Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
120 Reviews
1234.883335
Write A Review
March 31, 2015

more

March 31, 2015

My journey started when I realized my career was just not for me. Think about that for a second; everything I have done up to this point has gotten me to where I am and now I am switching directions?! It could be an absolutely terrifying ordeal but thanks to the JFS staff it wasn't. Through personality/career assessments, resume tweaking etc. I started to realize who I am and what work environment fits for me. After about 5 months of soul/job searching I am happy to say that I have just recently accepted an offer and I feel this is the right step for me. I want to thank everyone involved including Fred Points, Malka Bendor and a special thanks to Melissa Holcomb! She goes above what is expected and truly looks for ways to help in this process. She is there every step of the way and puts herself out there as a life-line at any given time. She is extremely resourceful, always has positive attitude and consistently checks in! Based on my experience, I would highly recommend utilizing the JFS if you are looking to make a career change or just want information. What do you have to lose?
March 30, 2015

more

March 30, 2015

My friend referred me to Jewish Family Services to seek help in professional development and learning the steps to be successful in a career search. I attended a job search strategy and "Ace the Interview" workshop which were very beneficial. I sought personal services from the young professional division. Melissa and Malka were extremely helpful and professional in helping me prepare for a more career oriented role. Last week, I was offered a position as a Quality Assurance Analyst, which was a promotion from my role as a Customer Service Representative with my current employer. With the knowledge and skills gained during the workshop and sessions with the young professional division, I could not be more grateful from the incredible assistance I received from JFS.

Thank you for your help and I am looking forward to staying in touch!
March 25, 2015

more

March 25, 2015

An employment search is a journey that for many can be a daunting task. At times, it can be difficult to keep finding new ways to move forward. The SUCCESS Program at Jewish Family Services has put together a team of intelligent professionals that genuinely care about you and your search. They not only provided customized support to help with my search, but their seminars and workshops on interviewing, networking, resume writing all combined to enhance my job search skills. My career counselor provided invaluable advice and support and even set up a mock interview customized to the job’s specific requirements. I recently landed a great job directly due to the support and advice I received from this team.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2015

February 1, 2015

more

February 1, 2015

I received invaluable help in landing a job after a long break to start my own business. They were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and the best part is that they walked with me every step of the way. I could not have done it without them. I am so grateful for an organization like this.
December 9, 2014

more

December 9, 2014

As a client, I found all aspects of the SUCCESS program beneficial. The workshops were informative, my Career Strategist provided excellent (and candid) career guidance and inspiration, the Wednesday SUCCESS meetings were opportunities to network with other SUCCESS participants and speakers and to exchange information regarding job search status and events.

I think that it is important to take advantage of any opportunity that provides one with exposure, job leads, chances to learn new skills (and/or improve existing ones) and support.

I appreciate the efforts of the entire SUCCESS team - each person contributed to this wonderful outcome (a new job) in his/her unique way and I am grateful.
November 23, 2014

more

November 23, 2014

This was my second stint with JFS. Both times, they were a tremendous help dealing with job loss. They offer workshops to improve and/or work on resume writing, interview skills, networking, and psychological help during your transition. All workshops are professionally done and very informative. The weekly get-togethers on Wed. mornings are a good reason to get out of the house, share your challenges and listen to success stories. It is a great way to network, also.
November 14, 2014

more

November 14, 2014

I received services from Jewish Family Services as part of their SUCCESS program. The SUCCESS program helps professionals who have lost their jobs through no fault of their own. They assist with resumes, cover letters, networking and interviewing skills.

This is an extremely valuable
service. If you are a blue collar worker, the state will bend over backwards to find you a job, but if you are a professional, you are on your own.

The weekly group meetings are invaluable. Unemployment can be a very isolated experience. The group lets you know you are not alone. JFS will do everything to give you the support you need to find employment.

My education really worked against me in this job search (overeducated), but with the help of JFS, I have landed my "dream job". I am with a very stable company making a great salary, great benefits and doing the work I want.
October 23, 2014

more

October 23, 2014

After serving as a Board Member of several organizations during my career, I have been very impressed with the leadership of JFS as well as the diverse nature of the Board. Their focus on managing resources to deliver on the mission of holistically helping diverse clients has yielded a high return of value to the community relative to the investments made by donors.

Further, members of my family have utilized some of the services offered by JFS. Each experience met and exceeded expectations.

I am proud to be part of this great organization.
October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I AM A SINGLE WOMAN OVER 50 . I LOST MY HUSBUN TO CANCER IN 2012 AND MY JOB OF 15 YEARS IN SEP OF 2013. ALONE AND FEELING A GREAT ABANDONMENT IN TEARS AND TRULY UPSENT IN BEING FORCED TO CHANGE AND TREATED LIKE I WAS WORTLESS BY A FORTUNE 500 COMPANY THAT CARES NOTHING ABOUT LOYALTY AND ABOLISHED JOBS AND PEOPLE TO SAVE SHORT TERM MONEY. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOT JFC SO I WANT STRAIT THERE GOOD THING. THE ADVICE AND INFORMATION AND SUPORT THAT I RECEIVED HELPED ME COPE AND FOCUS. YOU WILL GET A CAREER CONSULTANT YOU WILL MEET PEOPLE IN YOUR SAME BOAT IN THE MORE PROGRAM, YOU CAN GET YOUR GROVE BACK AND FIND YOUR SELF. YOU WILL FIND OPPORTUNITIES AND INPROVE YOUR JOB SEARCH SKILLS AND BE READY FOR THAT NEW CHAPTER IN YOUR LIFE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I was referred to Jewish Family Service's SUCCESS program by a coworker of my wife after my position was eliminated in the defense sector. They do a phenomenal job offering classes in resume writing, networking, and interview skills. The mock interviews provided by the staff made the difference in obtaining an internship and then full time job. I cannot thank Justin Keaton and the rest of the staff enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers