Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
14 Reviews
123.8571445
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
May 26, 2014

more

May 26, 2014

I had to spend the night at joy junction one night last year...it was horrible. The mat they gave me was very thin...I am a diabetic and had a low glucose crisis and they couldn't give me any juice..They did drive me to the hospital the next morning. Also, Jeramy Reynalds is prejudice. The news reported that a gay and lesbian organization collected 5000 dollars to donate but Reynalds refused to take it because it was from a G & L organization...I will never donate there...

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

new leadership that is not prejudice

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Somewhat badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteer at the shelter weekly, helping serve lunch. My contacts with staff, i.e. Diana, Blythe, and Barbara in the office have been so warm and positive. They truly care about the homeless under their care and guidance and treat everyone with kindness. Helping the less fortunate than myself has truly opened my eyes to the struggles the homeless face daily. Joy Junction gives them a roof over their heads, a place to clean up, food in their stomachs and a hope for the future.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

definitely get new buildings and in dire need of maintance.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did this volunteer experience make you feel?

learning about the lives of the homeless and what their struggles are. In chatting with them, it brings tears to my eyes and heart. They are so thankful for what they are being given

September 3, 2012

more

September 3, 2012

I did volunteer work at Joy Junction, and had an unpleasant experience. The lady supervising me, Joy, was extremely rude and critical. I stayed busy the whole time, and yet she still criticized the order I was doing things-why does it matter what order I do the tasks in, as long as I am staying busy? There was also paint in the sinks that would simply not come all the way off, and she attacked me for not being able to get the sinks spotless. I was also given a rude look because I declined to lead the prayer when asked, but I am shy and it was my first time there, so I simply did not feel comfortable. I am appalled that a place like a homeless shelter, which is supposed to be compassionate, would treat its VOLUNTEERS this way. People who are freely giving their time, keeping its doors open. The front office was also not warm or friendly. Joy was also rude to the homeless people. I am shocked. I give my time freely and I am attacked by this woman multiple times in a 3 hour period.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

No

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Somewhat badly

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

No

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

When I worked in the downtown Albuquerque area, I encountered many homeless men, women and whole families. When I referred these people to Joy Junction, I knew they would be taken care of. Winter in Albuquerque is very harsh, the homeless are cared for and given the respect and aid they need.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

Joy Junction has helpful volunteers that help you to know what the specific needs of the homeless here in the area. I appreciate that they give the homeless the opportunity to work for the shelter as well.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

Joy Junction is a very disgusting place, My wife and I stayed there last week and we were given 2 mats to sleep on and 1 blanket, no pillows or towels! We were assigned mats 22 and 23 right next to the coffee machine table and under the tray return window, this is the most disgusting place to be in any restaurant and we had to sleep there! As soon as the lights went off the cockroaches came out by the hundreds! The back of the coffee machine was covered with roaches, the walls were crawling and we were pushing ourselves away from the wall as far as possible! We didn't get much sleep either between the constant coughing and snoring we were watching the wall for roaches and just feeling creeped out, did I mention how disgusting this place is? I was wide awake at 4am and wanted a shower, in part 'cause I was feeling kind of crawly and I just plain needed a shower, the attendant told me they didn't have any towels and I should come back at 6am when the next shift came in "they have the towels" ok I sit patiently till 6am and go back up and asked the new shift for a towel "their all dirty, we wont have any till after 9 or 10am". So I cant even take a shower, No sleep, No diner, No shower and I was ready to go at 7am when breakfast was served, 1 packet of flavored oatmeal and a strawberry, I had to wait in line to get milk for my oatmeal and a carton of OJ, I have to admit I drank the coffee and all I could think of was how many roach legs and arms and bodies my coffee had been filtered threw. While I was having breakfast I told the people at the table about our experience and everyone had already known about the coffee machine they told us that the woman sitting beside the machine is paid $25 per week to guard it, they charge $1.00 per cup for roach infested coffee. Thank God the cup I was drinking didn't come out of that machine!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A little

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

No

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Badly

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I recently donated some baby formula after I saw a request on Facebook. I'm glad that they accept material donations instead of just monetary because I have two kids so I always have things to give away. I would rather put my items to good use instead of just throwing them out. Not long after I sent my donation there was another request for baby formula, so I know that my donation was used for someone who needed it. I've got boxes of clothes and I will be using this organization again to put them to good use.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have convenient drop off centers around town. I live an hour away.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

Baby formula shortage

Why did you make your donation at this time?

Urgency

What would you tell others about this organization?

This organization really cares about the people it serves.

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I have chosen to support Joy Junction for one simple reason. They care! I have been donating my efforts to many different charities for years and I know when people are sincere and want to help. I feel comfortable contributing to such a great organization.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Likely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 5, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Joy Junction is such a blessing to the Albuquerque community! They do so much with so little, and they have made the difference in thousands of people's lives over the years. The more I learn about Joy Junction, the more I want to help. I have attended their events and am finally going to get out with them in the community to help feed the homeless and the hungry. Joy Junction is one of the best organizations I have ever come into contact with. God bless them and their work in our community!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 5, 2011

more

December 5, 2011

I have a family member who has benefited from the services that Joy Junction provides. They are an outstanding asset to our community.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Help serve a meal, then integrate and interact with our residents.