Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
11 Reviews
1234.909095
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
November 29, 2012

more

November 29, 2012

Through this class I am learning more about Microsoft Products and how they work. At JVS I am learning the new features of Powerpoint. I am now able to use the various commands and features to create brochures, fliers, speeches and presentations. This will benefit me as a Support Group Leader. It will also give me an edge over others in the job hunt as move to another role in the Real Estate field. My JVS computer teacher is great. In addditon, my job counselor helps me develop my resume, prepare for interviews and provides individualized career counseling and support.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 28, 2012

more

November 28, 2012

Earlier this month, CVS Caremark Pharmacy provided Flu shots for 82 individuals through JVS’ onsite Wellness Works Program. CVS has been a part of JVS’ health program for the past six years providing preventive screenings for blood pressure and glucose at JVS’ annual health fair and flu shots every fall. My experience with JVS has been a very positive one. They take the time required to make the necessary accommodations to ensure even their most vulnerable clients receive the health services they need. Whether it’s an elderly woman in a wheelchair coming for a glucose screening or a young man attending English language classes receiving a flu shot , JVS’ dedicated staff is always available to provide the needed support. I highly recommend JVS’ Wellness Works Program as an exemplary model for worksite wellness programs targeting disadvantaged populations. CVS looks forward to an ongoing relationship with JVS providing health services to those with the greatest need.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 27, 2012

more

November 27, 2012

Currently, I am a board member at Jewish Vocational Service; however, my link to this organization goes back to 2006. My son, 24 years young in the winter of '06, was suffering and later hospitalized due to mental illness. After a stay at Morristown hospital and a step down program in Paramus my son came home. We searched for an environment that would help him continue not only to improve but also to contribute to his community. I needed a place, as any parent will tell you, where my kid was safe and surrounded with people who cared for him. We found all of that at the J.V.S. in East Orange. When I go to work in the morning I have no fears that my son is in a unsafe or uncaring situation. I know and I have confidence that my son is with people, whether it is his counselor or job mentor or whoever, he is with a staff who really watch over for him. He is now in his sixth year at J.V.S. as a client and I am now starting my second year as a board member.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 13, 2012

more

November 13, 2012

Working for the East Orange Health Department as a registered nurse, I have collaborated with JVS since 1990, providing preventative health services such as blood pressure and HIV testing and health education workshops . Knowing I am helping improve health outcomes for individuals with disabilities and language barriers gives me great satisfaction. The JVS health and wellness program is well organized and specifically targeted to the needs of these vulnerable clients. I have great admiration for the dedicated JVS staff who meet regularly with clients to discuss their health concerns and ensure they are getting the appropriate follow-up care. I professionally and personally value involvement in JVS programs to promote "Health and Wellness" and recommend that other local healthcare providers participate as well. Karen Johnson-LaRussa

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a student at JVS. I want to thank you for the information I got about how not to get the Flu. This is very important for my family's health. Everyone at JVS helps me a lot. I tell my friends about how I like JVS because I want them to come here. Thanks again!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 12, 2012

more

November 12, 2012

I am a student of ESL Class at JVS. Besides learning English, I have an opportunity to have my health control. The "Wellness Works" program helped me to get some screenings like mammogram and flu shot. I also attended health-related seminars ( Flu, AIDS). I don't have any medical insurances and it was a big help to me. I also want to say many thanks to the program coordinator Ella for helping all of us. It is very important to take care of my health.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

As a volunteer in the Grants Department, I worked with hightly intelligent and capable professionals. Thaks to them, I gained exposure to a field new to me and had the opportunity to learn how to transfer some of my existing skills to this field. I have great respect for the Grants Department and the high caliber of the work it produces.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 8, 2012

more

November 8, 2012

I am a former employee of JVS, and have enormous respect and admiration for the people who work at this agency. They really do "help people help themselves" every day -- whether they are providing healthcare case management onsite to clients with disabilities, resettling refugees from Darfur, preparing individuals with autism spectrum disorders for employment, offering computer and other skills training, or providing counseling and job placement services to unemployed workers.

JVS provides skills and services -- on a non-sectarian basis -- that allow their clients and families to live more more independent, fulfilling lives. They I'm very proud of my association with this high-touch nonprofit, and will continue to recommend it to friends and associates in need of its services.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 7, 2012

more

November 7, 2012

I am a physician in Essex County. I have extensive experience working with poor and marginalized persons in Chicago, NYC, and Cite Soleil, Haiti. I know firsthand the many challenges faced when undertaking what can be a most ominous task, and I have been duly impressed with the terrific work being done at JVS. Clients are treated respectfully and with kindness. They seem genuinely happy! By reaching out to those persons with disabilities as well as those who attend English as a Second Language classes, the agency provides on-site preventive services, health education and an annual health fair. I enjoy speaking with JVS clients and students during workshops when I share tips on living a healthy lifestyle, eating right and preventing heart disease. I am happy to support JVS in any way I can to ensure this program continues to flourish in the future.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 27, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Adam Kimowitz, DMD (Board Member)

JVS is doing great work providing preventive health services for its clients with disabilities and language barriers. My partner and I provided free oral screenings to nearly 100 individuals at JVS’ Annual Health Fair We also identified dental problems
and encouraged clients to follow-up their dentist of choice. As a JVS board member, I was glad to be a part of the 2012 health fair and commend JVS staff in their efforts to organize this highly successful event. JVS had been touching the lives of individuals in need since 1939. I have been on the JVS board for several years. During those years, I have seen JVS expand their service offerings to include not only the Wellness Works Healthcare Initiative but also a Career Center for Individuals Diagnosed with an Autism Spectrum Disorder, two entrepreneurial ventures employing individuals with disabilities, new programs for immigrants and refugees from all over the globe, and much, much more. Regardless of the program, JVS’ highly trained staff is truly dedicated to their clients. I would definitely recommend JVS’ services to all those who could benefit.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers