Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
50 Reviews
1234.985
Write A Review
July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was working for an organization that helps non-profits raise money with the help of digital music downloads when I found Jeffrey's Voice on Twitter. I had been researching various charities for weeks, but something stood out about Jeffrey's Voice. After visiting their website to learn more and viewing their YouTube videos, I felt compelled to do try and help them in some way. Soon after, I spoke to the founder and President, Nancy Horne. Nancy's videos, her posts, her words... touched my soul in a way that I still cannot explain. I have never met a woman so dedicated, determined - so STRONG. Her life was changed forever by a disease called Leukemia and now she is carrying on the legacy of the two sons that this disease took from her so that other families, children...mothers and fathers don't feel the pain that she and her family feel. I HIGHLY recommend Jeffrey's Voice and I STRONGLY encourage others to get involved and join in the fight to cure leukemia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Jeffrey's Voice is not just another non-profit organization; it's the heart and soul of a mother, Nancy Horne, who lived through a mother's worst nightmare, poured into a determined goal of finding a cure for the deadly disease that so profoundly affected her family. It is a privilege for my husband and me to be involved with this effort born out of love and so dedicated to its goal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Horne family have created Jeffrey's Voice to help raise money and awareness for Leukemia and other blood cancers. A family friend was diagnosed with Leukemia last year. Jeffrey's Voice was these for support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am proud to be a board member for Jeffrey's Voice. Our sole purpose is to find a cure for leukemia and other blood cancers. Our mission is to fund research to find a cure for leukemia and support the Bone Marrow Transplant Department at Winship Cancer Institute, Emory University Hospital. This was the mission of two young brothers, Jeffrey Horne, a victim of Acute Mylogenous and his younger brother, bone marrow/stem cell transplant donor, Brian Horne. Both young men were vocal in expressing the need for research for a cure and participated in a variety of charitable activties on behalf of this cause, before their death. My friend Nancy Horne, the mother of the two young men, founder of Jeffrey's Voice, life changed in the blink of an eye. I will never be able to mend her broken heart. But, I have been willing to support the wishes and dreams of Jeffrey, Brian, and Nancy by serving on the board. Together as a nonprofit group, we look for ways to educate the public about blood cancers and support the research team at Emory University Hospital. Personally, I have written letters to friends and family. I, along with the help of my grand children, had a cider stand to raise money to support our mission. As a member of the board, we had our first annual charitable event last November. We continue to look for funds so that the day will come when no more are lost to leukemia, when all remissions are permanent, and when finally there is a cure for all. Peggy Rusk Bladen

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Horne Family works tirelessly to rid the world of this vicious disease that took the life of their young adult son and then 2nd son from complications related to trying to save the first son. No family should ever have to experience such loss. However, they face the challenge of spreading the word about research and finding cures with such grace. If we could only help them in their fight-perhaps their story would be seen as a triumph rather than a tragedy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Jeffrey's Voice 5k was amazing. My best friend died of leukemia a few years ago and although it was devastating, I wanted to keep her spirit alive. Participating in 5ks (and other similar events) has allowed me to do just that. In the few years since Christy's passing I've run a number of 5ks, but this particular event for ~ Jeffrey's Voice and a cure for Leukemia ~ was VERY well organized and the positive energy was contagious! The most exciting part of this event was students' leading role in its realization. I'm a teacher and Christy was a children's nurse, thus, watching the next generation take such a proactive step towards educating the community and finding a cure was inspiring! And yes, the pancakes were also pretty amazing :-) Soria E. Colomer, MA, NBCT
Southern Regional Education Board Dissertation Scholar
Teaching Assistant, Department of Language and Literacy Education
University of Georgia


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are not enough words to begin to describe the amazing efforts of Jeffrey's Voice; but the story behind it is greater than that. The story is tragic, yet shows just how much of a difference, the two young men who inspired Jeffrey's Voice, really did make, and have continued to make, even after the loss of those wonderful men. I witnessed the story, from the beginning, being Jeffrey's girlfriend throughout high school and college. It is devastating what Leukemia (AML) can do to a person, not only physically, but emotionally, and to those around. Mrs. Horne, Jeffrey and Brian's mother, has established the charity in order to continue to fight, for a cure for the wretched disease. Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University, (where Jeffrey was treated) has even seen what a difference Jeffrey's Voice is making, by critical research being done there, that Jeffrey's Voice has helped fund. Every part of Jeffrey's Voice, every cent, goes to helping find a cure for Leukemia. But more importantly than that, Jeff and Brian Horne's voices continue to be heard, through the hard work and dedication of the organization. Jeffrey's Voice is a charity that won't give up ~ not ever, and not until we find a cure for this horrific disease.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more

July 13, 2012

The story of the start of this great organization is a sad one. It has touched me and many other people personally. The Horne brothers were great friends and members of the Delta Chi Fraternity at Georgia Southern University. Unfortunately while still such a young man, Jeff was diagnosed with Leukemia and passed away less than a year later before his 21st birthday. His younger brother then passed away from heart complications a short time later. While this would be enough to devestate anyone for the rest of their life, Nancy Horne decided to turn her sadness into a great cause and organization, Jeffrey's Voice. She has given everything she has to promote this organization and take it to the next level. While many organizations claim to be non-profit and only some of the money you donate actually gets to the cause, that is definitely not the case with Jeffrey's Voice. All of the money raised goes directly to the cause. Mrs. Nancy even covers a lot of the overhead out of her own pocket! While we will never be able to bring back our great friends Jeff and Brian, we can ensure that their memory and legacy is not forgotten through this great organization. I highly recommend getting involved!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 13, 2012

more


1 previous review
June 17, 2011

Jeffrey's Voice was established by a dear friend of mine out of the pain of the loss of 2 of her sons due to the impact of leukemia in their lives. Rather than crawl up in silence, Nancy took her pain... more

July 13, 2012

Jeffrey's Voice is an organization founded on nothing but love. Two young men who wanted their life experience with leukemia to bring about a cure for future patients and a mother who is bold and strong enough to carry out her sons dreams. Because it has been created on nothing but love, there is no financial gain for anyone but research organizations capable of fulfilling the mission of Jeffrey's Voice - to find a cure for leukemia.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

June 17, 2011

Jeffrey's Voice was established by a dear friend of mine out of the pain of the loss of 2 of her sons due to the impact of leukemia in their lives. Rather than crawl up in silence, Nancy took her pain and turned it into action motivated by her sons who had wanted, more than anything, to find a cure for leukemia. And she's not sitting around waiting for funds to come to her - she's going out in every possible direction and seeking resources to go directly to leukemia and other blood cancer research.

Jeffrey's Voice affects me personally because, in addition to my love and awe for the Horne family, my son grew up with Jeff and Brian. He, too, supports their cause due to their passion as well as his own personal connection. Kirk is a blood cancer (Hodgkins Lymphoma) survivor.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

my attendance at the presentation of a $50,000 check from Jeffrey's Voice to Emory's Winship Cancer Institute.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

...don't know of any changes.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

July 11, 2012

more

July 11, 2012

I have been involved with Nancy and her cause since earlier this year. The story of Jeffrey's Voice is touching in that Nancy lost not just one, but two sons. Nancy & Jeffrey's Voice are advocating for a cure for leukemia. Jeffrey's Voice is very active on social media to help spread education and awareness. I have learned alot from their posts.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in fundraising efforts.