Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Previous | Next
Write A Review
January 22, 2014

more

January 22, 2014

I am a Jewish Feminist global activist who using the Jewish Women's Archives as a resource both personally and professionally as a public health nurse and health reporter.
It is where I can find academic resources, great tools for the global activism I am involved in and make a call to them
when I need something for an interview or personal Jewish life event.
Glad they exist.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Without this organization, the stories of Jewish women would be lost . Since JWA was established, Jewish women are being reclaimed and are becoming part of the telling of history. The website offers accessible information and provides information and role models for girls growing up today.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make the website easier to navigate. It is extremely content heavy which is good since it is an indication of what is being recaptured and told, but it needs a design update.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2009

more

October 31, 2009

Jewish Women's Archive is an extraordinary organization that does unique work and fills a much-needed role. No other organization is compiling now what will in future be the history of Jewish women, and nowhere else is there this rich treasure trove of information about Jewish women up till now - to explore, dip into, or immerse oneself in, depending on the need or the mood. It is an incredibly versatile and precious resource. JWA's Jewish Women's Encyclopedia in particular is something I make frequent use of, and refer others to. It is an extraordinary and wonderful piece of scholarship. I can barely imagine the landscape of Jewish feminist history and knowledge without the JWA.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

extraordinarily devoted, smart, and creative.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 30, 2009

more

October 30, 2009

What's remarkable about JWA: first, the only organization I've every dealt with in which everyone (board and staff) has put aside personal matters and concentrates on the JWA tasks at hand. Second--this lack of self-importance has made JWA flexible, open and remarkably effective. Its web-site and newsletters are always interesting, never static. I've learned a lot about the ways history intersects with private and public life. I'm particularly impressed with the way it uses direct means (meetings, study guides, conferences) in conjunction with web-based opportunities. Open 24/7, no appointments needed--who could ask for a better organization?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Preparation for a child's becoming bat mitzvah

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the lack of vanity or self-importance in staff and board

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

varied, but all interested in the intersection of history with the moment and the individual

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

strengthen its web presence; do more public face-to-face programs; prepare more down-loadable materials for teachers

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 12, 2009

more

October 12, 2009

I helped create a pilot project for the archives at the beginning of its' exploration of how best to outreach to a broad audience for stories, funding and expansion of a core idea and ideal. It took shape as an oral history project, an art exhibit, and a historical exhibit and it involved three organizations working together to bring about this very rewarding community event. It was replicated in two other cities and proved to be a successful event.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Exceptional educators, historians and innovators looking to engaged women at all levels, and to document their lives with repsect and great care.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers