Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
38 Reviews
1234.947375
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 26, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

With a small budget, Journey's End Ranch Animal Sanctuary does great work. They save animals that most other sanctuaries don't take and give them the life they deserve.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 15, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

I've been a supporter of JERAS for well over a year and Cathy's commitment to the animals in her care is a constant source of amazement to me. In spite of her own physical trials, her unstinting dedication to the animals in her care is inspiring. Not content to ensure a long and well cared for life for her current charges, Cathy always has "an ear to the ground" and seems to find the most needy creatures just at a critical juncture in their lives. That they find their way to her kind and loving ministrations is one of life's wonders and makes me sure she was put here on earth with a great, if humble purpose, that she is fulfilling more than could be imagined. If we believe that making life better, one small increment at a time, is a goal worth striving for, then Cathy exemplifies the essence of that belief and the world is a much better place for it. cm

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 13, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is an amazing feat of true love at Journeys End Rand and Sanctuary. All types of animals with a wide variety of problems from neglect to abuse so severe it makes some animals unwanted at other facilities have been rescued and rehabilitated st JERAS. Something as simple as a thyroid problem/fear of abusive people that do unimaginable things to defenseless animals. Cathy opens her heart and soul to injured animals be it physical ,emotional, or mental and lets them know they have a safe healthy life with her without fear or pain. She is the most wonderful person I have the honor of knowing. I will help her in any way I can, above and beyond our monthly contributions. Her love for these animals is over flowing and I believe blessed by God.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

jeras is the best , they save many awanted horses and horses that's hard to place, id recommend everyone to contact them if you need help or have a question about horses.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
November 7, 2012

I am a nonprofit Administrator and have known Catherine Ritlaw of JERAS for over 40 years. She has always had a special gift and compassion for animals in need and, after completing her degree as a Ve... more

April 7, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

As a nonprofit administration professional, I want to unequivocally endorse JERAS for the work that they do, their commitment to saving animals that no one else wants, and their fiscal responsibility. I have known their Executive Director, Catherine Ritlaw, for more than 30 years and know that she is not only an accomplished veterinary tech but also has had years of study and hands on experience with the rehabilitation of large and small animals.
This small nonprofit has no payroll as all donations and grants are funnelled back to the organization and Catherine is the only worker. The number of animals that she is able to save both on-site and by networking with other rescue organizations is very impressive. She does a lot with a little and should serve as a model for what can be done!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012

I am a nonprofit Administrator and have known Catherine Ritlaw of JERAS for over 40 years. She has always had a special gift and compassion for animals in need and, after completing her degree as a Vet Tech, I am so pleased thaat she is using her expertise to rescue and rehabilitate animals that otherwise would have been euthanized. Kathy provides a well-run, loving sanctuary and is familiar with all best-practices for such an endeavor. Due to severe chemical sensitivities brought on by years of undiagnosed lyme disease, Catherine cannot be around other people and so operates the sanctuary entirely by herself. Many of the animals are at the end of their normal life span and so are not adoptable. Catherine continues to make improvements to her property for the animals but relies entirely on donations to do this and supply food and healthcare for the many that rely on her and the generosity of those who love animals from all over the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I am a Nonprofit Administrator with 40 years of experience working with and for Nonprofit organizations. I fully understand the need for transparancy with donors as well as maintaining a low overhead and operating expenses. I also have known Catherine Ritlaw for the same number of years and can attest to both her love for animals and her knowledge and skill in their care and treatment. What is being done at JERAS needs to be replicated as a national model. These are the animals that no one else wants, many are unadoptable and yet they can live out their final years at Journey's End in peace and knowing that they are loved. Because of a disability, Catherine does all the work herself without help as she cannot be exposed to everyday chemicals and additives which are toxic to her. The Ranch needs additional financial support so please do not hesitate to give from your heart. - Thanks!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 17, 2012

I have worked with Cathy Ritlaw for almost three years now. I continue to be amazed at the sheer determination with which she faces each day. Due to severe chemical sensitivities and significant other... more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Cathy Ritlaw for several years. I have been so impressed with her commitment, not only to her animals and Sanctuary, but to daily increasing her knowledge of animal physiology, medicine and nutrition , that I recently accepted a position serving on the JERAS Board. She has done so much to improve the lives of the animals that come to her. JERAS is not just a a place to go, it is a place where each animal is brought back to the highest level of physical soundness possible. Cathy takes care of all the animals herself regardless of her personal severe medical issues. I cannot say enough in support of Cathy and Journey's End Ranch Animal Sanctuary.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with Cathy Ritlaw for almost three years now. I continue to be amazed at the sheer determination with which she faces each day. Due to severe chemical sensitivities and significant other health issues, Cathy must usually work alone to care for the 10 horses, 7 burros, one ram, one pot bellied pig and 10 dogs. Her personal expenses are paid for with a small disability check. All outside monies raised go exclusively to support the animals in her care. She pays herself no salary, quite unheard of these days. Cathy has garnered an amazing knowledge of health and nutritional issues for both herself and her animals. She has brought animals back from the brink due to this knowledge.

When she is not taking care of horses, burros, ram, pig and many dogs, she works tirelessly to find dogs that can be referred out to specific rescue groups. I have no idea how many of them she has saved this way, but it must be in the hundreds by now. I have nothing but the deepest respect for the care, love and dignity she gives to those animals lucky enough to find a home with her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 17, 2012

I have know Catherine for several years and it is unbelievable what she does for the animals in her care. She takes care of these animals by herself despite her health issues. In reading her newlett... more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Catherine Ritlaw does a tremendous job of rescuing and caring for the horses, dogs and burros at her sanctuary. She does all this work alone and therefore puts in very long hours. Her photos and videos of the animals show many "happy" faces. These animals are healthy and impecably groomed. We need more people like Catherine who cares so much for the animals. She also puts in many hours on the internet promoting rescues by networking with other people with the same mission. It is an honor to be a donor.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have know Catherine for several years and it is unbelievable what she does for the animals in her care. She takes care of these animals by herself despite her health issues. In reading her newletter and looking at the photos of all the animals, you can tell they are all loved and well cared for. She also spends numerous hours on the internet reaching out to other people and rescue groups to assist animals that are about to be put down in shelters., animals that have been abused or just abandoned. She is a blessing to all animals in need and I admire her so much.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 10, 2012

I am an equine artist who donates a portion of my sales to horse rescues. I am honored to be able to donate to Journeys End Ranch. It is obvious that Cathy loves her charges and does everything in her... more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Journey's End Ranch Animal Sanctuary is a wonderful rescue. Cathy does an amazing job caring for her numerous animals. She gives them the love and care they need and deserve. She has truly made a safe haven for them.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am an equine artist who donates a portion of my sales to horse rescues. I am honored to be able to donate to Journeys End Ranch. It is obvious that Cathy loves her charges and does everything in her power to give them not only the best care, but lots of love. For these animals, many who have come from abusive situations, Cathy's wonderful home must seem like heaven. The world is a better place because of Journeys End Ranch!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Catherine Ritlaw does an awesome job of taking care of numerous rescued horses, burros, dogs and a pot belly pig rescued from wandering around in the middle of the desert. There is no better Animal Rescue Sanctuary in America.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 5, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

As a horse lover and animal lover, I am so impressed with the operation of the Journeys End Ranch Animal Sanctuary. The dedication and care is tremendous and really is a symbol of total devotion and patience. If you look at some of the videos, it is amazing to see how the animals live in such a clean and well maintained location. I understand how difficult it is to manicure all of these animals, and how much time is spent just getting them fed and watered. I say, Bravo, to Cathy. I would trust her with any of my animals anyway. Lynne

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers