Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

I have seen the power of Jeff's Place Children's Bereavement Center's model of providing support groups for grieving children at the same time as their parent is also finding support from their peers, a place of safety where a grieving spouse can find strength and guidance from others in the same situation. I am grateful that I can refer families to Jeff's Place, knowing that it is local, effective and that the organization provides their services at no charge to all grieving families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014

more

July 28, 2014

We lost a dear friend to suicide 3 years ago. He left behind a wife and two children, ages 10 & 13. The two kids went to Jeffs Place for a couple of years. The changes in them were huge each time they went to group. The facilitators are amazing and everytime I work a pizza night, I am amazed at all the kids, always smiling and happy. Happy tobe able to let off steam and happy to be withtheir peers who understand what they are going through, they are so lucky to have a safe place to go!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2012

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards... more

November 1, 2013

My husband died unexpectedly cutting a tree in our backyard, 3 days before our son's 5th birthday (who started kindergarten a month later). I had no family in the country and my husband's family was in Maine (we live in Massachusetts). Jeff's Place gave my son (and myself) the emotional support that allowed us to process our grief and move forward by the fantastic volunteers that make it all happen. They changed our lives and we will always be thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the program to other locations. You don't realize how many children loose a parent or a sibling until you do. There are very few organizations doing helping grieving children and they are overwhelmed (or too far away for some unlucky ones).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards his father's death from anger and hate to love and compassion but the parent group has also helped me to parent him and grieve myself. We're on our second year and we've both made amazing progress. I wish there were more centers for people that live to far to attend. I never imagined how many families were in our situation until I found Jeff's place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 6, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer cofacilitator for over a year. Each time I participate I am blown away by the dedication, professionalism and generosity of the group. It has been an honor to be a part of this organization. Helping people becomes a personal journey for each of us.
The grief work
changes the lives of all of us, volunteers and families who come for comfort. It is powerful and necessary. Impressve and delicate. As I leave each time I do so in awe of the folks in my group, the children they support and my colleagues who care so much.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Make it bigger so It could reach more people who need to participate.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 6, 2013

more

October 6, 2013

As a volunteer the most amazing thing that happens is to witness the amount of compassion the children have for each other. Sometimes they can say what I am thinking but don't dare to ask or say. The kids learn so much from each other. The best part is one child will tell their story, you could hear a pin drop, because it can be so intense, then another child all of a sudden will burp and everyone cracks up!! The kids are rolling on the floor laughing and making burping sounds. Next thing you know it's someone else's turn, they begin to tell the story and the laughter breaks out again. Eventually all are heard, in a very safe and clearly comfortable, and comforting atmoshpere. All have a voice at Jeff's Place, even the youngest children are heard.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

The thing I found most comforting about Jeff's Place was talking with peers who were dealing with the same unique challenge. After my wife died, I had a lot of thoughts and feelings that I thought we very strange. It was a good feeling to realize that I was having a common reaction to an uncommon experience. Jeff's Place gave me that.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Provide on site counseling and similar resources

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2010

October 2, 2013

more

October 2, 2013

Where do you go for help when your husband and father of two children dies very unexpectedly while on a family vacation? Thankfully, for me and my girls, that place was Jeff's Place. The range of emotions that are a 'normal' part of the grieving process are unimaginable. But in addition to that, the loss of a parent is also a very isolating experience for children at any age, but maybe even more complicated for teens or pre-teens. I remember my first phone conversation with Jenny from Jeff's Place -- an understanding voice and an invitation to attend the family meetings. I also remember her coming to our house to meet with us and how she describe the philosophy of Jeff's Place -- 'normalize' the grieving process. This may not make sense to those who haven't experienced such a profound loss, but it was very helpful for me to be mindful, that no matter how painful, we are capable of learning to live with our loss...not 'get over it'... but to LIVE with our loss. Many thanks to Jeff's Place for all the good work they have done & continue to do.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 2, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My husband died in April 2009. He left 3 kids that were really grieving. We attended Jeff's Place for 2 seasons. It was the most wonderful experience for all of us. We felt like we found others going through the same things that most other people in our lives could not even comprehend. We graduated stronger and more resilient. Jeff's Place is an important part of the grieving process.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's Place has offered my young children a safe place to connect with other kids who have lost a parent. It has also been a place for me, as a young widow, to find support from other parents who are grieving the lose of their spouse, while trying to raise their kids. It has been incredibly helpful to me over the course of several years.

There are other, similar, programs like Jeff's Place in Massachusetts, but the location and proximity for my family has been so important. In addition, Jeff's Place was able to create a new bereavement group for preschool aged children, to meet my family's specific needs.

When trying to recover from a tradegy, I've found I've had to simplify our lives, and take comfort in our family routines. But I have made going to our Jeff's Place meetings a priority, and I think it's helped my kids tremendouly.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 1, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

January 4, 2012 my seventeen year old son, Justin, died from a heart atack he suffered while at home with us. In that tragic moment, as I performed CPR on my son and I knew I could not bring him back, all I could think of was, "how am I going to help my wife and other two children find peace and joy in thier life again?" The answer was JEFF'S PLACE!
There were so many suggestions shared with us from people who wanted to help but Jeff's place was the only place we found which allowed our whole family to heal together. The staff, volunteers, familys and especially the children have givin us the support we needed in all areas of our life. My family has been moved, touched and inspired by the many people who have shared so authentically about the challenges and fears of facing such an overwhelming, and unexpected event. I would move mountains to make a difference in even one familys experience dealing with such a loss. Jeff's place provides the oppurtunity to move those mountains, not only for the children, but all the families, stafff and volunteers who share thier love, caring and hope with those who have suffered in such an unimaginable way. Everyone should know about Jeff's palce and the real people who make it happen. Thank you!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

More oppurtunities and more places for more families...

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers