Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
37 Reviews
1234.972975
Write A Review
September 13, 2014

more

September 13, 2014

I am a Board Member and Volunteer. Although I do not see the kids in their groups I watch them interact and tell their stories to the group. I am amazed at how they progress over the year and how poised they are when they tell their story. I have also seen the impact it has had on other volunteers who have had significant losses in their lives. The interaction with the participants help not only the kids in attendance but also helps all the volunteers that participate. It is a truly amazing organization that is serving such an important role in peoples lives. Unless you experience it or know someone who has you don't understand it and that is what Jeff's Place is all about. AMAZING !!
August 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I never fully imagined the Impact Jeff's Place would have on me as a facilitator. It's not that I have any answers and I've come to realize, there are none when it comes to grieving. For each child, each parent, it appears to be a singular journey. Our role at Jeff's Place is to enable and encourage the paths to meet. For the kids, they feel 'normal' here. For the adults, they talk a familiar language. At Jeff's Place, following dinner, each child and then adult who would like, lights a candle..."I light this candle in memory of my mother, Ann', '...my son, John'. We use names, we provide a safe place to talk about how people died, how it feels, what you do when you feel sad, what makes you laugh when you remember. Jeff's Place is alive and caring and for the past 3 years I've had the privilege of observing transitions that I believe are a direct result. The courage of these families truly touches my heart. Parents and kids re-connect with one another in profound ways, having learned that they don't need to carry their pain alone. Strength is given through individual and shared experiences. Our leaders, Jenny Schreiber and Melissa Kennedy Panto arm us with gentle ways to start conversations. I am awed by their always seeming to know what to say and their encouragement to us as facilitators to trust our instincts. Protective walls slowly crumble here so that healing can begin. Who Jenny is and what she has done in creating Jeff's Place is nothing short of extraordinary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...grow it to exist in every community where it is needed, which is everywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This organization helps so many kids (and adults) feel like they are not alone. We understand them. We "get it " I hear from the clients all the time when we ask what Jeff's Place means to you. Working with this organization is a gift and a privilege.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

I have been fortunate enough to volunteer at Jeff's Place for the last few years. Jeff's Place helps families and children find their "new normal" after a loss. After the sudden loss of my mother by suicide at the age of 11, I wish I had a place like Jeff's Place back then. Jeff's Place is filled with compassionate people who dedicate their time and their lives to simply helping others transition through a loss. I am so pleased to see how families find a place where people understand what they are going through and help them know there are others like them in the world. I have been blessed by seeing how many people begin the healing process and find a new strength in their lives. Jennifer Kaplan Schreiber and Melissa Panto Kennedy are two of the finest people I have ever met and they are the real deal. I would tell any family who has experienced a loss about Jef's Place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer cofacilitator for over a year. Each time I participate I am blown away by the dedication, professionalism and generosity of the group. It has been an honor to be a part of this organization. Helping people becomes a personal journey for each of us.
The grief work
changes the lives of all of us, volunteers and families who come for comfort. It is powerful and necessary. Impressve and delicate. As I leave each time I do so in awe of the folks in my group, the children they support and my colleagues who care so much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so It could reach more people who need to participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

As a volunteer the most amazing thing that happens is to witness the amount of compassion the children have for each other. Sometimes they can say what I am thinking but don't dare to ask or say. The kids learn so much from each other. The best part is one child will tell their story, you could hear a pin drop, because it can be so intense, then another child all of a sudden will burp and everyone cracks up!! The kids are rolling on the floor laughing and making burping sounds. Next thing you know it's someone else's turn, they begin to tell the story and the laughter breaks out again. Eventually all are heard, in a very safe and clearly comfortable, and comforting atmoshpere. All have a voice at Jeff's Place, even the youngest children are heard.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I am honored to be a volunteer facilitator and board member for Jeff's Place, a place where children and their families can come and grieve with others who have had significant loss. I am amazed at how eloquently spoken each child is when they speak of their loss. We hear time after time how it is difficult to speak about their loss with others who may not understand. At Jeff's Place, we know that with each phase of their life, season, holiday, anniversary that passes, different parts of the grief process appear and that talking and sharing with other families who understand will assist in the healing process. With time, sharing and healing, surely "hope grows" at Jeff's Place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 30, 2013

more

September 30, 2013

I am both a past volunteer and current Board Member. I lost my brother when I was 16 years old and he was almost 18 at the time. Jeff's Place offers a way for kids (and families) to address the challenges and emotions that I felt and I know these kids are going through. For the kids to know that everyone at Jeff's Place "get's it" is an amazing thing that helps the kids (and families) cope with their unique tragic loss.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013

more

September 24, 2013

I am a volunteer faciIitator at Jeff's Place, now going on my 3rd year. I lost my mother to suicide at the age of 11. Unfortunately, we did not have access to a center like Jeff's Place. We tried our best as a family to cope with the pain of a major loss and the stigma/shame of suicide. Our lives, to say the least, were never going to be normal again. Because we did not have a Jeff's Place back then, I watched our family struggle. I was very fortunate to meet Jennifer Kaplan Schreiber and Melissa Kennedy Panto who through their vision help families transition through the grieving process and find their "new normal". I am amazed to see how families, with the support of Jeff's place, are able to unpack their bags of grief and express themselves in healthy healing ways. Jeff's Place provides a unique environment for all family types to have someone simply come beside them and simply show them the way toward and through the bereavement process. Each and every person, whether it is a family grieving or a volunteer helping, receives tremendous benefits from each other, from someone who "just gets it". I whole heartedly endorse Jeff's Place and I am blessed to be able to serve families who attend.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

September 24, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

What an amazing experience - to be part of people's healing. It is such a gift. I have never seen so much love and support in one place. The kids feel like someone finally "gets it" and they know they can trust us. There is nothing better then watching a family grow and (re)connect and heal. I love my nights at Jeff's Place. Hope (definitely) grows here.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers