Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
104 Reviews
1234.826925
Write A Review
December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I placed my monkey at Jungle Friends in 2003, stayed with her for 10 weeks and have visited her often over the years. I moved to Gainesville in 2013 and have been at the sanctuary every day since. Please come out and witness firsthand what incredible care these lucky primates receive every day of the lives. It takes a whole lot of caring people to run such a great sanctuary, please come out and make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more volunteers

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with sanctuaries for many years all over the country and Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary is by far one of the best, if not THE best primate sanctuary! If you don't believe me, just visit the sanctuary and see for yourself. I couldn't disagree more with the previous comment. I love Jungle Friends! Amanda ME

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

ask everyone to do more for this sanctuary, by donating, volunteering and spreading the word that monkeys belong in the wild, not in labs or in people's homes!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered last weekend and I was unimpressed. Another member in my group already posted the problems we saw below. Its against the law to have as many monkeys as they have and as few staff. However, this isn't why I decided to post. I took it upon myself to comment on the fact that right after a member in my group posted a comment about Jungle Friends' few good practices and their many bad a plethora of great reviews came in. So I went back in the history of this review and saw that after every bad review there were numerous good reviews that followed immediately. Then there was inactivity until another bad review came along and once again immediately good reviews followed. This trend is prevalent through this entire review. That seems a little fishy. I would only assume the director is creating good reviews on this site to cover the bad. This is supposed to be a site for honest reviews. Maybe instead of hiding your mistakes be an adult and address them. I'm going to encourage everyone in my club to post on this and I can tell you none of them had a positive experience aside from the few staff we worked with who were kind. I feel bad for them if they have to deal with such a negative and rude director.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

None

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering at Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary for some time now, and I also donate as much as I can to help the monkeys. This is a wonderful organization run by some of the most dedicated and compassionate individuals I have ever met! The monkeys are well taken care of and the staff are always friendly. Whenever I volunteer I feel appreciated, have a lot of fun, and learn something new every time. The staff are very knowledgeable about primates and are always there to explain primate behavior and answer any questions I may have. There is no feeling in the world that compares to the way you feel after you have been at Jungle Friends!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing! This place is amazing!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I placed my pet monkey in the care of Jungle Friends Primate Sanctuary many years ago. I donated toward a new habitat for my monkey and even helped their staff and volunteers build the habitat for my precious little girl. I also contribute monthly for her care, because I know that the sanctuary survives only on private donations. I visit the sanctuary frequently and volunteer my time to help the sanctuary and see my monkey thrive with her new monkey friends in the compassionate care of the Jungle Friends Family! Jungle Friends saved my monkey's life (she is diabetic) and my sanity! I thank God every day for Kari, the founder, and her dedicated staff, interns and loyal volunteers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of a thing!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I want to start out by saying Ive given a lot of time and as much money as I can afford to many different non profits throughout the country and am pleased to say that Jungle Friends is deserving of both. I have been volunteering and donating to this organization for some time now and love every second I'm able to spend there. I am extremely Impressed with the dedication of the entire staff and that of the volunteers that give so much of their time for these amazing beings. It saddens me that we even need places like this but am happy that Jungle Friends provides such exceptional care for the monkeys that call Jungle Friends home. I am very proud to know all at Jungle Friends and I would suggest to anyone looking to donate to an amazing non profit to look into Jungle Friends. Every cent is spent on the animals. I feel proud supporting an organization like Jungle Friends and will continue to do so for a long time to come :)

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 9, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I have been volunteering every weekend at the sanctuary for over 9 years now. I commute 45 miles each way every weekend. I have helped a lot of volunteers, staff, and most importantly the monkeys who have helped fill a previously empty place in my life. I run a business and have included my employees, all of whom have worked for me for over four years, in my Jungle Friends activities.

The work is constant, yet rewarding, with the experience of volunteering on a continuing basis allowing me to experience Jungle Friends for more than just a snapshot of time. I invite all to volunteer and get to know the monkeys and staff for more than just a few hours. The reward truly is knowing and seeing what I am able to provide helps others, understanding that in giving of my time and abilities I place something or someone else above my own personal day to day wants.

I do what I can, not perfectly, but to the best of my abilities. I believe you learn something new every day if you allow yourself to.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Jungle Friends is a rewarding place to volunteer. The monkeys needs come first at this place. They have the best life possible for captive monkeys. One of the staff told me that one of the monkeys got ahold of someone's keys and the monkey ran over to a lock. That is so heartbreaking that the monkeys know they are under lock and key and want out. But, such is the fate of a captive monkey. The habitats at Jungle Friends are large and there is lots of things to do, and play with. While you work here you get to see monkeys playing with each other. What an amazing place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My priority for available time is to be at Jungle Friends as much as possible! It is hard to describe how rewarding it is, just knowing you're helping make life a bit better for these monkeys. The luckiest monkeys are the ones who are in the wild where they belong. For the unfortunate ones not in their natural home, Jungle Friends is absolutely the best alternative. It is not just the food, shelter, and monkey companionship that makes a difference, it is also the care, compassion and respect each of them is given by their human caregivers.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

give it the winning lottery ticket!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 8, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Been volunteering at Jungle Friends for a while now, not only are all in their care taken care of exceptionally well the staff are truly dedicated in what they are doing. Thank You Jungle Friends

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We welcome all ages (over 18) and skills. If you have a passion for animals, we will find you a job to do at Jungle Friends. Outdoors, indoors, or even from your home computer, we can use your help. We love interns and volunteers! Volunteer