Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
23 Reviews
12345
| 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer driver for Jewish Family Service's Rides and Smiles Program and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I couldn't have imagined that getting our elderly to the places they need to go, could be so much fun and feel so worthwhile. The program is so well run, so simple, so efficient, so necessary and the drivers and clients are made to feel so valued and appreciated. I was so impressed by Rides and Smiles, I decided to join the Board. This confirmed the view I already had that Jewish Family Service is truly an outstanding organization, committed to serving the vulnerable in our community with compassion, integrity and excellence. Its an honor to be associated with JFS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 9, 2013

more

April 9, 2013

I have been a board member and volunteer for over 15 years and can say that Jewish Family Service of San Diego has given me much more of a reward than I could have ever expected. I'm involved as a volunteer with one of the JFS Senior Centers and I derive a lot of satisfaction from seeing the benefits that it provides to our seniors during their difficult aging process. The organization is very efficiently run - proof of which is their 4 Star Charity Navigator rating which is given to less than 5% of all non-profits in the country.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

My volunteer experience with Jewish Family Service of San Diego has been so fulfilling, whether distributing food with the Hand Up Food Pantry and Embracing a Family during the holidays. I like knowing the my time and donations are going to good use within my community. Now as an employee, I am proud to know that someone who comes in with just one need can be helped in all aspects, food, employment, counseling and more!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 10, 2012

more

November 10, 2012

I volunteered with JFSSD for over 2 years with the Hand Up Youth Food Pantry. JFS is an amazing organization that makes a huge impact in San Diego. I have seen the work that the dedicated people at JFS do change so many lives. I would recommend that anyone who is interested in volunteering check this organization out because there are so many different ways to get involved.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 2, 2012

more

November 2, 2012

Jewish Family Services is an amazing organization that helps so many people in so many ways. My husband injured himself at work and we are now living on the workers compensation he gets, which is a lot less than his regular work income before the injury. We have had trouble paying bills and buying groceries and such and the Hand Out Youth Food Pantry helped us with our food needs. They were a huge help for a very difficult time for us. Now things are starting to improve and we hope to be able to give back to JFS San Diego to help others who are struggling like we did.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 1, 2012

more

November 1, 2012

I have been a volunteer for over 2 yrs, I work with a refugee family from Burma. The time I spend with them is awesome. They give me much more than I could give them. They are family to me. JFS has done wonders in the lives of newly arrived refugees.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I had the joy to intern with JFSSD this past summer, and as I learned more about the 50+ amazing programs they had, I was so grateful that all my work was really contributing to making a difference in many people's lives. From interviewing experienced volunteers to seeing one of the Senior Centers in action to meeting with the kind and dedicated volunteers and staff, people at JFSSD really care about helping others, and they do it well. I know that this is so general and broad, but it is difficult to express just how excellent this organization is! I look forward to working with or for them again, in any kind of volunteer work. (Also check out their amazing 4 - or is it 5? - -star rating on Charity Navigator, for something like 7 years in a row! They really know what they're doing!)

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

As a parent leader for a local group of middle school volunteers, I've been to many different local community service projects and the most effective, well run projects have been run by JFSSD. They are extremely well-organized, efficient and committed to helping the under-served populations throughout San Diego. For example, although it's difficult to believe, many local military families struggle with the cost of feeding their families, especially if they arrive in San Diego from other parts of the country where the cost of living is less, and a spouse is deployed while the other spouse stays at home managing the family. JFSSD runs events several times a month where our middle school students can become involved distributing food to military families and also get a chance to thank them for their service. This, among other projects run by JFSSD, has made a valuable impact on our community in so many ways. The leaders of JFSSD (and their Hand Up Youth Food Pantry which runs the military food distribution events) are extremely caring and respectful of the military families, responsive, and thoroughly professional. It is truly a pleasure to watch them in action, and they deserve to be recognized by Great Nonprofits!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 31, 2012

more

October 31, 2012

I have been so impressed with the directors and staff of JFS (San Diego) for ten years now. One director calls hundreds of people a year to help raise money for seniors, and he helped start a senior center. Another director had a passion to build the top fundraising gala in San Diego, and the Gala nets almost $1 mm per year now. Another director is a busy partner at a top law firm, with young kids, who still spends hundreds of hours a year helping the agency. A past director first volunteered to help people when he volunteered to serve in WWII at age 18, and when I started serving, he was always in the room as a voice of wisdom and care for the clients. Heroes abound, at JFS. The client letters touch your heart, and the staff really care about clients. One has JFSSD on his license plate, another told us how he feels the responsibility to be sure all emails to the information line get a good, timely, caring answer, and other staffers have built so many innovative programs, ranging from a food pantry staffed by teenagers, to a "Rides and Smiles" program for volunteers to take seniors to the doctor or the market. You have to love what the people here have done, many of them giving THOUSANDS of hours and without asking for anything in return. Just coming together at one unifying agency where clients, caring people, dollars, and skilled professionals converge. Restores your faith!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 29, 2012

more

October 29, 2012

I have been volunteering for JFSSD for many years. Their range of services is so comprehensive that it is truly "one source for a lifetime of help". From a food pantry to support for victims of domestic violence, from a home delivered meal system to homebound seniors to private counseling, to a program that aids unemployed workers, to a support program for single parents, JFSSD helps so many people in both the Jewish and general community that my affiliation with this wonderful human service agency is a source of pride for me and my family. This agency is truly a San Diego gem. Nadja Kauder

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers