Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
112 Reviews
1234.892865
Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review
October 13, 2014

more

October 13, 2014

I AM A SINGLE WOMAN OVER 50 . I LOST MY HUSBUN TO CANCER IN 2012 AND MY JOB OF 15 YEARS IN SEP OF 2013. ALONE AND FEELING A GREAT ABANDONMENT IN TEARS AND TRULY UPSENT IN BEING FORCED TO CHANGE AND TREATED LIKE I WAS WORTLESS BY A FORTUNE 500 COMPANY THAT CARES NOTHING ABOUT LOYALTY AND ABOLISHED JOBS AND PEOPLE TO SAVE SHORT TERM MONEY. A FRIEND TOLD ME ABOT JFC SO I WANT STRAIT THERE GOOD THING. THE ADVICE AND INFORMATION AND SUPORT THAT I RECEIVED HELPED ME COPE AND FOCUS. YOU WILL GET A CAREER CONSULTANT YOU WILL MEET PEOPLE IN YOUR SAME BOAT IN THE MORE PROGRAM, YOU CAN GET YOUR GROVE BACK AND FIND YOUR SELF. YOU WILL FIND OPPORTUNITIES AND INPROVE YOUR JOB SEARCH SKILLS AND BE READY FOR THAT NEW CHAPTER IN YOUR LIFE.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I was referred to Jewish Family Service's SUCCESS program by a coworker of my wife after my position was eliminated in the defense sector. They do a phenomenal job offering classes in resume writing, networking, and interview skills. The mock interviews provided by the staff made the difference in obtaining an internship and then full time job. I cannot thank Justin Keaton and the rest of the staff enough.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 4, 2014

more

August 4, 2014

I was recommended to the Jewish Family Services SUCCESS program when I became unemployed. I found their help to be comprehensive including classes, group support, individual counseling, access to job openings, and referrals. At the time of my job loss, I was still adjusting to life after the death of my spouse the previous year, I found my adviser Justin and others at JFS SUCCESS to be understanding, caring, and helpful to me as a whole person. It was so helpful to have support and direction.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 16, 2014

more

June 16, 2014

After being wrongfully terminated Sheila gave me back my hope. I had gone through four interviews without getting a call back. I called her up to get registered and also explained that I had a phone interview that evening. She spent an hour on the phone explaining interview tips and her suggestions got me a face to face interview.
I have three college degrees. I did not think I needed their help. Plus, I did not want to tell one more person my nightmare. I could not have been more wrong. Talking to Sheila gave me back my power. She empowered me with the tools necessary to get the job done. She also explained that my resume was "old-fashioned"! She gave me more tools to modernize my resume. Her compassion and professionalism was amazing coming from a complete stranger!
I also loved the signs on the wall that read "we do not help everyone...oh wait yes we do help everyone!"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Start a location closer to my house!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

June 12, 2014

more

June 12, 2014

JFS is a remarkable place. No matter what your religion is, you are welcome here to work on your career development, take classes, and hone interviewing skills. The JFS specialists are enthusiastic, smart and compassionate. Cannot speak highly enough of this nonprofit. Hurray, JFS!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

No changes at all. This is a well-oiled machine. When clients offer suggestions (e.g., that a bike rack would be helpful) -- voila! -- I was told a bike rack out front will be arriving in the next few months. This is an organization that listens to people -- at all levels.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

April 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

April 2, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

The day after I lost my job, in November 2013, I made a call to Jewish Family Services; I had always heard wonderful things about their programming to help those who were unemployed. What I'd heard didn't even come close to explain the amazing support, training, and resources I would receive in the coming weeks! Those working at JFS truly care about their clients and are always eager to answer questions, provide assistance, and recommend further resources. During my time in JFS' S.U.C.C.E.S.S. program I attended weekly support meetings with speakers; trainings to learn about LinkedIn, resume writing, interview techniques, and more; a MicroSoft computer class; and I got networking like I've never networked before. The S.U.C.C.E.S.S. program and its coaches are what got me through a sometimes very tumultuous time of my life. I would never hesitate to return, should the need arise, and I strongly encourage others to avail themselves of their services!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 18, 2014

more

February 18, 2014

I joined Jewish Family Services (JFS) SUCCESS program back in the late spring of 2009. I first started taking career-related workshops where I learned a great deal about networking, writing cover letters, using LinkedIn and other effective strategies for professional job hunting.

Then in
June (2009) I won the lottery when Mindy Agin, a Career Strategist with JFS, started working with me one-on-one. Immediately, I was fully engaged in the process from Mindy's vast knowledge and expertise. She helped me with a host of invaluable strategies to land a professional job. First she helped me completely overhaul my resume, bringing it into the 21st Century, then we worked on communication skills, like the infamous "one-minute elevator speech," and doing phone interviews. Through Mindy's -- and the entire team's -- dedicated efforts, I gained confidence and ease in an area that I never felt confident and ease. And, within a very short time, I had two job offers: one in Washington, DC and one in Montgomery, AL. I chose the later and started work on August 9, 2009.

After spending four rewarding years with Southern Poverty Law Center in Alabama, I found myself moving to Houston, Texas, for my partner's promotion. What is remarkable and shows JFS's and Mindy's sincerity and dedication is she said to me back in 2009 to feel free to keep in touch and continue to seek her advice and support throughout the years, even after landing a job. I did exactly that, and Mindy, without a second hesitation, helped me once again prepare for job hunting again. I start today, Feb. 18, with Houston Community College.

Without JFS's SUCCESS program, and its amazing team, I would not be where I am today. I am extremely grateful and appreciative of this organization and the awesome team I've grown to admire and respect wholly. THANK YOU!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Nothing ...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 16, 2014

more

January 16, 2014

I had been at what I thought was a secure job for 6+ years and all of a sudden, the rug got pulled out from under me. I was on vacation with my 5-year-old son when I got the news that I would be returning home to no job.

At the time, my husband was back in school since his job got
out-sourced and would not be done with school for another year. So there we were, both jobless and trying to raise our son, pay the mortgage and pay the bills.

Since I had been the main bread winner of the family and the insurance carrier, I didn't have much time before I had to get back into the work force.

Jewish Family Services came along and gave me the skills and the confidence I needed to put my job search at full-speed-ahead. I had an interview lined up and luckily went to their 4-hour interview skills seminar the day before. I landed the job and now my family is back on track.

Their weekly meetings and seminars were invaluable. But, I have to say, my favorite thing about JFS is that everyone there made you feel so welcomed and at home. I never met a nicer group of people. You can tell that they were truly there to help you and sincerely wanted you to succeed.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 5, 2014

more

January 5, 2014

JFS to me, was truly a lifesaver. For 15 years I remained in an abusive marriage. Though I knew I did not deserve the abuse, I always figured I could handle it. I didn't want to break apart a family. Finally, in Dec. of 2009, I decided I had enough. The turning point for me was that I saw the effect it was having on my children. Though yes, I was tough enough to handle the abuse, I saw my children being verbally, emotionally and mentally abused as well. These were my young children in their developing years, forming their personalities and identities. I felt as a Mother, it was my job to protect them. I wasn't doing my job, because I could not protect them from their father.

Within 1 hour of calling JFS, I received a call back from Lisa Carroll. Lisa is the "goddess" of domestic violence. She listened to everything I said, and really understood my situation. She could understand that even though I was being abused, how hard it is to leave the relationship. She explained to me that the average woman leaves 6 to 7 times before they leave for good. She immediately made an appointment for me to see Jan Napier, a licensed clinical social worker at JFS. Within 45 minutes, Jan was able to complete my sentences. She knew exactly of my husbands personality disorder. It meant the world to me that somebody actually understood the hell that I lived in. She counseled me weekly giving me tips how to live in my current situation. ALL the counseling sessions I received were covered by JFS.

After 6 months of counseling, I realized it was time to make my move, I wanted to file for divorce. I knew that my husband would NEVER change, and I didn't want to live the rest of my life like this, nor have him continue to torment my children. Lisa was there for me every step of the way. With no family here in Columbus, her support meant the world to me. She helped me find an attorney, and a place to live. She came with me to every meeting with my attorney and to every court appearance. She obtained funding for me from an anonymous donor to help with my tremendous legal expenses. From the day I first spoke to her in Dec 2009 until I got divorced in 2012, she was at my side. Even when you are being abused, it is so hard to divorce. Had I not had her support, and the financial support of JFS, I would have gone back to my abusive husband. I know it may sound crazy to some, but when you have little money, and no one to at your side you are drawn to go back to your "normal," even abuse.

Life for me today is so much better. I got myself back. I can make my own decisions without having to ask permission. I have gotten in touch with and seen friends of mine that I hadn't seen in 15 years. I no longer have to live in my home in constant fear for me and my children. Are things perfect? No, but I know they will continue to get better. JFS is still at my side helping me. I have gone through some of their job training programs, and I know when I am ready to find a better job, they will be there to help me, For the past 3 years for Chanukah, my children have been blessed with beautiful gifts from anonymous families. Lisa continues to call me to make sure I am doing okay. I still see Jan for counseling and continued support. I know JFS will always be an important part of my life, and I can't thank everyone at the Columbus, OH office enough for all their support and help.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I am so thankful and pleased with all the services I received at JFS, what would I want to change? Nothing

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

December 31, 2013

more

December 31, 2013

There are thousands of organizations all across America that use some version of the word "commitment" to define themselves. Yet, there are only a few organizations that have mastered the skill to move "commitment" from words into demonstrated and authentic action. Jewish Family Services (JFS) is one of those scarce gems.

From April 2013 to June 2013, I had the opportunity to interact with several workforce development programs throughout the city--ones used by Fortune 500 companies for employment transition services as well as those funded by governmental agencies. In June 2013, I chose the guidance and strategies of the JFS's Success Program to execute my strategic job search. What was the result? By September 2013 I had landed a new job. So here's what sets JFS's Success Program apart from other workforce development programs across the city:

1. The team does their homework and shares their results with the client, so that you know that the strategies and information they are giving you is current, relevant, and proven. And their research is not boilerplate.

2. They are clear about what is needed for reemployment success and they repeat the message often to keep you focused.

3. They are not afraid to have crucial conversations that get a client unstuck from myths, outdated ways of thinking, or other self imposed barriers to landing a job.

4. They work organically as a team in real time and are change agents. They are constantly observing client responses, feedback and reactions and exploring among each other what it means and then quickly adjusting how they deliver their services. They are client-centric.

5. They have a wholistic and innovative approach. They have dissected and analyzed the common reasons that people do not land jobs and they provide tools that effectively prepare clients to overcome those hurdles. Their Gavel Club is one such tool--and if you want to be able to think on your feet in an interview, then that is the place to go.

6. They exercise complete thought and depth in each interaction with you. They are responsive. Therefore, you know that your success is important to them and that they want to be a part of making that happen.

So in summary, if you want to be more than a number, if you want to be coached by people where your reemployment matters the most, and if you want to put your full faith in a process and know that you will be okay, then you must experience JFS.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would continue the Gavel Club even though it may not have the highest attendance because it is effective. And for those that participate it has both short and long term value.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3...11 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers