nothing made sense. I have, in writing, Murphy's original vets' instructions, that would have killed her had I followed them. I did not give up... I prayed and I cried and I loved that little monkey more than ever. I met Kari and Nicole in January and knew that my prayers had been answered. I told Kari I would wait until April 10th and if I didn't have a plane that could take us I would drive. On April 6th, as I am calling rent-a-car places, my phone beeps and it's a friend telling me I have a plane, leaving April 10th. The rest is history.

I left my heart and my monkey on June 21st. Murphy is having so much fun and is feeling so good that she doesn’t even miss me. That's okay, I miss her enough for both of us. I have become Kari's assistant (assistant what, I have no idea) and I can't wait to get back to my second home. I plan on visiting as often as possible when I can't be there in person I am in touch everyday by telephone and e-mail. And I will continue to fundraise for Jungle Friends.

I urge everyone try a little fundraising, if not for Jungle Friends then for something else you really believe in. Not only am I helping a truly worthy cause but I also found that I have a lot of generous, loving people in my life and for that I will be forever grateful.

Please help Jungle Friends today with your tax deductible contribution through Paypal.

Thank you for your continued support.

Lots of Monkey Love,
Kari and the Monks

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

November 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 12, 2013

I have been working with non-profits for over 13 years and have the amazing opportunity to work at Jungle Friends as the Office Manager. This is one of the best-run non-profits with the most dedicated... more

November 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I can say with absolute certainty that Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary is a wonderful place! The staff and volunteers are all loving, dedicated individuals who always put the needs of the monkeys before their own. The monkeys receive attentive care and fresh, vegetarian diets. Jungle Friends is a safe and caring place for both the monkeys who call it home, and the humans who wish it was. I encourage everyone to come and volunteer to see first hand the difference that Jungle Friends is making!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 12, 2013

I have been working with non-profits for over 13 years and have the amazing opportunity to work at Jungle Friends as the Office Manager. This is one of the best-run non-profits with the most dedicated staff I have ever seen. Even though I work in the office I get plenty of 'monkey time' and get to see how happy, well-fed and healthy all of the monkeys are.

Kari is an amazing woman and an inspiration to everyone around her; she works tirelessly and is the most hands-on boss I have encountered. She is out with the monkeys from sun up to sun down (and sometimes later), ensuring that they have the best quality of life possible.

I love Jungle Friends and would recommend it to anyone who is interested in volunteering or getting involved with primates!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Give it more funding so that more monkeys can have a wonderful life!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
September 5, 2013

I have had the pleasure of witnessing what Jungle Friends has to offer for the monkeys firsthand. And let me just say - it is IMPRESSIVE!! I have a Marmoset Monkey that I rescued 8 years ago that no... more

November 22, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I just want everyone to know what a wonderful sanctuary this is!! If you have a free day please come by and witness first hand the dedication and love for these monkeys. If you are anything like me, you will leave with the feeling of accomplishment from helping out and have a whole new respect for staff/volunteers/interns for all of the hard work and care that they give the monkeys. Everyday is new adventure at Jungle Friends and seeing the monkeys thrive will surely put a smile on everyone's face. Being a helping part of it all is just an added bonus that everyone should experience for themselves.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

I have had the pleasure of witnessing what Jungle Friends has to offer for the monkeys firsthand. And let me just say - it is IMPRESSIVE!! I have a Marmoset Monkey that I rescued 8 years ago that now has a wonderful monkey life at Jungle Friends with other monkey like herself, I volunteer and help out in the Monkey Yard whenever I have a free moment, I sponsor monkeys, I work in the office keeping their finances in order and I recently joined their Board of Directors. I totally 100% believe in this non-profit organization that puts the monkeys needs first and foremost before anything else. Kari has dedicated her life to making sure every monkey that crosses her path has the best life possible. Anyone who doubts Jungle Friends beliefs or care for these monkeys need only come out and volunteer and they too will see firsthand what an amazing place this is. There are not many places where you can see a monkey living in a naturalist live habitat swinging and climbing in trees, chasing live bugs and just living life to the fullest. No concrete floors or concrete walls, instead they have grass, trees and bugs. Not to mention they are fed like kings and queens with all fresh fruits and veggies and species appropriate monkey biscuits. Jungle Friends is one of a kind sanctuary and the dedication and compassion for the animals here is what it is all about!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

no changed needed!!! Except to have more people understand the great work that goes on here and get more involved!!!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 22, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I am the sanctuary manager at Jungle Friends primate sanctuary. I would like to start off by saying I've worked for many sanctuaries and Jungle Friends is one of the best monkey sanctuaries out there. All in our care receive fresh produce and vegetarian meals that are donated each morning. We always pay close attention to all diets and food that is given to every animal in our care. We continue to improve every habitat on a daily basis. All in our care receive the very best we can give and have plenty of dedicated staff and volunteers to go around :)

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

more

September 5, 2013

I have been involved with Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary since 1999. In my opinion, there would be no better place to have a monkey live out it's captive years.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This Terrible organization Keri doesn't know anything about monkeys. Jungle friends is a toxic organization Keri does not put your donation to good use she spends them on build a deck for her trailer and buying things like a a personal atv for herself and a Hot tub. She treats her staff like crap forcing them to work 7 days a week from 6:30am to 8pm with out a beak. She runs off interns and has even called the cops on interns for want to leave after being treated poorly. The monkey are feed weeks old leftovers that smell like death and there habitats are not cleaned for months. Sadly the monkey are better off back in the labs there far better places put your time and money in to.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Everything

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 8, 2009

more

June 8, 2009

I just can't say enough good things about Jungle Friends and its founder Kari Bagnall. She has provided a safe haven for more than 100 primates and is an accredited sanctuary, which means she does not buy, breed, sell, trade nor add to the problem by enabling breeders & exploiters to use her as a dumping ground. Our own volunteers from Big Cat Rescue frequently drive several hours to help Jungle Friends build cages because they know first hand the good work being done there.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the transformation of un socialized lab monkeys into members of a happy troop.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

try to recruit more volunteers from the Gainsville college who are interested in PR and who could help make the plight of unwanted monkeys known.

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

seeing the animals benefit from our help.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

angels.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

provide the government with a place to send confiscated animals so that the inspectors did not just turn a blind eye to abuse for lack of an alternative.

Ways to make it better...

I had more resources to give.

In my opinion, the biggest challenges facing this organization are...

that people do not know about the great work they do.

One thing I'd also say is that...

your donations go to the animals at Jungle Friends and that is what animal donors really want.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We welcome all ages (over 18) and skills. If you have a passion for animals, we will find you a job to do at Jungle Friends. Outdoors, indoors, or even from your home computer, we can use your help. We love interns and volunteers! Volunteer