Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.825245
Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review
September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Kari and her staff run the best primate sanctuary in the world! The monkeys eat the healthiest food, have the most spacious and beautifully enriched habitats. My volunteer time here has been some of the most joyful periods in my life. The food is 100% vegetarian and mostly vegan in support of all living beings! Kari manifests miracles for primates here!
December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer when I am in Gainesville visiting some regular volunteers. I love helping at Jungle Friends. The monkeys know the longtime volunteers and it is so funny to hear them scream greetings when my friends arrive. The staff and interns are very busy with a zillion things and volunteers are needed to help them. Time flies when you volunteer here because there is so much to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered with a group from UF last month and we all have a wonderful experience and plan to come back again. What we were most impressed with were how knowledgeable the staff and interns were. The Director even met with us explaining some of the future projects that were in the works at the sanctuary.Everyone was very patient with us, answering all of our questions thoroughly, we all left with a new appreciation for monkeys and all the hard work that goes into caring for them. If you are looking for a rewarding experience, you will find it at Jungle Friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My group volunteered for Jungle Friends about three weeks ago and really enjoyed it! The staff was kind and engaging and seemed to have a real passion for the monkeys! The monkeys are very well taken care of; each shares a spacious enclosure with a couple other monkeys and is given toys, hammocks, and a variety of shelters and branches to swing from. The staff explained that the monkeys are paired based on positive relationships formed with other monkeys, so each has a friend. The happiness and comfortability, in addition to the monkeys' health and well-being, are important to the staff here. They seem dedicated in making this a "sanctuary" for the monkeys, and I feel as though they have greatly succeeded!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our group had a great experience at Jungle Friends. We went as part of a service club trip which I led. I had tried contacting a number of animal rescue/sanctuaries around Gainesville, but Jungle Friends was definitely the most responsive. After the trip, everyone wanted to come back again, so we will be coming back in the next few months. Overall, definitely a very rewarding and interesting experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013

more

December 9, 2013

I volunteered last weekend and I was unimpressed. Another member in my group already posted the problems we saw below. Its against the law to have as many monkeys as they have and as few staff. However, this isn't why I decided to post. I took it upon myself to comment on the fact that right after a member in my group posted a comment about Jungle Friends' few good practices and their many bad a plethora of great reviews came in. So I went back in the history of this review and saw that after every bad review there were numerous good reviews that followed immediately. Then there was inactivity until another bad review came along and once again immediately good reviews followed. This trend is prevalent through this entire review. That seems a little fishy. I would only assume the director is creating good reviews on this site to cover the bad. This is supposed to be a site for honest reviews. Maybe instead of hiding your mistakes be an adult and address them. I'm going to encourage everyone in my club to post on this and I can tell you none of them had a positive experience aside from the few staff we worked with who were kind. I feel bad for them if they have to deal with such a negative and rude director.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary for some time now, and I also donate as much as I can to help the monkeys. This is a wonderful organization run by some of the most dedicated and compassionate individuals I have ever met! The monkeys are well taken care of and the staff are always friendly. Whenever I volunteer I feel appreciated, have a lot of fun, and learn something new every time. The staff are very knowledgeable about primates and are always there to explain primate behavior and answer any questions I may have. There is no feeling in the world that compares to the way you feel after you have been at Jungle Friends!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! This place is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Jungle Friends is a rewarding place to volunteer. The monkeys needs come first at this place. They have the best life possible for captive monkeys. One of the staff told me that one of the monkeys got ahold of someone's keys and the monkey ran over to a lock. That is so heartbreaking that the monkeys know they are under lock and key and want out. But, such is the fate of a captive monkey. The habitats at Jungle Friends are large and there is lots of things to do, and play with. While you work here you get to see monkeys playing with each other. What an amazing place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My priority for available time is to be at Jungle Friends as much as possible! It is hard to describe how rewarding it is, just knowing you're helping make life a bit better for these monkeys. The luckiest monkeys are the ones who are in the wild where they belong. For the unfortunate ones not in their natural home, Jungle Friends is absolutely the best alternative. It is not just the food, shelter, and monkey companionship that makes a difference, it is also the care, compassion and respect each of them is given by their human caregivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it the winning lottery ticket!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Been volunteering at Jungle Friends for a while now, not only are all in their care taken care of exceptionally well the staff are truly dedicated in what they are doing. Thank You Jungle Friends

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...5 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We welcome all ages (over 18) and skills. If you have a passion for animals, we will find you a job to do at Jungle Friends. Outdoors, indoors, or even from your home computer, we can use your help. We love interns and volunteers! Volunteer