Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
12345
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

I have never been treated so well by all the people I've known these last 12 years. Thank you all for saving me from all the horrible disorders I've suffered these last 18 years. The mental health program is top rated. I was at numerous private doctors and HMO's and they were more concerned about how much money they were making. I have unlimited mental health coverage that pays 100percent. JFS was there for me. I was very distraught 3 months ago and couldn't find anyone to help me. I walked into JFS. The lady said someone will see you today. I was so happy that I found someone who could help me. I came in to see if I could make an appointment, and I was seen within 10 minutes. The young lady was an angel sent from heaven. I don't remember her name but I will be eternally grateful for her immediate support. She directed me and offered me her undivided attention, and kindness overflowing. I am a better man today for her unselfish guidance. The other great thing about JFS is they accept you, regardless of your religious status or beliefs. Thank-you all for helping me. Sincerely, David Catalano
September 11, 2014

more

September 11, 2014

JFS has been rated Charity Navigator's highest rating for the 7th year in a row!!! Only 2% of nonprofits NATIONWIDE have achieved such high standards of sound fiscal management, accountability and transparency!! Over 50 programs serving the entire community regardless of religious affiliation including senior transportation, food pantry, senior centers and MORE! LOVE JFS...they are dedicated to making the world a better place.
August 20, 2014

more

August 20, 2014

I can't say enough good things about JFS of San Diego! My late mother benefited from JFS geriatric care management services for nine years, and I'm convinced the quality of her life was greatly enhanced and the length of her life was extended through the support of JFS programs. She was able to "age in place" in her home until eleven days before her death, thanks to JFS' care management, transportation (On the Go), delivered meals (Foodmobile), provision of supplemental food (Hand Up Food Pantry) and home modification for seniors (Fix-It Service).
As an only surviving child living 3,000 miles away, JFS programs and, more importantly, JFS staff addressed my fears and concerns regarding the specifics of my mother's aging, health issues and living independently. JFS was an absolute life line for me.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Ensure more funding comes its way.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 17, 2013

more

October 17, 2013

Jewish Family Service of San Diego has an incredible breadth and depth of services that they provide to older adults throughout the County. The support they provide meets the social, psychological, financial, transportation, and nutrition needs of many seniors. But what distinguishes JFS of San Diego is the commitment and caring that they show in every encounter with an older adult.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide them the resources they need to do even more.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 14, 2013

more

October 14, 2013

Jewish Family Service is a top notch organization and one that I am proud to support in many different ways. They are efficient and effective with my money and ensure that the maximum amount possible is used for programs and client services, which I very much appreciate. They have excellent customer service and handle all transactions - from donor giving to client needs - professionally and confidentially. Their On the Go senior transportation program helps ensure my grandma can socialize with her friends and their Hand Up Food Pantry supports those in our community in need with food, which I have helped to both package at their facility and distribute to people at a church site downtown.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 8, 2013

more

October 8, 2013

Jewish Family Service is a mainstay in our community offering comprehensive services for every age. I love volunteering with JFS – I know that the work I do and that the agency does is directly benefiting people in our community. Their slogan “We’re With You” is spot on.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Magically give them more money!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 14, 2013

more

June 14, 2013

We've participated in the Embrace-a-Family program at JFS for the last 3 years. It is such a wonderful way to make a HUGE difference in someone's life. The recipients of the gifts are truly, truly grateful. The thank-you letters that you receive from your families are so heartfelt and touching, it is impossible NOT to cry. My family looks forward to Embrace-a-Family every year. Our involvement has inspired other friends and family members to forgo their own gift exchanges and instead give to those most in need in their communities.

The program itself is incredibly well-managed and extremely organized. With 500+ families receiving gifts, that says a lot! It is just another reflection on how wonderful Jewish Family Service is as a whole and how efficient they are in providing 50+ programs and services throughout San Diego County. I heard that they received a 4-star rating from Charity Navigator for the 6th year in a row...and only 3% of the organizations reviewed have earned that! Wow! All the more reason to volunteer with and donate to this incredible agency.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

May 4, 2013

more

May 4, 2013

This group has many wonderful programs helping many hundreds of people in need. I volunteer for On the Go transportation service, the Fix-it service, and occasionally Food Pantry. It is most gratifying and rewarding when recipients are crying in gratitude that a volunteer will give their time and energy to help a total stranger in need. I have many positive memories which justifies the time I spend working these programs. There is so much need and to few people who want to render help.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

May 2, 2013

more

May 2, 2013

I am an On The Go driver...what a great experience this is for me. Almost every one of my riders tells me how much they appreciate this service...how they couldn't get to & from "wherever" without this service. You can just imagine how great that makes me feel. I get as much out of this as they do!!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

April 11, 2013

more

April 11, 2013

I have been a volunteer driver for Jewish Family Service's Rides and Smiles Program and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I couldn't have imagined that getting our elderly to the places they need to go, could be so much fun and feel so worthwhile. The program is so well run, so simple, so efficient, so necessary and the drivers and clients are made to feel so valued and appreciated. I was so impressed by Rides and Smiles, I decided to join the Board. This confirmed the view I already had that Jewish Family Service is truly an outstanding organization, committed to serving the vulnerable in our community with compassion, integrity and excellence. Its an honor to be associated with JFS.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers