Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
19 Reviews
1234.526325
Write A Review
August 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I haven't got a job yet, I am still looking, but I know I am way better off in this quest thanks to the support I am getting from the JVS people! It might take me a while to find my new job, but it won't be because I haven't got the best help! I knew from the get go that I had found I fantastic team to support me in my transition. I actually started attending the JVS WorkSoource Center in West Hollywood, LA before being laid off. So, when the moment I was let go arrived, it wasn't so traumatic. By then, I knew I was already in good hands. I found JVS thru a friend, and every time I talked to her I thanked her for the referral. Now I want to recommend JVS to any one in a similar situation. It is a fantastic organization to help in your work transition. I just hope that public funding doesn't penalize the people that work and struggle to help others in such difficult time as it is looking for a way to make a living.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you find this group?

From a friend's referral

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

They encourage me to change my set of mind when planning and implementing an strategy to direct my job search.

June 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

June 4, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I've been an ongoing client of the MDR Work Source Center. The local HOA Adm. Asst. position that I had been working at for 2 years recently ended. The position was being restructured to an Accts. Payable position. The day after the position ended, I went to the MDR Work Source Center to register. Right from the beginning, I was very impressed with the professionalism of the case manger, account executive & others that I dealt with. It's now several months later & I just found out that I'm starting a long term temp assignment at a nearby company. I'm very excited about this new opportunity! I would have never gotten through the job search process without the support of the MDR Work Source Center. Kudos to all of the employees that continue to help job seekers on a day to day basis!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 14, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I had recently lost my job due to a department closure. I took some time to think about different career paths that would be good for the type of skills that I had. I was introduced to a program called BankWork$ that is run by JVS, I applied and was enrolled in the 8 week course. LIFE CHANGING!!!!!!!!! The program taught me how to utilize my skills and apply it to the banking industry. The instructors Lisa Meadows and Maria Zuniga were extremely helpful. Lisa and Maria guided the class step by step on how to interview, dress for success, show personality and how to succeed as a teller. After completing the course I was able to interview with all of the banks that sponsored the program. I received many offers and decided to become a team member with Wells Fargo. I love my new career and I know that I will go far and continue to climb the ladder of success. I thank JVS for creating such programs that change and empower people’s lives. -----------Courtney, Los Angeles California

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

December 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 13, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

After taking the BankWork$ Training Program I was different. I wasn't the same girl as before. This program changed the way I think and the way I feel about myself. I beacme more confident, I believe in myself now. Im not scared to go to job interviews anymore. One thing that i really loved about this program was that it prepares you for the job amd how to take control of some situations. Another thing was, I found/saw a lot of things that I didnt see about myself before.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

August 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 16, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Contrary to what the latest review might say....I have actually had a very good experience. I am a veteran of the military and for the past two years (since I got out) I have been struggling to find work in my main career field (film/television/radio). As anyone knows jobs in said field(s) are hard to come by...VERY hard. But, with the JVS WorkSource Center team I worked with in Marina Del Rey (Julie Freeland in particular) I was able to "slam dunk" a job at Chipotle. Now, make no mistake it was a lot of hard work and as the Beatles put it a "long and winding road..." it is interim success while finishing my BA in Television Production at Cal State Northridge. And for that I thank the entire WorkSource Center team.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

obtaining a job

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If anything, it'd be to meet with clients at least once a year so things and people don't get lost in the shuffle at least a phone call -- which isn't to say that JVS WorkSource Center didn't do that....but there times where I just seemed to forget all about them.

July 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 25, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Your staff in Glendale is rude and unprofessional. They are treating the public which they are getting paid to service like they are dirt. And your security company "searching" your customers, is highly uncalled for. This isn't a prision. What are you thinking with not providing parking either? I would suggest you go examine your facility and staff. It's a nightmare.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

see above

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

see above

July 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 1, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

"It takes a village"

Mentors, counselors, supporters and friends,

I’m writing to tell you that today I received and accepted a job offer for a Corporate Event Specialist position.

As you know it’s been a long, arduous journey and I couldn’t have made it without all of the
help I got along the way. For that, I am forever grateful.

My job search didn’t really start to turnaround until I reached out to readily available resources: the JVS Wo-Mentoring program and the Dress for Success Going Places Network course. While support from friends and family is important, it was having access to a network of job search specialists that really made the difference for me. Whether tweaking my resume and cover letters, mock interviews, fine-tuning my elevator speech or just plain giving me the confidence that I was “hireable.” You were all my champions and as the title of my email suggests, sometime it does take a village to turn the corner. In my case, it did.

The first day of my new job is July 11. I don’t think you need to wish me luck because I already consider myself one lucky girl to have had all of you on my side.

Sincerely,

Lauren

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

The mentoring program greatly assisted me in securing employment

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I have no suggestions. The organization went above and beyond on my behalf.

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 31, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

Three weeks ago I was offered a course in Fiber-Optic training. To qualify I had to take a battery of tests at one Worksource, provide a copy of my driving record and, of course, all the usual documentation required of a job at another.

I jumped at the chance to take this class because
I've been interested in this technology for years. Not knowing what to expect I showed up for the class as required.

What a shock. The instructor has been working in the industry for nearly his entire professional career. He knew every answer, gave tips not covered in the (quite excellent documentation), and answered any and all questions. He was quite the task-master, but always had time to help us work out whatever our issues were and help us through the course.

About the course. It was a very complete blend of lecture, question and answer and "real world" hands on. The hands-on always followed the lecture and was always relevant to the topic we just learned about.

it was intense, often running over eight hours a day with at least four hours of homework per night, but it was worth it. I not only feel competent in the "book learning," but in possible field situations as well.

I now hold three certificates, am a member of the Fiber Optic Association and will be getting a tool-kit very shortly. Best of all I have some experience in working with fiber and feel completely at ease in this complex and interesting environment.

Did I say the instructor was excellent? I don't think Worksource could have found a better trainer than Mr. Pruett.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I was pleasantly surprised by the caliber of the trainer, the course, the level of detail, and supplies and expendables supplied. We were quite literally surrounded by tens of thousands of dollars worth of equipment at our disposal to train with.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They are very paper-work intensive, but have to be in order to get the financial backing required. If I could change this I would, but WorkSource requires the documentation for funding.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

How did you find this group?

I helped recruit people for the U.S. Census through this group.

What, if any, change in your life has this group encouraged?

Not to give up.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

February 14, 2011

more

February 14, 2011

To All Concerned,

I was at the West Hollywood (CA) Worksource attending a workshop. After the workshop, I went into the computer lab (called the CRC). I was just printing out extra copies of my resume and checking my email. Well, the person who works there as the CRC "monitor," was
monitoring my information (exclusively) while I was on the computer.

Again I ask, if I am a "nobody," then why was this person monitoring me while I was on the computer? I know that these facilities have the "right" to monitor whoever they want, but this person was only monitoring me. The person must have seen something that I was doing, because they laughed and ran to tell someone something about what he saw while I was on the computer.

Bottomline, if any of my personal information gets out, I am not concerned about myself. I can protect myself. If any one of my family members is hurt because one person took it upon themselves to expose what they saw me doing on a computer monitor, then you better get more security to protect BP. He can leave the country all he wants to. I will be here when he gets back. I am not playing. That is okay. No one asked me if I was playing or not. The problem is, you are not taking me seriously.

Every time you mess with me, I will tell the whole world about it. It is about time that you realize that "THE PEN IS MIGHTIER THAN THE SWORD." Obviously I was blessed with the "gift of gab," along with the ability and opportunity to use "the pen," because look how everything is turning out. The exact thing that you are trying to take away from me - Is what I am using to "bring you all down." Let me tell you something: I am tired of people bitching at me for telling the truth. I told you all that this was going to happen.

The ones who you sent to "finish me off" are starting to cry, and b*@$h, and moan. I DO NOT WANT TO HEAR IT! I warned them over and over and over and over again - that this would be the outcome. They would not listen. They got cocky from everyone patting them on their backs. They were playing for stripes.

I do not "play for the other team." Ask them. They are the ones who have kept me from having a female. I have been in L.A. for (9) months. Last time I checked, it takes a woman about (9) months to have a baby. I could have been a father by now theoretically. I have met over (100) women over the last (9) months. One of these women could have wanted to marry me by now. These haters are taking it upon themselves stop me, but they are paying a dear dear price for it. One that I do not think they are willing to pay.

They are calling my childhood friends that I have known since I was (10) years old. People who I grew up with. I know their parents, their grandparents, great grandparents, cousins, uncles, nephews, nieces, ect. They are telling them horrible things about me that are not even true, and they are threatening them. How does that make me look? How does that make me feel?

How does that make them look? I know...You do not care, and neither do I. I will continue to dismantle whoever gets in my way. I told you that I was COLD. I am one of the coldest individuals on the planet. I see why you do not want me to have any money - BECAUSE I WOULD HANDLE YOU.

I must let you all know that GOD is in control. He is guiding me every step of the way. Say I am crazy now. I am still alive. I am winning - not whinning. Peace,

Gary P Smith

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

More than once.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Keep it real.

December 12, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

more

December 12, 2010
1 person found this review helpful

I was referred to JVS about a year ago because I needed help writing a resume after taking off nearly 10 years to stay home with my kids. I was interested in finding part-work, but since all my past work experience had been as a photographer for various magazines and publishing companies, I had never needed a resume.

While at JVS' offices, I was introduced to their communications director who enthusiastically perused my portfolio and tear sheets from past jobs. I have been shooting events for them ever since.

In a challenging job market, I walked into JVS hoping to find something that might fit both my abilities and my schedule. What I found was a new client that is both creative and SO worthwhile- this organization is doing amazing things that truly turn people's lives around.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

When I needed work, they hired me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I honestly cannot think of any.

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers