Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
7 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I was a teacher at Joseph Steuart's middle school when he was diagnosed with leukemia. Although I was not one of Joseph's teachers, I would see him in the hallways between classes and I was always impressed by how he tried to continue at school, even when he clearly did not feel well. I was also impressed by the support he received from the other students. Joseph was a very special person to many people around the school. When he passed away, the students insisted on creating a memorial to him. They planted a tree in his name and created a plaque that was displayed in the lobby where everyone could see it every day. I met Joseph's parents when we were designing the plaque. When they decided to create Joseph's Journey and they invited me to be a part of it, I hesitated only because I know so little about hunting or camping that I wasn't sure how much I would be able to contribute. I'm glad that I did decide to go ahead with it because I'm extremely proud of what Joseph's Journey has been able to accomplish. The Steuart family went through a terrible ordeal, and instead of trying put the experience behind them, they have tried to ease the burden of families in similar situations. They have always kept the wants and needs of the Journey recipients first and foremost, and they have unhesitatingly set aside their own problems and sorrows to satisfy those wants and needs. They have kept Joseph's Journey true to the mission statement we drafted all those years ago, and I hope we will be able to remain true to it as we expand our group and the services we can offer.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 21, 2014

more

July 21, 2014

I started out volunteering at the Joseph's Journey annual fishing derby in 2013. This was such a powerful and moving event for me, I asked to volunteer again in 2014 but wanted to do more. I was encouraged to see if I could help increase the toy donations that we give to kids who participate in the derby and that was it... I was off and running, reaching out and talking to people about this great organization. I have since been asked to participate on the board of JJ and I'm working to impact change and grow the awareness of JJ and the great things that we do for kids and their families.

I'm looking to help get the word out about what we do as an organization and look forward to helping more kids take a trip with us and creating great memories during a difficult fight.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 3, 2014

more

July 3, 2014

My name is Kerry but everyone calls me Papa Bear!
I am the Journey Coordinator with Joseph's Journey.

I became involved with Joseph's Journey after my Granddaughter, Bethany, passed away at 4 1/2 years old from brain tumors.....and all she ever wanted to do was to go hunting with Papa
Bear. She never got the chance.

I saw Kim Steuart, President and Founder of Joseph's Journey), on the 7 Every Day Hero segment of our local news talking about doing hunting and fishing trips for kids that are suffering from terminal or life-threatening illnesses. I had to seek him out.

I did....two weeks after I saw Kim on TV, there was an ad in the newspaper for a need for volunteers.
Volunteers were needed to help for the Joseph's Journey Annual Fishing Derby.
The rest, as they say, is history!!!

To me, it's all about giving these kiddos a chance at something normal, away fro hospitals and treatments. It's all about helping them to have at least one minute, or more hopefully, that they actually forget that they are sick!!!!! It's all about their smiles, and giving them something that they have dreamed of doing!!!

We, as volunteers, are just that. There are no paid staff, or overhead in Joseph's Journey, so everything that is donated goes to benefit the children.

And there is nothing more gratifying than to hear these kids tell me "I love you Papa Bear!!!"

Sometimes, kiddos lose their battle.......but they had a memory, and their parents do to!!!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have more access to hospitals, clinics and treatment centers.....so that more people could be aware of what Joseph's Journey provides.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

Their annual fishing derby for children with serious illnesses is wonderful.
A great time for the whole family.
Everything is provided, equipment, lunch, snacks, beverages.
There is an archery range, clowns, face painters, laser shooting, police depts, fire depts, fishing pros. etc.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow so more people know about it.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 2, 2014

more

July 2, 2014

Joseph's Journey helps children with terminal and life-threatening illnesses have an outdoor experience. To forget about their medical treatments and have a chance to be a child again if only for a short time.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Help it grow and become more well known.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 18, 2009

more

April 18, 2009

Joseph’s Journey is an organization dedicated to providing outdoor experiences to children with terminal and life-threatening illnesses, which was started in memory of Joseph Steuart who lost his battle with leukemia in 2000. Joe enjoyed the outdoors and all it had to offer, so his family (father Kim, mother Vickie, and sister Teresa) started Joseph’s Journey to allow other children with terminal and life-threatening illnesses the chance to enjoy the outdoors. Everyone in the organization is a volunteer, which ensures that more children receive an outdoor experience. Joe Steuart was a former student of mine. I had the privilege of being Joe’s band director from elementary school though middle school. When Joe was in 8th grade, he was diagnosed with leukemia and passed away within seven months. Following his death, Joe’s parents found a secret stash of money Joe had earmarked for a caribou hunt he never was able to realize. This was the impetus to begin Joseph’s Journey. I supported Joseph’s Journey financially for many years, and continued to help the organization more since my retirement from public school teaching. In 2008, I was asked to join the Board of Directors. Since this is a non-profit organization, everything functions through donations of money, goods, and services and through the time and efforts of a large group of volunteers. There are two annual fundraisers, a winter silent auction held in conjunction with Joseph’s former middle school music department and a garage sale in the summer. The third event is a yearly fishing derby that is a fun-filled day for all children under 21 years of age who are suffering from a terminal or life-threatening illness. The 2008 fishing derby set a new record with over 150 children and their immediate family members in attendance. The event was held at a private lake that had been recently stocked and children were all smiles and giggles as many trout, bluegills, and bass were caught and released that day. As a new board member, I was very touched by what I saw that day. Kim, Vickie, and Teresa are very committed and passionate in their service to these children. Some of the kids that came could barely walk and others were in specialized wheelchairs. I am sure these kids spend many of their days in the hospital or confined indoors. They were so excited to attend the fishing derby and you could sense they could forget, at least for a little while, about their challenges. It was a beautiful day and the kids and their families were so polite and appreciative of this opportunity to be outdoors. Joseph’s Journey works to fulfill the outdoor dreams of children. Wilderness experiences might be hunting, fishing, hiking – it is only limited by the imagination of the child. The journey usually will be for the child and one guardian, as we cannot accommodate the expense to include the entire family. We use only experienced, qualified guides and outfitters to provide these journeys, and we cover all costs including travel and meals. We make all the arrangements, so all the child and guardian have to do is show up at the correct place and time. To date, Joseph’s Journey has provided thirty journeys to very deserving children. Joseph’s Journey would welcome your help in locating families with a child suffering from a terminal or life-threatening illness, as perhaps they are unaware of who we are and all we have to offer. If you know of such a family, please feel free to share this information with them or their doctor.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

the joy they bring to many terminally ill children and their families.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

April 16, 2009

more

April 16, 2009

Joseph's Journey helps children with terminal and life-threatening illnesses enjoy the outdoors. Once a year they also hold a fishing derby for these children and their families. The children have a great time and forget about their illnesses and the challenges they have if only briefly.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The one on one journeys they provide to the children and I have seen the joy the children have at the annual fishing derby

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

Being able to help children with terminal illnesses forget about their challenges and have some fun and a chance to be a child.

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

very helpful and dedicated to their mission and helping the children

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

Bring joy to the many more children who suffer from terminal illnesses by offering them a wilderness journey of their choice.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers