Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Write A Review
November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Earlier this month, CVS Caremark Pharmacy provided Flu shots for 82 individuals through JVS’ onsite Wellness Works Program. CVS has been a part of JVS’ health program for the past six years providing preventive screenings for blood pressure and glucose at JVS’ annual health fair and flu shots every fall. My experience with JVS has been a very positive one. They take the time required to make the necessary accommodations to ensure even their most vulnerable clients receive the health services they need. Whether it’s an elderly woman in a wheelchair coming for a glucose screening or a young man attending English language classes receiving a flu shot , JVS’ dedicated staff is always available to provide the needed support. I highly recommend JVS’ Wellness Works Program as an exemplary model for worksite wellness programs targeting disadvantaged populations. CVS looks forward to an ongoing relationship with JVS providing health services to those with the greatest need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Working for the East Orange Health Department as a registered nurse, I have collaborated with JVS since 1990, providing preventative health services such as blood pressure and HIV testing and health education workshops . Knowing I am helping improve health outcomes for individuals with disabilities and language barriers gives me great satisfaction. The JVS health and wellness program is well organized and specifically targeted to the needs of these vulnerable clients. I have great admiration for the dedicated JVS staff who meet regularly with clients to discuss their health concerns and ensure they are getting the appropriate follow-up care. I professionally and personally value involvement in JVS programs to promote "Health and Wellness" and recommend that other local healthcare providers participate as well. Karen Johnson-LaRussa

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I am a physician in Essex County. I have extensive experience working with poor and marginalized persons in Chicago, NYC, and Cite Soleil, Haiti. I know firsthand the many challenges faced when undertaking what can be a most ominous task, and I have been duly impressed with the terrific work being done at JVS. Clients are treated respectfully and with kindness. They seem genuinely happy! By reaching out to those persons with disabilities as well as those who attend English as a Second Language classes, the agency provides on-site preventive services, health education and an annual health fair. I enjoy speaking with JVS clients and students during workshops when I share tips on living a healthy lifestyle, eating right and preventing heart disease. I am happy to support JVS in any way I can to ensure this program continues to flourish in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Adam Kimowitz, DMD (Board Member)

JVS is doing great work providing preventive health services for its clients with disabilities and language barriers. My partner and I provided free oral screenings to nearly 100 individuals at JVS’ Annual Health Fair We also identified dental problems
and encouraged clients to follow-up their dentist of choice. As a JVS board member, I was glad to be a part of the 2012 health fair and commend JVS staff in their efforts to organize this highly successful event. JVS had been touching the lives of individuals in need since 1939. I have been on the JVS board for several years. During those years, I have seen JVS expand their service offerings to include not only the Wellness Works Healthcare Initiative but also a Career Center for Individuals Diagnosed with an Autism Spectrum Disorder, two entrepreneurial ventures employing individuals with disabilities, new programs for immigrants and refugees from all over the globe, and much, much more. Regardless of the program, JVS’ highly trained staff is truly dedicated to their clients. I would definitely recommend JVS’ services to all those who could benefit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers