Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
102 Reviews
1234.823535
Previous | Next
Write A Review
December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I placed my monkey at Jungle Friends in 2003, stayed with her for 10 weeks and have visited her often over the years. I moved to Gainesville in 2013 and have been at the sanctuary every day since. Please come out and witness firsthand what incredible care these lucky primates receive every day of the lives. It takes a whole lot of caring people to run such a great sanctuary, please come out and make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more volunteers

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I placed my pet monkey in the care of Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary many years ago. I donated toward a new habitat for my monkey and even helped their staff and volunteers build the habitat for my precious little girl. I also contribute monthly for her care, because I know that the sanctuary survives only on private donations. I visit the sanctuary frequently and volunteer my time to help the sanctuary and see my monkey thrive with her new monkey friends in the compassionate care of the Jungle Friends Family! Jungle Friends saved my monkey's life (she is diabetic) and my sanity! I thank God every day for Kari, the founder, and her dedicated staff, interns and loyal volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
September 5, 2013

I cannot believe I just read a comment that was so far off the truth, it is no funny. In fact, it is slanderous. I have been a part of Jungle Friends for over 10 years when I brought my own monkey the... more

November 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Having worked with primates for over 40 years, and at many primate sanctuaries in this country, I can honestly say that in my opinion, Jungle Friends is the best. I currently have been at the sanctuary every day since My 23rd. I care for the diabetic and special needs monkeys. The staff is dedicated beyond measure. Please come out and volunteer and make life better for all these wonderful primates!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more dedicated volunteers and of course, more money for Jungle Friends.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 5, 2013

I cannot believe I just read a comment that was so far off the truth, it is no funny. In fact, it is slanderous. I have been a part of Jungle Friends for over 10 years when I brought my own monkey there in 2003. May, 2013, Kari (not Keri) called me because my monkey was sick. I bought a one way ticket and have been there every day since. I have worked with many sanctuaries and Jungle Friends is the best I have ever encountered. The huge, natural habitats are well maintained, and the diets the primates receive are well balanced and fresh. Every primate has 2 bowls, one for biscuits and one for diet. Kari and the staff are very attentive to each and every animal and many lives have been saved because injuries and illness do not go unnoticed. Kari did not take a salary for many years and even now, puts most of her money back into the sanctuary. I have always felt comfortable asking friends and family to donate to this sanctuary because I know, first hand, that the money goes directly to caring for these incredible animals.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

get more people to donate so that more monkeys could live out their lives in this beautiful sanctuary!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 2, 2012
1 person found this review helpful


I hope most of you have followed the story of Murphy Brown's adventures from Los Angeles to the magical land of Jungle Friends. I wrote a piece for the last newsletter and then another for the website after her arrival in April.
Well it's now July and many things have happened in those
three months. First of and most amazing of all....Murphy Brown has been off of insulin since June 27th and tests normal for the first time in almost five years. Why? Diet? Exercise? Perhaps....but to reverse the damage that was done in those five years of suffering at the hands of incompetent vets and a well meaning but incompetent human mother is only one thing , A MIRACLE. If love could cure diabetes, Murphy would have been cured. Upon her diagnosis, I took classes to learn about the disease, I searched the internet, I sent her blood tests to different vets. I got so many different opinions that nothing made sense. I have, in writing, Murphy's original vets' instructions, that would have killed her had I followed them. I did not give up... I prayed and I cried and I loved that little monkey more than ever. I met Kari and Nicole in January and knew that my prayers had been answered. I told Kari I would wait until April 10th and if I didn't have a plane that could take us I would drive. On April 6th, as I am calling rent-a-car places, my phone beeps and it's a friend telling me I have a plane, leaving April 10th. The rest is history.

I left my heart and my monkey on June 21st. Murphy is having so much fun and is feeling so good that she doesn’t even miss me. That's okay, I miss her enough for both of us. I have become Kari's assistant (assistant what, I have no idea) and I can't wait to get back to my second home. I plan on visiting as often as possible when I can't be there in person I am in touch everyday by telephone and e-mail. And I will continue to fundraise for Jungle Friends.

I urge everyone try a little fundraising, if not for Jungle Friends then for something else you really believe in. Not only am I helping a truly worthy cause but I also found that I have a lot of generous, loving people in my life and for that I will be forever grateful.

Please help Jungle Friends today with your tax deductible contribution through Paypal.

Thank you for your continued support.

Lots of Monkey Love,
Kari and the Monks

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2003

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jungle friends is a awesome place, have been there to help several times. Love the habitats and the great spaces that all of the monkeys have to play . They are the luckiest monekys to be able to live their lives out in such a special place. To have the dedication, and the constant observation, of all of the people that makes JUNGLE FRIENdS, the place that it is. Thank you for caring. Brandon Dillard

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

My experience with Jungle Friends is from a slightly different viewpoint, as the owner of a 20 year old Umbrella Cockatoo that Kari agreed to provide sanctuary for. There are only five large exotic birds living there since primates are the specialty of this organization. I had raised this bird "from an egg" and have always been involved in ensuring his well being, either in my direct care, or in the care of an adoptive home. In May of 2012 I became aware that he was in a situation of neglect at an adoptive home in Florida and he needed rapid intervention. While I was considering all options Kari Bagnall, of Jungle Friends heard of our plight and offered to take him in for a safe lifetime home. A few weeks later I flew down to Florida from Vermont, rented a big SUV and retrieved my "boy", taking him to Gainesville myself for placement. Jungle Friends was known to me by their excellent reputation and their accreditation status, but I had not visited before. I was provided housing and stayed several days, working as a volunteer throughout that time, while I settled my beloved bird into his new aviary home. The experience far exceeded my every hope for him. Jungle Friends is a serene beautiful country setting ideally suited by climate and location for its purpose as an animal sanctuary. Kari and her staff, interns and volunteers are fully commited to providing top shelf care to all residents. Every aspect of their well being is attended to. Firstly for physical health every animal has clean spacious secure housing, high quality food, and all appropriate veterinary care. Going way beyond the basics, the happiness of each individual is carefully considered by providing expression of their natural behaviors and all accomodations for their personal needs. Kari is exceptionally knowledgeable in the care of these highly intelligent social animals, which includes the various species of primates and the few lucky exotic birds that get to call Jungle Friends a permanent home. I have been directly involved for eight years as a volunteer and employee of another first class accredited animal sanctuary. Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary is the best of its kind as a species specialized animal care non-profit. Kari has my endorsement, my financial support, and my heartfelt appreciation for the life she has given my beloved cockatoo, and the life she provides to all of her "monks". If you care about wild animals having the best life captivity can provide, please give your support to Jungle Friends.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 26, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

We have a 26 year old capuchin named Max who has been apart of our family all that time. But he was just not living the life we wanted for him and I never would have just given him to just anyplace. We searched and found this place and it has been a life saver for Max we took care of him as best we could but he needed so much more. Now he has it. This place is amazing and every one there is there for the monkeys. I helped out there and it was hard work everyone there is just great. I plan on helping again as much as I can. Thank you Jungle Friends...keep up the great work... Chris Coppock Allegan MI.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

more

October 20, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I believed I was "rescuing" a baby brown capuchin when his owner unexpectedly passed away. I fell in love with him immediately and thought I was giving him a good life. Then I saw a documentary about Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary and realized that I could never give him the life he deserved. I contacted Kari at JF and explained Jak's (the greatest monkey ever!) situation. Not only did she agree to take him and provide a forever home with his like species, she also agreed to take me! By allowing me to visit, volunteer, and receive invaluable education and advice about the plight of exoctic animals, I am now able to pass this knowledge on to other's. The only way Jak could be happier is if he had been allowed to stay with his mother as a baby. I love this sanctuary and all of the interns, volunteers, and staff that make it their daily mission to care for all the monkeys... and dogs...and all creatures great and small!!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 18, 2012

more

October 18, 2012

Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary is an amazing place with amazing monkeys, as well as amazing human primates!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We welcome all ages (over 18) and skills. If you have a passion for animals, we will find you a job to do at Jungle Friends. Outdoors, indoors, or even from your home computer, we can use your help. We love interns and volunteers! Volunteer