Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Jewish Family Service is a mainstay in our community offering comprehensive services for every age. I love volunteering with JFS – I know that the work I do and that the agency does is directly benefiting people in our community. Their slogan “We’re With You” is spot on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Magically give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

We've participated in the Embrace-a-Family program at JFS for the last 3 years. It is such a wonderful way to make a HUGE difference in someone's life. The recipients of the gifts are truly, truly grateful. The thank-you letters that you receive from your families are so heartfelt and touching, it is impossible NOT to cry. My family looks forward to Embrace-a-Family every year. Our involvement has inspired other friends and family members to forgo their own gift exchanges and instead give to those most in need in their communities.

The program itself is incredibly well-managed and extremely organized. With 500+ families receiving gifts, that says a lot! It is just another reflection on how wonderful Jewish Family Service is as a whole and how efficient they are in providing 50+ programs and services throughout San Diego County. I heard that they received a 4-star rating from Charity Navigator for the 6th year in a row...and only 3% of the organizations reviewed have earned that! Wow! All the more reason to volunteer with and donate to this incredible agency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

This group has many wonderful programs helping many hundreds of people in need. I volunteer for On the Go transportation service, the Fix-it service, and occasionally Food Pantry. It is most gratifying and rewarding when recipients are crying in gratitude that a volunteer will give their time and energy to help a total stranger in need. I have many positive memories which justifies the time I spend working these programs. There is so much need and to few people who want to render help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I am an On The Go driver...what a great experience this is for me. Almost every one of my riders tells me how much they appreciate this service...how they couldn't get to & from "wherever" without this service. You can just imagine how great that makes me feel. I get as much out of this as they do!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer driver for Jewish Family Service's Rides and Smiles Program and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I couldn't have imagined that getting our elderly to the places they need to go, could be so much fun and feel so worthwhile. The program is so well run, so simple, so efficient, so necessary and the drivers and clients are made to feel so valued and appreciated. I was so impressed by Rides and Smiles, I decided to join the Board. This confirmed the view I already had that Jewish Family Service is truly an outstanding organization, committed to serving the vulnerable in our community with compassion, integrity and excellence. Its an honor to be associated with JFS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

My volunteer experience with Jewish Family Service of San Diego has been so fulfilling, whether distributing food with the Hand Up Food Pantry and Embracing a Family during the holidays. I like knowing the my time and donations are going to good use within my community. Now as an employee, I am proud to know that someone who comes in with just one need can be helped in all aspects, food, employment, counseling and more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I volunteered with JFSSD for over 2 years with the Hand Up Youth Food Pantry. JFS is an amazing organization that makes a huge impact in San Diego. I have seen the work that the dedicated people at JFS do change so many lives. I would recommend that anyone who is interested in volunteering check this organization out because there are so many different ways to get involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over 2 yrs, I work with a refugee family from Burma. The time I spend with them is awesome. They give me much more than I could give them. They are family to me. JFS has done wonders in the lives of newly arrived refugees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the joy to intern with JFSSD this past summer, and as I learned more about the 50+ amazing programs they had, I was so grateful that all my work was really contributing to making a difference in many people's lives. From interviewing experienced volunteers to seeing one of the Senior Centers in action to meeting with the kind and dedicated volunteers and staff, people at JFSSD really care about helping others, and they do it well. I know that this is so general and broad, but it is difficult to express just how excellent this organization is! I look forward to working with or for them again, in any kind of volunteer work. (Also check out their amazing 4 - or is it 5? - -star rating on Charity Navigator, for something like 7 years in a row! They really know what they're doing!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a parent leader for a local group of middle school volunteers, I've been to many different local community service projects and the most effective, well run projects have been run by JFSSD. They are extremely well-organized, efficient and committed to helping the under-served populations throughout San Diego. For example, although it's difficult to believe, many local military families struggle with the cost of feeding their families, especially if they arrive in San Diego from other parts of the country where the cost of living is less, and a spouse is deployed while the other spouse stays at home managing the family. JFSSD runs events several times a month where our middle school students can become involved distributing food to military families and also get a chance to thank them for their service. This, among other projects run by JFSSD, has made a valuable impact on our community in so many ways. The leaders of JFSSD (and their Hand Up Youth Food Pantry which runs the military food distribution events) are extremely caring and respectful of the military families, responsive, and thoroughly professional. It is truly a pleasure to watch them in action, and they deserve to be recognized by Great Nonprofits!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers