Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
116 Reviews
1234.887935
Write A Review
December 9, 2014

more

December 9, 2014

As a client, I found all aspects of the SUCCESS program beneficial. The workshops were informative, my Career Strategist provided excellent (and candid) career guidance and inspiration, the Wednesday SUCCESS meetings were opportunities to network with other SUCCESS participants and speakers and to exchange information regarding job search status and events.

I think that it is important to take advantage of any opportunity that provides one with exposure, job leads, chances to learn new skills (and/or improve existing ones) and support.

I appreciate the efforts of the entire SUCCESS team - each person contributed to this wonderful outcome (a new job) in his/her unique way and I am grateful.
November 23, 2014

more

November 23, 2014

This was my second stint with JFS. Both times, they were a tremendous help dealing with job loss. They offer workshops to improve and/or work on resume writing, interview skills, networking, and psychological help during your transition. All workshops are professionally done and very informative. The weekly get-togethers on Wed. mornings are a good reason to get out of the house, share your challenges and listen to success stories. It is a great way to network, also.
November 14, 2014

more

November 14, 2014

I received services from Jewish Family Services as part of their SUCCESS program. The SUCCESS program helps professionals who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own. They assist with resumes, cover letters, networking and interviewing skills.

This is an extremely valuable
service. If you are a blue collar worker, the state will bend over backwards to find you a job, but if you are a professional, you are on your own.

The weekly group meetings are invaluable. Unemployment can be a very isolated experience. The group lets you know you are not alone. JFS will do everything to give you the support you need to find employment.

My education really worked against me in this job search (overeducated), but with the help of JFS, I have landed my "dream job". I am with a very stable company making a great salary, great benefits and doing the work I want.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

After serving as a Board Member of several organizations during my career, I have been very impressed with the leadership of JFS as well as the diverse nature of the Board. Their focus on managing resources to deliver on the mission of holistically helping diverse clients has yielded a high return of value to the community relative to the investments made by donors.

Further, members of my family have utilized some of the services offered by JFS. Each experience met and exceeded expectations.

I am proud to be part of this great organization.
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I AM A SINGLE WOMAN OVER 50 . I LOST MY HUSBUN TO CANCER IN 2012 AND MY JOB OF 15 YEARS IN SEP OF 2013. ALONE AND FEELING A GREAT ABANDONMENT IN TEARS AND TRULY UPSENT IN BEING FORCED TO CHANGE AND TREATED LIKE I WAS WORTLESS BY A FORTUNE 500 COMPANY THAT CARES NOTHING ABOUT LOYALTY AND ABOLISHED JOBS AND PEOPLE TO SAVE SHORT TERM MONEY. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOT JFC SO I WANT STRAIT THERE GOOD THING. THE ADVICE AND INFORMATION AND SUPORT THAT I RECEIVED HELPED ME COPE AND FOCUS. YOU WILL GET A CAREER CONSULTANT YOU WILL MEET PEOPLE IN YOUR SAME BOAT IN THE MORE PROGRAM, YOU CAN GET YOUR GROVE BACK AND FIND YOUR SELF. YOU WILL FIND OPPORTUNITIES AND INPROVE YOUR JOB SEARCH SKILLS AND BE READY FOR THAT NEW CHAPTER IN YOUR LIFE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I was referred to Jewish Family Service's SUCCESS program by a coworker of my wife after my position was eliminated in the defense sector. They do a phenomenal job offering classes in resume writing, networking, and interview skills. The mock interviews provided by the staff made the difference in obtaining an internship and then full time job. I cannot thank Justin Keaton and the rest of the staff enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I was recommended to the Jewish Family Services SUCCESS program when I became unemployed. I found their help to be comprehensive including classes, group support, individual counseling, access to job openings, and referrals. At the time of my job loss, I was still adjusting to life after the death of my spouse the previous year, I found my adviser Justin and others at JFS SUCCESS to be understanding, caring, and helpful to me as a whole person. It was so helpful to have support and direction.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

After being wrongfully terminated Sheila gave me back my hope. I had gone through four interviews without getting a call back. I called her up to get registered and also explained that I had a phone interview that evening. She spent an hour on the phone explaining interview tips and her suggestions got me a face to face interview.
I have three college degrees. I did not think I needed their help. Plus, I did not want to tell one more person my nightmare. I could not have been more wrong. Talking to Sheila gave me back my power. She empowered me with the tools necessary to get the job done. She also explained that my resume was "old-fashioned"! She gave me more tools to modernize my resume. Her compassion and professionalism was amazing coming from a complete stranger!
I also loved the signs on the wall that read "we do not help everyone...oh wait yes we do help everyone!"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start a location closer to my house!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

JFS is a remarkable place. No matter what your religion is, you are welcome here to work on your career development, take classes, and hone interviewing skills. The JFS specialists are enthusiastic, smart and compassionate. Cannot speak highly enough of this nonprofit. Hurray, JFS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at all. This is a well-oiled machine. When clients offer suggestions (e.g., that a bike rack would be helpful) -- voila! -- I was told a bike rack out front will be arriving in the next few months. This is an organization that listens to people -- at all levels.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The day after I lost my job, in November 2013, I made a call to Jewish Family Services; I had always heard wonderful things about their programming to help those who were unemployed. What I'd heard didn't even come close to explain the amazing support, training, and resources I would receive in the coming weeks! Those working at JFS truly care about their clients and are always eager to answer questions, provide assistance, and recommend further resources. During my time in JFS' S.U.C.C.E.S.S. program I attended weekly support meetings with speakers; trainings to learn about LinkedIn, resume writing, interview techniques, and more; a MicroSoft computer class; and I got networking like I've never networked before. The S.U.C.C.E.S.S. program and its coaches are what got me through a sometimes very tumultuous time of my life. I would never hesitate to return, should the need arise, and I strongly encourage others to avail themselves of their services!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers