Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
36 Reviews
1234.972225
Write A Review
October 7, 2013

more

October 7, 2013

The history of Jewish women in rural Minnesota is a unique one with unique challenges. Looking for documents and photographs in an archives or online is one matter. However, when I had the opportunity to interview a family about their mother, the JWA helped me find the right questions and techniques for an oral interview. They encouraged me in my research and answered my inquiry in a very timely manner.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 7, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I work for a non-profit in Kansas. We are encouraging uninsured people to enroll for health insurance on the Marketplace. JWA had a unique and invaluable photograph from 1964's Freedom Summer that we thought would help encourage volunteers. We contacted JWA and they were wonderful. They helped us get the permission we needed to use the photo. Many website are hard to contact and unresponsive but JWA was great!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 11, 2013

more

May 11, 2013

A friend put me onto the Jewish Women's Archive when I was hunting for material for a Master's dissertation on Madam Gertrud Bodenwieser who was my dance teacher's teacher. I completed the MA but the material spilled over into PhD studies which I am pursuing presently. I have used the Archive's invaluable resources for numbers of leads and have been sent off on many research twists and turns, often making unexpected connections as a consequence. Furthermore, I have received prompt and very useful advice from Mr Stephen Benson with enquiries outside the scope of the Archive. I hope the work of augmenting the Archive continues so that younger researchers may avail themselves of its treasures and even contribute to it.
Jan Poddebsky
Sydney

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 31, 2009

more

October 31, 2009

Jewish Women's Archive is an extraordinary organization that does unique work and fills a much-needed role. No other organization is compiling now what will in future be the history of Jewish women, and nowhere else is there this rich treasure trove of information about Jewish women up till now - to explore, dip into, or immerse oneself in, depending on the need or the mood. It is an incredibly versatile and precious resource. JWA's Jewish Women's Encyclopedia in particular is something I make frequent use of, and refer others to. It is an extraordinary and wonderful piece of scholarship. I can barely imagine the landscape of Jewish feminist history and knowledge without the JWA.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

extraordinarily devoted, smart, and creative.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About once a year

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 30, 2009

more

October 30, 2009

What's remarkable about JWA: first, the only organization I've every dealt with in which everyone (board and staff) has put aside personal matters and concentrates on the JWA tasks at hand. Second--this lack of self-importance has made JWA flexible, open and remarkably effective. Its web-site and newsletters are always interesting, never static. I've learned a lot about the ways history intersects with private and public life. I'm particularly impressed with the way it uses direct means (meetings, study guides, conferences) in conjunction with web-based opportunities. Open 24/7, no appointments needed--who could ask for a better organization?

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Preparation for a child's becoming bat mitzvah

More feedback...

What I've enjoyed the most about my experience with this nonprofit is...

the lack of vanity or self-importance in staff and board

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

varied, but all interested in the intersection of history with the moment and the individual

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

strengthen its web presence; do more public face-to-face programs; prepare more down-loadable materials for teachers

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 22, 2009

more

October 22, 2009

JWA afforded me an opportunity to express my thoughts and feelings after my Mother passed away, the year after Katrina. I read and reread my thoughts over and over. It is very comforting. Since that time, I follow the site and have found, it to be an organization that expresses and extols the achievements of a Jewish woman. There are great among us and their stories must be told.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Bright and informative...even the interns!

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 22, 2009

more

October 22, 2009

JWA has inspired a new direction in both my interests and my teaching. The beautifully crafted summer teacher workshops they conduct have opened a door to a world of expansive resources and collegial connections which I have only begun to plumb. I have changed direction in the electives I offer to upperclassmen at the school where I teach, because the support of the website and the publications of JWA provide me with the materials and confidence I require to take this new curricular direction.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

of the highesst quality. They are responsive, professional, and incredibly inventive and cutting edge in their approaches.

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

change the way women are seen--in history and in the world.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every week

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

Since discovering JWA my teaching and personal life have been incredibly enriched. The work done by the JWA is much needed and fills the gap in knowledge about the experiences of Jewish women in America. What an incredible resource! I frequently find myself telling friends and collegues to check out the website.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Warm, knowledgeable, open to new and creative ideas.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 15, 2009

more

October 15, 2009

As a historian, I am deeply grateful to JWA for raising awareness of the important, vibrant history of American Jewish women, for contributing to the community by building an incredibly rich website, and for undertaking vital projects such as the oral histories of women from particular American Jewish communities.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

inspiring in their enthusiasm, passion, and dedication.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

October 14, 2009

more

October 14, 2009

With minimal financial support, JWA has organized a treasure of previously neglected and largely unknown American history, made it accessible to the public easily via the Web, and vigorously promoted the availability and the value of this history. In its work, the JWA has activated and engaged a segment of the population that has not previously been involved in "history." Consequently, it has created a new market for new (neglected) American history. This is no small feat; and one of great importance in an age where "history" is yesterday and "ancient history" is last year.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

technology and in their (electronic) publications

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

Most professional and very dedicated

If this organization had 10 million bucks, it could...

become the leading popolarizer of history in the American Jewish world

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every six months

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers