Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
17 Reviews
1234.882355
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 30, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 30, 2014

Juna Amagara changes lives. It was founded and is operated by compassionate hearts that have given everything for the cause of the children who would otherwise have little or nothing at all. It's the redemptive arm of love that is not just bringing the sometimes ethereal side of heaven to earth like hope, peace, and joy, but it is truly bringing good news to the poor, oppressed, abandoned, outcasted, forgotten, malnourished, uneducated, undereducated, sick, fatherless, and hungry in very tangible ways. Now that's glimpse of heaven. I give JAM five shooting stars.
August 13, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 13, 2014

February, 2010 found me (along with five others from our church in Central Iowa) in Uganda for two weeks working with Juna Amagara Ministries. The long ‘road’ there had some ‘ob-stack-les’, plenty of adventure, and great treasure, some of which we sought, but mostly about which we didn’t have a clue!

The treasure was the PLACE -the Pearl of Africa, the PEOPLE -who God must’ve been thinking of when he pronounced his creation of mankind very good, and the POSSIBILITIES.

Oh, the possibilities. What one dollar can do to build schools and orphanages is astounding.

But pssst: Here’s the real treasure: sponsoring an orphan who is herself/himself a treasure, full of wonder and gratitude. Yep. A buck a day for wonder and gratitude.

Oh, and did I mention that I got WAY more than I gave? How do you put a price on a new perspective?

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

none

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

August 11, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 11, 2014

My daughter and I recently traveled with a missions team from the U.S. to Uganda to assist the Juna Amagara ministry schools and Care Points. It was truly an amazing experience!! The ministry leaders and staff were so loving, kind and welcoming. The children opened their minds and hearts to us as we sang, taught and shared our lives with them. This ministry is making a positive impact in the lives of those in the communities and surrounding area they serve. God's blessings on your obedience to Him and the faithful work of your hands!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Not change a thing!!! They're doing a fantastic work for the Lord!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 10, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 10, 2014

Juna Amagara Ministries does a terrific job of caring for and educating orphans. It is amazing what the ministry can do with a $35 monthly donation to support a child. The child is also nurtured with strong Christian principles. I did visit a few of the care points in Uganda and the love shown to the children is amazing.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014

more

August 8, 2014

My wife and I first went to Uganda in 2009 at the invitation of Rev. Dr. Ben Tumuheirwe, founder of Juna Amagara Ministries. As a Certified Financial Planner and Registered Investment Advisor, licensed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, I carefully research the organizations I contribute to with the same diligence that I research investments. Since that first visit I have returned to Uganda, met with the children we are sponsoring, and monitored the progress of Juna Amagara. I have seen that the dollars I have invested in Juna Amagara have been leveraged and multiplied many times over in changed lives. The passion of Dr. Tumuheirwe and the commitment of all the Amagara staff is incredibly inspirational. There is no sure thing in the stock market. But investing in Juna Amagara Ministries is as close to a sure thing as I have ever seen. The results are dramatic; children with no hope have been given hope and a future, introduced to a relationship with Jesus, given an education and medical care, and included in a loving supportive community. When Jesus told us that caring for the least of these is caring for him, this is exactly what he meant.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Increase the support so that the staff in Uganda would have a salary that would allow them to survive, while doing their teaching and taking care of the children.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

I have been sponsoring a child in Uganda for about 6 years. I regularly receive correspondence from her and enjoy seeing her grow and learn. I visited the children's home in Mbara a number of years ago and was extremely impressed with the work that Juna Amagara is doing for the children of Uganda. God bless this ministry and all of the wonderful work they are doing with children whose lives have been changed by AIDES.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 7, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 7, 2014

My wife (Amanda) and I had a very organic introduction to Juna Amagara (JAM). We basically discovered their website through some intentional online searches for Ugandan ministries and orphanages. By reading and interacting with the various media, stories, and information on their website, we contacted JAM and told them of our interest for the two of us to visit Uganda and partner with their ministry. That was the summer and fall of 2008.

In the early spring of 2009, the two of us boarded and plane and landed in Uganda, having never met any JAM staff beforehand, except through email and phone calls. It was easily one of the very best decisions we have ever made a married couple.

We returned again in 2011, and our goal is to keep returning every other year, based on finances and availability. In fact, we even hope to spend at least a year with JAM in a partnership role in Uganda.

We have made lifelong friends through the hospitality and shared common vision between the staff at JAM and ourselves. We miss our close friends when we are not there, and have subsequently had the blessing of hosting Rev. Dr. Ben and other staff members while they are in the US for visits.

If you are contemplating a trip or partnership with JAM, you will have a life changing experience that will help you see all of the graceful and powerful work that is happening through JAM in Uganda. If you can go, please go. The staff and ministries at JAM, and ultimately the people of Uganda, will love having you visit and partner with them. You will love it as well. - Wes Wilson

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 5, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 5, 2014

My first experience with Juna Amagara was in 2010. My trip to the Pearl of Africa that year changed my life as I left a piece of my heart there. Eventually I decided to spend a year serving with Juna Amagara in their ABIDE program (Amagara Bible Institute of Discipleship and Evangelism). This is a unique 6-month residential discipleship program for high school graduates. We have students from all over Uganda, and have even expanded to Rwanda and Kenya. Several students come from Juna Amagara's schools and child sponsorship program. The vision is to see students transformed in Christian faith, character, and leadership. The mission is to equip students to study and apply God's Word, mentor them in life decisions, and send them to serve Christ in their church and community. Our curriculum includes classes in Bible interpretation, Spiritual Leadership, Business, Life Skills, and more. From the classroom, to household chores, to weekend outreaches, everything is training in being disciples of Christ, and making more disciples. There are currently 112 ABIDE alumni, and it's exciting to see the impact God is having in and through them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 4, 2014

Juna Amagara Ministries is amazing from A to Z. They are helping the people, children especially, in Uganda in all aspects of life. They care about their spiritual, physical, emotional, and mental well-being.

I was able to help influence people's live through education, health care,
improving quality of life, and prayer.

If I had the time and money I would visit and volunteer in Uganda and with the people of JAM on a regular basis. They made me feel like family.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

August 4, 2014

more

Review from Guidestar
August 4, 2014

I commend the work of Juna Amagara Ministries, I cant forget the 12/01/2009 when I was selected ot join a discipleship program under JAM. I was a broken boy who had grwn with out parents through my life. Life full self hared, bitterness and yet I was bornagain. Christ himsel used the JAM staff in loving mem, teaching me the work of God, and fully supporting me through my university education. This is something I had never dreamt of in my life. I am nolonger the hopeless boy who full of bitternes because I know am loved. I know belon to a family that cares and that family is JAM.
I am now independent at work, I suppport my seld with full optimism that was like a dream to me. I cant express the work JAM did in my life.

God bless the vision of JAM and I pray that all the staff will be blessed

Medard Akankwasa

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Strengthen the monitoring and evaluation of projects, and impliment long term planning(investments to establish self sastainance

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Quite well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers