Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | Next
Write A Review
November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2012

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards... more

November 1, 2013

My husband died unexpectedly cutting a tree in our backyard, 3 days before our son's 5th birthday (who started kindergarten a month later). I had no family in the country and my husband's family was in Maine (we live in Massachusetts). Jeff's Place gave my son (and myself) the emotional support that allowed us to process our grief and move forward by the fantastic volunteers that make it all happen. They changed our lives and we will always be thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the program to other locations. You don't realize how many children loose a parent or a sibling until you do. There are very few organizations doing helping grieving children and they are overwhelmed (or too far away for some unlucky ones).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards his father's death from anger and hate to love and compassion but the parent group has also helped me to parent him and grieve myself. We're on our second year and we've both made amazing progress. I wish there were more centers for people that live to far to attend. I never imagined how many families were in our situation until I found Jeff's place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

The thing I found most comforting about Jeff's Place was talking with peers who were dealing with the same unique challenge. After my wife died, I had a lot of thoughts and feelings that I thought we very strange. It was a good feeling to realize that I was having a common reaction to an uncommon experience. Jeff's Place gave me that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide on site counseling and similar resources

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

Where do you go for help when your husband and father of two children dies very unexpectedly while on a family vacation? Thankfully, for me and my girls, that place was Jeff's Place. The range of emotions that are a 'normal' part of the grieving process are unimaginable. But in addition to that, the loss of a parent is also a very isolating experience for children at any age, but maybe even more complicated for teens or pre-teens. I remember my first phone conversation with Jenny from Jeff's Place -- an understanding voice and an invitation to attend the family meetings. I also remember her coming to our house to meet with us and how she describe the philosophy of Jeff's Place -- 'normalize' the grieving process. This may not make sense to those who haven't experienced such a profound loss, but it was very helpful for me to be mindful, that no matter how painful, we are capable of learning to live with our loss...not 'get over it'... but to LIVE with our loss. Many thanks to Jeff's Place for all the good work they have done & continue to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband died in April 2009. He left 3 kids that were really grieving. We attended Jeff's Place for 2 seasons. It was the most wonderful experience for all of us. We felt like we found others going through the same things that most other people in our lives could not even comprehend. We graduated stronger and more resilient. Jeff's Place is an important part of the grieving process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's Place has offered my young children a safe place to connect with other kids who have lost a parent. It has also been a place for me, as a young widow, to find support from other parents who are grieving the lose of their spouse, while trying to raise their kids. It has been incredibly helpful to me over the course of several years.

There are other, similar, programs like Jeff's Place in Massachusetts, but the location and proximity for my family has been so important. In addition, Jeff's Place was able to create a new bereavement group for preschool aged children, to meet my family's specific needs.

When trying to recover from a tradegy, I've found I've had to simplify our lives, and take comfort in our family routines. But I have made going to our Jeff's Place meetings a priority, and I think it's helped my kids tremendouly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

January 4, 2012 my seventeen year old son, Justin, died from a heart atack he suffered while at home with us. In that tragic moment, as I performed CPR on my son and I knew I could not bring him back, all I could think of was, "how am I going to help my wife and other two children find peace and joy in thier life again?" The answer was JEFF'S PLACE!
There were so many suggestions shared with us from people who wanted to help but Jeff's place was the only place we found which allowed our whole family to heal together. The staff, volunteers, familys and especially the children have givin us the support we needed in all areas of our life. My family has been moved, touched and inspired by the many people who have shared so authentically about the challenges and fears of facing such an overwhelming, and unexpected event. I would move mountains to make a difference in even one familys experience dealing with such a loss. Jeff's place provides the oppurtunity to move those mountains, not only for the children, but all the families, stafff and volunteers who share thier love, caring and hope with those who have suffered in such an unimaginable way. Everyone should know about Jeff's palce and the real people who make it happen. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More oppurtunities and more places for more families...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I've seen great progress in my kids ability to deal with their loss. Everyone there is great and extremely helpful.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 21, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

We are so thankful to have found Jeff's place. They welcomed us with open arms and open hearts. The whole staff is loving and caring.
We searched for a place to take our daughter a year after the loss of her brother ,our son, Alec.
She found such comfort being with others who understood
and were going through the same thing, and she found so much comfort with the volunteers in her group who help her talk about Alec while having fun too. She looks forward to going every other week.
And while my husband and I didn't feel comfortable attending group, we did, and it does bring us comfort to know others are going through the same emotions and difficulty in life. We have grown comfortable in our group and are surrounded by caring hurting parents.
Thank you Jenny and Melissa and everyone at Jeff's Place for helping our family.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 18, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My 16 year old son and I attend this group twice a month. My son has really learned how to express his emotion and to talk about his feelings. This has carried over in other parts of his life as well. My son feels safe with the teens and has met some life long Friends. The facilitators are friendly, caring and demonstrate compassion.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

In April 2011 my husband was murdered. At the time my daughter was 14 years old. Before her dad was killed, she was a happy outgoing child. Following the death of her dad she became angry and withdrawn. She refused to talk about her dad and how his death was affecting her. I tried to get her to speak to a counselor but she refused. She would state that counselors do not understand how she is feeling. It took me a year but I found Jeff's Place. Jeff's Place has allowed my daughter to speak and express her feelings about her loss. Jeff's Place has also been a great source of support for me as a parent. Since attending group meetings at Jeff's Place my daughter has begun to associate again with her classmates. She no longer has anger fueled outbursts. I have even received positive feedback from teachers at her school who have noticed a more happy smiling student who is beginning to show improvement in her school work.
Jeff's Place has also brought me comfort. I participate in the parents group and have found great support from other parents who have found themselves in this very difficult part of their lives. The life of a widow/widower and the life of single parenting.
Being a client of Jeff's Place I have also been able to watch the changes in the children of the other families in our group. Where once these children were shy and quiet they are now smiling and engaging in activities with each other.
Without Jeff's Place I do not know how my daughter and I would have been able to cope with the tragic death of her dad and my husband.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers