Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
69 Reviews
1234.884065
Write A Review
March 3, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
June 2, 2014

The information provided by GuideStar about grants is a little misleading. All $33,000 of grants were received, and for the most part, used in 2012. No grants were received in 2013. Since that time, w... more

March 3, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been working with Cathy and Journeys End for over 5 years now. I now serve on the Board as well. I am always amazed at the care and consideration she has towards all the rescue animals she has taken in and given a permanent home. She works constantly to expand her knowledge about hoof care and nutrition. She counts every penny, but always makes sure the animals have the best possible care. I cannot say enough great things about her and the Sanctuary!
June 2, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The information provided by GuideStar about grants is a little misleading. All $33,000 of grants were received, and for the most part, used in 2012. No grants were received in 2013. Since that time, we have relied on donations from individuals to fund the sanctuary operations. Individual support has always been the bedrock for running the sanctuary. With grants and other avenues of support continuing to dry up, our donors are even more important. Thanks so much for your continued support! (June 2, 2014)

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have known Cathy Ritlaw for several years. I have been so impressed with her commitment, not only to her animals and Sanctuary, but to daily increasing her knowledge of animal physiology, medicine and nutrition , that I recently accepted a position serving on the JERAS Board. She has done so much to improve the lives of the animals that come to her. JERAS is not just a a place to go, it is a place where each animal is brought back to the highest level of physical soundness possible. Cathy takes care of all the animals herself regardless of her personal severe medical issues. I cannot say enough in support of Cathy and Journey's End Ranch Animal Sanctuary.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 17, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I have worked with Cathy Ritlaw for almost three years now. I continue to be amazed at the sheer determination with which she faces each day. Due to severe chemical sensitivities and significant other health issues, Cathy must usually work alone to care for the 10 horses, 7 burros, one ram, one pot bellied pig and 10 dogs. Her personal expenses are paid for with a small disability check. All outside monies raised go exclusively to support the animals in her care. She pays herself no salary, quite unheard of these days. Cathy has garnered an amazing knowledge of health and nutritional issues for both herself and her animals. She has brought animals back from the brink due to this knowledge.

When she is not taking care of horses, burros, ram, pig and many dogs, she works tirelessly to find dogs that can be referred out to specific rescue groups. I have no idea how many of them she has saved this way, but it must be in the hundreds by now. I have nothing but the deepest respect for the care, love and dignity she gives to those animals lucky enough to find a home with her.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

March 3, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
June 29, 2014

JERAS takes in any animal that needs help. She has a burro, pigs, horses, dogs, cats and others. It is amazing how Catherine and her ranch make the difference in life and death. more

March 3, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have been following Journey's end ranch for several years. The animals that are saved that come here is marvelous. They are given a chance at life. If you can't visit them follow them on Facebook and see what a wonderful life saving place this is.
June 29, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

JERAS takes in any animal that needs help. She has a burro, pigs, horses, dogs, cats and others. It is amazing how Catherine and her ranch make the difference in life and death.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing she has nailed it but needs donations.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

March 3, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 3, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

Journey's End is truly the end of a journey for many, many animals that would not have otherwise made it. Catherine Ritlaw, a former vet tech, is able to give them stellar care, lots of love, and truly cares about their wellbeing. When there is an animal in pain, or in need of rescue and a safe, forever home, Journey's End and Catherine are there for them whenever it is humanly possible. I recommend this charity with no hesitation....
February 28, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 28, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Journeys End Ranch Animal Sanctuary provides a permanent home for many animals that may have been euthanized or slaughtered simply because they had nowhere else to go.
February 27, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

Although Journey's End specializes in horses and burros, they did a wonderful job rehabbing an emotionally damaged dog that was rescued from a hoarder.
February 27, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

more

February 27, 2015
1 person found this review helpful

I have heard nothing but wonderful things about these people! Well run, and truly care about the animals.
February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more


3 previous reviews - show all
April 7, 2013

As a nonprofit administration professional, I want to unequivocally endorse JERAS for the work that they do, their commitment to saving animals that no one else wants, and their fiscal responsibility.... more

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I have been a nonprofit administrator for 30 plus years and have known Catherine for that long plus some. She has tirelessly devoted her life to animals and now with Journeys End Ranch, she takes those that are the tough cases, the ones that others don't want. She does all this by herself as she must live solitary due to an extreme allergy condition. She takes no salary and keeps overhead to a minimum. She is a trained vet tech and can provide excellent medical attention. I highly recommend JERAS as an excellent nonprofit.
April 7, 2013
5 people found this review helpful

As a nonprofit administration professional, I want to unequivocally endorse JERAS for the work that they do, their commitment to saving animals that no one else wants, and their fiscal responsibility. I have known their Executive Director, Catherine Ritlaw, for more than 30 years and know that she is not only an accomplished veterinary tech but also has had years of study and hands on experience with the rehabilitation of large and small animals.
This small nonprofit has no payroll as all donations and grants are funnelled back to the organization and Catherine is the only worker. The number of animals that she is able to save both on-site and by networking with other rescue organizations is very impressive. She does a lot with a little and should serve as a model for what can be done!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 7, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I am a nonprofit Administrator and have known Catherine Ritlaw of JERAS for over 40 years. She has always had a special gift and compassion for animals in need and, after completing her degree as a Vet Tech, I am so pleased thaat she is using her expertise to rescue and rehabilitate animals that otherwise would have been euthanized. Kathy provides a well-run, loving sanctuary and is familiar with all best-practices for such an endeavor. Due to severe chemical sensitivities brought on by years of undiagnosed lyme disease, Catherine cannot be around other people and so operates the sanctuary entirely by herself. Many of the animals are at the end of their normal life span and so are not adoptable. Catherine continues to make improvements to her property for the animals but relies entirely on donations to do this and supply food and healthcare for the many that rely on her and the generosity of those who love animals from all over the world.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012
5 people found this review helpful

I am a Nonprofit Administrator with 40 years of experience working with and for Nonprofit organizations. I fully understand the need for transparancy with donors as well as maintaining a low overhead and operating expenses. I also have known Catherine Ritlaw for the same number of years and can attest to both her love for animals and her knowledge and skill in their care and treatment. What is being done at JERAS needs to be replicated as a national model. These are the animals that no one else wants, many are unadoptable and yet they can live out their final years at Journey's End in peace and knowing that they are loved. Because of a disability, Catherine does all the work herself without help as she cannot be exposed to everyday chemicals and additives which are toxic to her. The Ranch needs additional financial support so please do not hesitate to give from your heart. - Thanks!

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
October 16, 2012

I have known Cathy for 50 years as we grew up together. Even as a child her care giving skills were obvious. She does nothing halfway, the animals in her care get her full attention all of the time. S... more

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful sanctuary where the animals are cared for by a knowledgeable devoted woman. Catherine Ritlaw has been devoted rescuing animals since a very young age. I know first hand as she had a menagerie at times in our apartment in the Bronx. If you look at the before and after pictures of the animals she has rescued you can clearly see that she is fierce in her determination that these animals live out their lives with the best food , shelter and tender loving care .
October 16, 2012
3 people found this review helpful

I have known Cathy for 50 years as we grew up together. Even as a child her care giving skills were obvious. She does nothing halfway, the animals in her care get her full attention all of the time. She nurtures them back to health so that they can live out their lives with quiet dignity. She did this for a long time without asking for help. She puts the animals first before her own needs. Just look at those animals in her care and you can see they are happy and thriving. She deserves anything that would help continue this noble pursuit.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
November 8, 2012

I've been involved with JERAS for about a year as a donor. I am very impressed with how it is run and the care that the animals receive. more

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

What a great animal group. I have been a donor for a number of years. Catherine is a wonderful animal advocate and always has the best interest of the animals in mind. I am confident that the donations I have made over the years have always been used wisely. I highly, highly recommend JERAS.
November 8, 2012
4 people found this review helpful

I've been involved with JERAS for about a year as a donor. I am very impressed with how it is run and the care that the animals receive.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

more

February 26, 2015
2 people found this review helpful

I got to know Catherine & her rescues from FB. Everyone of them has improved in every way, i.e. health, happiness, fitness, etc. since she took them in. It truly is a haven for unwanted animals that need a loving home. Her dedication & devotion is matchless! If I were a horse or burro, for sure that's where I'd want to go!!!!!
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers