Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
5 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
October 29, 2013

more

October 29, 2013

I had the honor of working at this agency for almost a year and I continued providing some voluntary services for some time. I’m also a donor as I’ve see first-hand what this agency does for people.

Jewish Family Service of Silicon Valley offers a wide variety of services, and they have a
large and diverse client list. It was amazing to watch this small team of professionals find ways to serve the community both in the short-term with items such as groceries, and over the long term with more strategic help and family or personal counseling.

One of my best memories was seeing what happened at Chanukah. There was a program for donating items people had requested, and it could be a blouse for a middle-aged job seeker or clothes and toys for children. The offices were packed with items generously donated by the community. It was so moving to see that physical representation of both great need and this generosity. I wish everyone could see this in person.

Another time, a 17 year old called as he and his mom had been living in a car and they were hungry. He’d heard we had a bag of groceries and asked for something to eat.

I also watched the programs for immigrants bring together Iranians and Iraqis together in an agency run by Jewish people and everyone meeting and greeting each other peacefully. There are many stories like this.

The agency is very well-run and there is ongoing communication about how we were doing, what the financial needs were and how we were doing with fundraising.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of anything I'd change at JFSSV, but I'd love to see it receive more grants and donations. They know how to manage the money and make it serve our community at large.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013

more


1 previous review
October 19, 2009

I have volunteered with JFS SV on a number of different programs and projects, including doing ESL tutoring, volunteering at fundraiser, helping with their website, and helping with ongoing developmen... more

August 15, 2013

JFS of Silicon Valley works every day to provide a wide range of support services and programs for those in our community. Their programs range from emergency food assistance, to ongoing senior support, support for refugees and Holocaust survivors, family and employment counseling. As a regular volunteer, JFS provides me with the opportunity to give back to my community. I know from first hand experience, that the staff and volunteers are dedicated to the work.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 19, 2009

I have volunteered with JFS SV on a number of different programs and projects, including doing ESL tutoring, volunteering at fundraiser, helping with their website, and helping with ongoing development activities. In my case, JFS was very flexible in helping to match me with volunteer work that would make use of my personal and work skills. The staff at JFS is dedicated to the work, and highly value the efforts of the volunteers.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

how they train new immigrants to become productive members of our society, how they provide services and necessities for those in our community who are financially disadvantaged, as well as the home-bound elderly in need of extra help and comfort.

More feedback...

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2009

May 24, 2011

more

May 24, 2011

JFSSV rocks. They save lives. They rebuild lives. They touch hearts.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing their good works in action.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Find them more donors and more volunteers so they can further act on their wonderful mission

April 29, 2010

more

April 29, 2010

Great organization; very efficient use of funding; touching so many lives in critical ways. Their staff is very caring and very professional.

More feedback...

The kinds of staff and volunteers that I met were...

caring, concerned, effective, kind.

How frequently have you been involved with the organization?

About every month

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers