Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
31 Reviews
1234.967745
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
August 14, 2014

more

August 14, 2014

I was fortunate to find out about Jeff's Place shortly after my daughter's father died (a week before her 14th birthday). We attended meetings for two years, in which we were able to share our story, hear other's stories and support one another through these difficult times. I am immensely grateful for the camaraderie and support we received during our time there and would recommend this service to anyone in a similar situation.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 13, 2014

more

August 13, 2014

We are so grateful to everyone at Jeff's Place for their care and support. From the dedication of the leaders and facilitators to the unconditional support of fellow "clients," our time at Jeff's Place was a gift that we didn't even know how much we needed. My son was fourteen years old when we started and he felt a sense of belonging right away, not an easy feat in the best of circumstances, with the caring leaders and other children. The parent groups I participated in helped me to cope with my myriad of feelings - I learned from everyone, often by just listening, despite how different many of us were. This experience brought us together and gently led us to a better place. I will be forever thankful to everyone at Jeff's Place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 11, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I never fully imagined the Impact Jeff's Place would have on me as a facilitator. It's not that I have any answers and I've come to realize, there are none when it comes to grieving. For each child, each parent, it appears to be a singular journey. Our role at Jeff's Place is to enable and encourage the paths to meet. For the kids, they feel 'normal' here. For the adults, they talk a familiar language. At Jeff's Place, following dinner, each child and then adult who would like, lights a candle..."I light this candle in memory of my mother, Ann', '...my son, John'. We use names, we provide a safe place to talk about how people died, how it feels, what you do when you feel sad, what makes you laugh when you remember. Jeff's Place is alive and caring and for the past 3 years I've had the privilege of observing transitions that I believe are a direct result. The courage of these families truly touches my heart. Parents and kids re-connect with one another in profound ways, having learned that they don't need to carry their pain alone. Strength is given through individual and shared experiences. Our leaders, Jenny Schreiber and Melissa Kennedy Panto arm us with gentle ways to start conversations. I am awed by their always seeming to know what to say and their encouragement to us as facilitators to trust our instincts. Protective walls slowly crumble here so that healing can begin. Who Jenny is and what she has done in creating Jeff's Place is nothing short of extraordinary.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...grow it to exist in every community where it is needed, which is everywhere.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's Place helped us through an extremely difficult period in our lives. My daughter had just turned 7 when her father died of a brain tumor. She did not want to talk about it with any of her friends as she didn't want to be "different" from all of them who had healthy dads. Jeff's Place provided her with a safe place to share her feelings, since everyone there was "in the same boat". All the kids knew how hard it was to be missing a mother, father or other close relative. I observed as she went from being very shy to willing to share memories of her dad. Jenny Schrieber has assembled an amazing group of caring & supportive facilitators. I highly recommend Jeff's Place to all families with children grieving the loss of a loved one!

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 9, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

When we lost our son we knew we needed to meet others who could help us and understand us. The first place we reached out to couldn't take us for almost a year! Jeff's place welcomed us into the group within a couple months. We no longer attend the group since we have moved out of state but I miss the group terribly. What a wonderful place for a child to go to to feel that they are not alone with their grief amongst their peers, and where parents can meet others too ( even though this us a children's group!). The staff and Jenny are incredible.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Clone them and move them to where we live now.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This organization helps so many kids (and adults) feel like they are not alone. We understand them. We "get it " I hear from the clients all the time when we ask what Jeff's Place means to you. Working with this organization is a gift and a privilege.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 8, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have been fortunate enough to volunteer at Jeff's Place for the last few years. Jeff's Place helps families and children find their "new normal" after a loss. After the sudden loss of my mother by suicide at the age of 11, I wish I had a place like Jeff's Place back then. Jeff's Place is filled with compassionate people who dedicate their time and their lives to simply helping others transition through a loss. I am so pleased to see how families find a place where people understand what they are going through and help them know there are others like them in the world. I have been blessed by seeing how many people begin the healing process and find a new strength in their lives. Jennifer Kaplan Schreiber and Melissa Panto Kennedy are two of the finest people I have ever met and they are the real deal. I would tell any family who has experienced a loss about Jef's Place.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I have seen the power of Jeff's Place Children's Bereavement Center's model of providing support groups for grieving children at the same time as their parent is also finding support from their peers, a place of safety where a grieving spouse can find strength and guidance from others in the same situation. I am grateful that I can refer families to Jeff's Place, knowing that it is local, effective and that the organization provides their services at no charge to all grieving families.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

None

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

We lost a dear friend to suicide 3 years ago. He left behind a wife and two children, ages 10 & 13. The two kids went to Jeffs Place for a couple of years. The changes in them were huge each time they went to group. The facilitators are amazing and everytime I work a pizza night, I am amazed at all the kids, always smiling and happy. Happy tobe able to let off steam and happy to be withtheir peers who understand what they are going through, they are so lucky to have a safe place to go!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

November 1, 2013

more


1 previous review
March 3, 2012

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards... more

November 1, 2013

My husband died unexpectedly cutting a tree in our backyard, 3 days before our son's 5th birthday (who started kindergarten a month later). I had no family in the country and my husband's family was in Maine (we live in Massachusetts). Jeff's Place gave my son (and myself) the emotional support that allowed us to process our grief and move forward by the fantastic volunteers that make it all happen. They changed our lives and we will always be thankful for them.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would expand the program to other locations. You don't realize how many children loose a parent or a sibling until you do. There are very few organizations doing helping grieving children and they are overwhelmed (or too far away for some unlucky ones).

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 3, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

Jeff's place has been invaluable to my son and myself in the long journey of grief. The resources for grieving children are scarce and hard to come by. Not only it has turned my son's attitude towards his father's death from anger and hate to love and compassion but the parent group has also helped me to parent him and grieve myself. We're on our second year and we've both made amazing progress. I wish there were more centers for people that live to far to attend. I never imagined how many families were in our situation until I found Jeff's place.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers