Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.967745
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I was fortunate to find out about Jeff's Place shortly after my daughter's father died (a week before her 14th birthday). We attended meetings for two years, in which we were able to share our story, hear other's stories and support one another through these difficult times. I am immensely grateful for the camaraderie and support we received during our time there and would recommend this service to anyone in a similar situation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

We are so grateful to everyone at Jeff's Place for their care and support. From the dedication of the leaders and facilitators to the unconditional support of fellow "clients," our time at Jeff's Place was a gift that we didn't even know how much we needed. My son was fourteen years old when we started and he felt a sense of belonging right away, not an easy feat in the best of circumstances, with the caring leaders and other children. The parent groups I participated in helped me to cope with my myriad of feelings - I learned from everyone, often by just listening, despite how different many of us were. This experience brought us together and gently led us to a better place. I will be forever thankful to everyone at Jeff's Place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's Place helped us through an extremely difficult period in our lives. My daughter had just turned 7 when her father died of a brain tumor. She did not want to talk about it with any of her friends as she didn't want to be "different" from all of them who had healthy dads. Jeff's Place provided her with a safe place to share her feelings, since everyone there was "in the same boat". All the kids knew how hard it was to be missing a mother, father or other close relative. I observed as she went from being very shy to willing to share memories of her dad. Jenny Schrieber has assembled an amazing group of caring & supportive facilitators. I highly recommend Jeff's Place to all families with children grieving the loss of a loved one!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When we lost our son we knew we needed to meet others who could help us and understand us. The first place we reached out to couldn't take us for almost a year! Jeff's place welcomed us into the group within a couple months. We no longer attend the group since we have moved out of state but I miss the group terribly. What a wonderful place for a child to go to to feel that they are not alone with their grief amongst their peers, and where parents can meet others too ( even though this us a children's group!). The staff and Jenny are incredible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone them and move them to where we live now.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2012

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards... more

November 1, 2013

My husband died unexpectedly cutting a tree in our backyard, 3 days before our son's 5th birthday (who started kindergarten a month later). I had no family in the country and my husband's family was in Maine (we live in Massachusetts). Jeff's Place gave my son (and myself) the emotional support that allowed us to process our grief and move forward by the fantastic volunteers that make it all happen. They changed our lives and we will always be thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the program to other locations. You don't realize how many children loose a parent or a sibling until you do. There are very few organizations doing helping grieving children and they are overwhelmed (or too far away for some unlucky ones).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards his father's death from anger and hate to love and compassion but the parent group has also helped me to parent him and grieve myself. We're on our second year and we've both made amazing progress. I wish there were more centers for people that live to far to attend. I never imagined how many families were in our situation until I found Jeff's place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

The thing I found most comforting about Jeff's Place was talking with peers who were dealing with the same unique challenge. After my wife died, I had a lot of thoughts and feelings that I thought we very strange. It was a good feeling to realize that I was having a common reaction to an uncommon experience. Jeff's Place gave me that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide on site counseling and similar resources

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

Where do you go for help when your husband and father of two children dies very unexpectedly while on a family vacation? Thankfully, for me and my girls, that place was Jeff's Place. The range of emotions that are a 'normal' part of the grieving process are unimaginable. But in addition to that, the loss of a parent is also a very isolating experience for children at any age, but maybe even more complicated for teens or pre-teens. I remember my first phone conversation with Jenny from Jeff's Place -- an understanding voice and an invitation to attend the family meetings. I also remember her coming to our house to meet with us and how she describe the philosophy of Jeff's Place -- 'normalize' the grieving process. This may not make sense to those who haven't experienced such a profound loss, but it was very helpful for me to be mindful, that no matter how painful, we are capable of learning to live with our loss...not 'get over it'... but to LIVE with our loss. Many thanks to Jeff's Place for all the good work they have done & continue to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband died in April 2009. He left 3 kids that were really grieving. We attended Jeff's Place for 2 seasons. It was the most wonderful experience for all of us. We felt like we found others going through the same things that most other people in our lives could not even comprehend. We graduated stronger and more resilient. Jeff's Place is an important part of the grieving process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's Place has offered my young children a safe place to connect with other kids who have lost a parent. It has also been a place for me, as a young widow, to find support from other parents who are grieving the lose of their spouse, while trying to raise their kids. It has been incredibly helpful to me over the course of several years.

There are other, similar, programs like Jeff's Place in Massachusetts, but the location and proximity for my family has been so important. In addition, Jeff's Place was able to create a new bereavement group for preschool aged children, to meet my family's specific needs.

When trying to recover from a tradegy, I've found I've had to simplify our lives, and take comfort in our family routines. But I have made going to our Jeff's Place meetings a priority, and I think it's helped my kids tremendouly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

January 4, 2012 my seventeen year old son, Justin, died from a heart atack he suffered while at home with us. In that tragic moment, as I performed CPR on my son and I knew I could not bring him back, all I could think of was, "how am I going to help my wife and other two children find peace and joy in thier life again?" The answer was JEFF'S PLACE!
There were so many suggestions shared with us from people who wanted to help but Jeff's place was the only place we found which allowed our whole family to heal together. The staff, volunteers, familys and especially the children have givin us the support we needed in all areas of our life. My family has been moved, touched and inspired by the many people who have shared so authentically about the challenges and fears of facing such an overwhelming, and unexpected event. I would move mountains to make a difference in even one familys experience dealing with such a loss. Jeff's place provides the oppurtunity to move those mountains, not only for the children, but all the families, stafff and volunteers who share thier love, caring and hope with those who have suffered in such an unimaginable way. Everyone should know about Jeff's palce and the real people who make it happen. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More oppurtunities and more places for more families...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers