Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
September 19, 2014

more

September 19, 2014

My family and I are so fortunate to have found Jeff's Place at our time of need. My ex-husband died unexpectedly and our 2 children (then age13 and 16) were grieving and I didn't know what to do. Jeff's Place welcomed us with open arms and the group meetings were so helpful to not only my children but to me also. My children learned they were not alone. Their were other kids grieving who understand their anger, their pain, all the emotions and fears they felt. The facilitators were amazing and so kind and worked with the kids through their pain and let them share all their fears, anger, emotions with no judgment but just a kind word. The adult group was immensely helpful to me. Seeing that I wasn't alone that other parents were experiencing the same difficulties with their children and being offered the support from other parents and the facilitators helped me to be stronger so that I could give my children the support they needed. We were with the program for approximately 2 years and gained so much I can never thank everyone enough at Jeff's Place for all they have done to help us.
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son and I attended Jeff's Place after his dad/my husband passed away. Every facet of the program helped us. From the family pizza dinners, to the parent group, to the teen group, to the annual holiday celebration, to the group leaders, to Jenny and her staff and all of the participants. I learned a tremendous amount from the parents and my son got to share his healing with peers. We learned that we are not alone, and in fact, we are all together in the grief process. Though we all grieve differently, we were all grieving and found some commonalities. I recommend Jeff's Place to any family who suffered a loss.
September 10, 2014

more

September 10, 2014

I'm extremely grateful to have such a wonderful place like Jeff's Place available to me, in my family's time of need! My wife died after a 2.5 year battle with cancer and we have 2 boys, who were 11 & 13 years old. They are probably the toughest 2 children that I've ever met, but they "act like boys" & I feared that they were suppressing their emotions. Also, I was afraid of how "alone" they would feel with very few of their peers having ever gone through anything like this.

While I can't say they were thrilled with the idea of going to Jeff's Place and discussing their feelings, it has helped them immensely! They get to go and relate to other kids that are going through similar things and they felt accepted, right away. For me, Jeff's place has been a wonderful experience! I've met so many genuinely caring people, who want nothing more than to assist people and help them to continue on with their lives and ease their grieving process any way they can. Also, I feel that it has taken some of the burden off of my shoulders and helped me to "get my boys to open up & express their feelings".

We did research & had attended other similar groups when my wife died, but Jeff's Place is far & away the best! We found the right place for us, thank you Jeff's Place!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand their services, so they could reach more people

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Love this place! Jeff's place e ran a private group for my daughter and her friends who lost one of their friend's tragically. The staff at Jeff's place helped them through this difficult time and provided support to share their emotions.
September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 10, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

My son and I are so grateful for all the help and support we are getting from the wonderful people at Jeff's Place. The support and care we received from Jeff's Place got us through the difficult time.
August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 14, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I was fortunate to find out about Jeff's Place shortly after my daughter's father died (a week before her 14th birthday). We attended meetings for two years, in which we were able to share our story, hear other's stories and support one another through these difficult times. I am immensely grateful for the camaraderie and support we received during our time there and would recommend this service to anyone in a similar situation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 13, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We are so grateful to everyone at Jeff's Place for their care and support. From the dedication of the leaders and facilitators to the unconditional support of fellow "clients," our time at Jeff's Place was a gift that we didn't even know how much we needed. My son was fourteen years old when we started and he felt a sense of belonging right away, not an easy feat in the best of circumstances, with the caring leaders and other children. The parent groups I participated in helped me to cope with my myriad of feelings - I learned from everyone, often by just listening, despite how different many of us were. This experience brought us together and gently led us to a better place. I will be forever thankful to everyone at Jeff's Place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

Jeff's Place helped us through an extremely difficult period in our lives. My daughter had just turned 7 when her father died of a brain tumor. She did not want to talk about it with any of her friends as she didn't want to be "different" from all of them who had healthy dads. Jeff's Place provided her with a safe place to share her feelings, since everyone there was "in the same boat". All the kids knew how hard it was to be missing a mother, father or other close relative. I observed as she went from being very shy to willing to share memories of her dad. Jenny Schrieber has assembled an amazing group of caring & supportive facilitators. I highly recommend Jeff's Place to all families with children grieving the loss of a loved one!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

When we lost our son we knew we needed to meet others who could help us and understand us. The first place we reached out to couldn't take us for almost a year! Jeff's place welcomed us into the group within a couple months. We no longer attend the group since we have moved out of state but I miss the group terribly. What a wonderful place for a child to go to to feel that they are not alone with their grief amongst their peers, and where parents can meet others too ( even though this us a children's group!). The staff and Jenny are incredible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone them and move them to where we live now.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2012

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards... more

November 1, 2013

My husband died unexpectedly cutting a tree in our backyard, 3 days before our son's 5th birthday (who started kindergarten a month later). I had no family in the country and my husband's family was in Maine (we live in Massachusetts). Jeff's Place gave my son (and myself) the emotional support that allowed us to process our grief and move forward by the fantastic volunteers that make it all happen. They changed our lives and we will always be thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the program to other locations. You don't realize how many children loose a parent or a sibling until you do. There are very few organizations doing helping grieving children and they are overwhelmed (or too far away for some unlucky ones).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards his father's death from anger and hate to love and compassion but the parent group has also helped me to parent him and grieve myself. We're on our second year and we've both made amazing progress. I wish there were more centers for people that live to far to attend. I never imagined how many families were in our situation until I found Jeff's place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers