Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
103 Reviews
1234.825245
Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review
September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
September 26, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Having just spent three days at Jungle Friends, I think you should know that it is one of the most extraordinary sanctuaries I have ever visited. The dedicated staff, mostly volunteers, takes care of more than 100 monkeys with enthusiasm and careful attention to detail. Director Kari Bagnal has tremendous spirit and knowledge--she's great with animals and people! Jungle Friends is a model primate sanctuary; I've never seen so many contented, calm monkeys and so many staffers loving their work. The place is pristine; the monkey habitats are spacious and inventive. I encourage everyone to support this place, which I hope expands to help more monkeys in need. There are so many!
Elizabeth Hess, author Nim Chimpsky: The Chimp Who Would Be Human

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I visited the facility and I have tracked a few recent rescues.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am hoping that their budget can grow. The director is attracting some of the best people in the field and they need salaries. The place could expand into surrounding land.

September 8, 2014

more

September 8, 2014

Kari and her staff run the best primate sanctuary in the world! The monkeys eat the healthiest food, have the most spacious and beautifully enriched habitats. My volunteer time here has been some of the most joyful periods in my life. The food is 100% vegetarian and mostly vegan in support of all living beings! Kari manifests miracles for primates here!
December 11, 2013

more

December 11, 2013

I have been a proud sponsor of several Jungle Friends monkeys for many years. I am welcome to visit the sanctuary to see where my donations go and I also get to help prepare breakfast and clean lots of monkey poop! The director is one of the most amazing women I have ever met and she attracts amazing people to the sanctuary. I have never seen so many dedicated, and compassionate people in one place! If you are looking for a good charity who will use your money wisely and prudently, this is the place! If you are looking for an incredible place to volunteer, Jungle Friends is your best bet!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them get more land so they can rescue more monkeys!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My sister brought her monkey here 13 years ago very ill with diabetes..she stayed for a few months to make sure her baby was comfortable and happy there...she has always received the upmost care and has been thriving for years...I had the pleasure of visiting myself a few years ago and couldn't believe all that goes on in a days work!! The love and care the workers give each and every animal is amazing to me..my sister has since moved there since she loved the sanctuary so much and works there everyday..i can not wait to go back and visit...I only wish I lived close by I would be more than proud to volunteer there myself..but I can only donate once in a while to show my respect for them and their hard work...Christmas is coming and I will be sending bags of nuts..they are truly doing Gods work and anyone who has a problem with that should search their soul before mouthing off negativity....the people that I know who work there give from their SOUL everyday to give these animals the dignity and love they deserve and were deprived of for many years.....God bless the workers there!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

For quite awhile now I have been a donor for Jungle Friends, and finally had a chance to volunteer last week. I knew whatever jobs I would be asked to do would be something to help the monkeys. what a great experience! I was amazed at what the monkeys eat, some fresh fruits and veges and monkey soup (more fruit and veg) and then biscuits. Some have diabetes ad they get special diets and also get their food 3 times a day. Monkeys are messy!! There is a lot of cleaning needed--every day. The staff are amazing, not just friendly and wiling to answer questions, but their care for the monkeys is so obvious! I'm looking forward to a chance to get back again soon.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

don't know what could be changed.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer when I am in Gainesville visiting some regular volunteers. I love helping at Jungle Friends. The monkeys know the longtime volunteers and it is so funny to hear them scream greetings when my friends arrive. The staff and interns are very busy with a zillion things and volunteers are needed to help them. Time flies when you volunteer here because there is so much to do.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

nothing

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I volunteered with a group from UF last month and we all have a wonderful experience and plan to come back again. What we were most impressed with were how knowledgeable the staff and interns were. The Director even met with us explaining some of the future projects that were in the works at the sanctuary.Everyone was very patient with us, answering all of our questions thoroughly, we all left with a new appreciation for monkeys and all the hard work that goes into caring for them. If you are looking for a rewarding experience, you will find it at Jungle Friends!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

My group volunteered for Jungle Friends about three weeks ago and really enjoyed it! The staff was kind and engaging and seemed to have a real passion for the monkeys! The monkeys are very well taken care of; each shares a spacious enclosure with a couple other monkeys and is given toys, hammocks, and a variety of shelters and branches to swing from. The staff explained that the monkeys are paired based on positive relationships formed with other monkeys, so each has a friend. The happiness and comfortability, in addition to the monkeys' health and well-being, are important to the staff here. They seem dedicated in making this a "sanctuary" for the monkeys, and I feel as though they have greatly succeeded!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

Our group had a great experience at Jungle Friends. We went as part of a service club trip which I led. I had tried contacting a number of animal rescue/sanctuaries around Gainesville, but Jungle Friends was definitely the most responsive. After the trip, everyone wanted to come back again, so we will be coming back in the next few months. Overall, definitely a very rewarding and interesting experience.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 10, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I placed my monkey at Jungle Friends in 2003, stayed with her for 10 weeks and have visited her often over the years. I moved to Gainesville in 2013 and have been at the sanctuary every day since. Please come out and witness firsthand what incredible care these lucky primates receive every day of the lives. It takes a whole lot of caring people to run such a great sanctuary, please come out and make a difference.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

have more volunteers

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3...10 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

We welcome all ages (over 18) and skills. If you have a passion for animals, we will find you a job to do at Jungle Friends. Outdoors, indoors, or even from your home computer, we can use your help. We love interns and volunteers! Volunteer