Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
18 Reviews
1234.944445
Write A Review
December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

I started volunteering in Port Jervis 6 years ago, and it has been the most beautiful experience for me. I've always been very dedicated naturally, so to find a program that could emulate my interests was amazing. Doing the simple things that other people find difficult (shopping, driving, doctors office...) makes it a beautiful experience. I was able to bring celebrations such as birthday clubs and holiday events to the elderly. This brought joy to these people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Okay

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

i am so dedicated to the people i help. i feel like i get more out of it than they do.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

I have found that by giving to the community, I get the most satisfaction back. My experience has been watching the forlorn faces suddenly turn to laughter. Very rewarding for me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

As a 911 survivor I had ti give back to all of the wonderful people and that recipient would be my community. It is so rewarding to give from the heart my precious time to others that are in need. It is a delight, I meet wonderful people, go places new and learn everyday something new.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

JFS has helped me help others in a way I could never do without them. This organization has such special people as staff and as volunteers. They give to the community in so many ways.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

My original reason for joining was that my wife wanted me out the house. I have found that volunteering and helping others has enriched my life by my communicating with others about their lives and needs. I hope that when it comes my time, I hope that a program like this will be available to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 3, 2012

more

December 3, 2012

My original reason for joining was that my wife wanted me out the house. I have found that volunteering and helping others has enriched my life by my communicating with others about their lives and needs. I hope that when it comes my time, I hope that a program like this will be available to me.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

As a board member I have been able to see first hand the good work JFS does. I've had many people ask me how to get help from the agency knowing my involvement. We enjoy an exemplary reputation.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 15, 2012

more

November 15, 2012

I have served on the Board of Jewish Family Service for 17 years. JFS started as a committee of the Jewish Federation of Greater Orange County. We extend a helping hand to all residents of Orange County regardless of religious affiliation. Our programs include affordable counseling, case management for developmentally delayed, case management that finds services to meet the needs of seniors who wish to stay in their homes, friendly visits and reassurance telephone calls, the Roots program for Developmentally Delayed adults, a summer camp and family activities for Jewish special needs children, providing transportation to people so they can get to their medical appointments and too many other programs to list. The services are provided by a dedicated group of staff and volunteers and fill an important role in our community. I am proud to be a part of this wonderful organization.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

November 14, 2012

more

November 14, 2012

JFS was the most inviting and wonderful place to volunteer. As a retiree, I was able to provide transportation for many seniors who needed to get to doctors' appointments. I was also able to participate in the Friendly Visitor Program, wherein I spent several hours each week with a senior. We often went shopping, got our nails done, had lunch: all sorts of fun things. As I result I continue to be in close contact with "my senior" and her family, often attending church with them. All the staff were always welcoming and the office atmosphere was wonderful. after volunteering in the office, I was able to use my curriculum development skills to write the volunteer training program for Friendly Visitor Services.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Visit with a home-bound neighbor feeling isolated, provide transportation and cheer to and from a medical appointment, or take an older neighbor to the grocery shopping or shop for groceries from a prepared list.