Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
42 Reviews
1234.976195
| 1 2 34 |
Write A Review
July 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

My husband, our son and I have been living in a daily nightmare, leukemia is that nightmare, and that nightmare is our reality. I came across Jeffrey's Voice trying to find an organization dedicated to curing this terrible disease. Jeffrey's voice has offered my family knowledge, hope, love and most of all support. Nancy Horne, who started this organization drove several hours to visit my husband after we received the heart breaking news that my husband had relapsed for the fourth time at the young age of 27. He has fought this demon for 9 long, hard years. Mrs. Horne has reminded us Daily, several times a day that there are people in this world that are dedicated to this terrible disease that seemed to go unnoticed. When my husband was told there was no other treatments available for him here is Georgia Mrs. Horne and Jeffrey's Voice put us in contact with individuals at MD Anderson hospital in Houston, Tx where we traveled alone, frightened and desperate. Jeffrey's voice made certain that we were not alone however, we received help and support from other people that are involved with Jeffrey's Voice. We were visited by strangers who offered their help and advice. I personally have never traveled, never been away from home and never ventured into the unknown on my own, I was terrified to face this ordeal and to be so far from home but Jeffrey's Voice gave me peace and comfort. This organization has had an enormous and positive impact on my husband and me. I know with out any doubt that the members and volunteers of Jeffrey's Voice will continue to help others who live the daily nightmare of leukemia. I have been so very blessed to have found an organization that offers knowledge, hope, love and support and I could never express my sincere appreciation.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

If I could change anything with Jeffrey's Voice it would only be the amount of recognition it has received. This organization deserves more publicity and financial support. The people of Jeffrey's Voice have dedicated their lives to helping others and that itself deserves an enormous amount of praise.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

My wife Terri Peet is fighting Leukemia (ALL). She was diagnosed in July 2011. When we first found out the news we were lost and didn't know what to do. I began searching online for other people to connect with that had gone through the same experience. I found a couple of organizations that I really enjoyed, one of which was Jeffrey's Voice. I was so happy to see all the work that was done to try to rid the world of the horrible disease Leukemia. The lady that runs it is Ms. Nancy Horne, whom I have never met, but with whom I feel a kinship with because she can identify with me in the worst kind of way. She lost her precious son Jeffrey to leukemia and her other precious son Brian a short time later due to a broken heart. Every penny that is made by this organization goes to ridding the world of this terrible disease, nothing more. My wife is currently in remission and I pray that she stays that way. I would never want to lose her...

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have dealt with many organizations in the past 2 years since being diagnosed with leukemia. After speaking with Nancy she more than convinced me of her true compassion and dedication to finding a cure.When it comes from a mother who has battled this with and for her children, it shows what an honorable mother , leader and fighter she is.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 30, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I was working for an organization that helps non-profits raise money with the help of digital music downloads when I found Jeffrey's Voice on Twitter. I had been researching various charities for weeks, but something stood out about Jeffrey's Voice. After visiting their website to learn more and viewing their YouTube videos, I felt compelled to do try and help them in some way. Soon after, I spoke to the founder and President, Nancy Horne. Nancy's videos, her posts, her words... touched my soul in a way that I still cannot explain. I have never met a woman so dedicated, determined - so STRONG. Her life was changed forever by a disease called Leukemia and now she is carrying on the legacy of the two sons that this disease took from her so that other families, children...mothers and fathers don't feel the pain that she and her family feel. I HIGHLY recommend Jeffrey's Voice and I STRONGLY encourage others to get involved and join in the fight to cure leukemia.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 20, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

Jeffrey's Voice is not just another non-profit organization; it's the heart and soul of a mother, Nancy Horne, who lived through a mother's worst nightmare, poured into a determined goal of finding a cure for the deadly disease that so profoundly affected her family. It is a privilege for my husband and me to be involved with this effort born out of love and so dedicated to its goal.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 17, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Horne family have created Jeffrey's Voice to help raise money and awareness for Leukemia and other blood cancers. A family friend was diagnosed with Leukemia last year. Jeffrey's Voice was these for support.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I am proud to be a board member for Jeffrey's Voice. Our sole purpose is to find a cure for leukemia and other blood cancers. Our mission is to fund research to find a cure for leukemia and support the Bone Marrow Transplant Department at Winship Cancer Institute, Emory University Hospital. This was the mission of two young brothers, Jeffrey Horne, a victim of Acute Mylogenous and his younger brother, bone marrow/stem cell transplant donor, Brian Horne. Both young men were vocal in expressing the need for research for a cure and participated in a variety of charitable activties on behalf of this cause, before their death. My friend Nancy Horne, the mother of the two young men, founder of Jeffrey's Voice, life changed in the blink of an eye. I will never be able to mend her broken heart. But, I have been willing to support the wishes and dreams of Jeffrey, Brian, and Nancy by serving on the board. Together as a nonprofit group, we look for ways to educate the public about blood cancers and support the research team at Emory University Hospital. Personally, I have written letters to friends and family. I, along with the help of my grand children, had a cider stand to raise money to support our mission. As a member of the board, we had our first annual charitable event last November. We continue to look for funds so that the day will come when no more are lost to leukemia, when all remissions are permanent, and when finally there is a cure for all. Peggy Rusk Bladen

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

The Horne Family works tirelessly to rid the world of this vicious disease that took the life of their young adult son and then 2nd son from complications related to trying to save the first son. No family should ever have to experience such loss. However, they face the challenge of spreading the word about research and finding cures with such grace. If we could only help them in their fight-perhaps their story would be seen as a triumph rather than a tragedy.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 16, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

The Jeffrey's Voice 5k was amazing. My best friend died of leukemia a few years ago and although it was devastating, I wanted to keep her spirit alive. Participating in 5ks (and other similar events) has allowed me to do just that. In the few years since Christy's passing I've run a number of 5ks, but this particular event for ~ Jeffrey's Voice and a cure for Leukemia ~ was VERY well organized and the positive energy was contagious! The most exciting part of this event was students' leading role in its realization. I'm a teacher and Christy was a children's nurse, thus, watching the next generation take such a proactive step towards educating the community and finding a cure was inspiring! And yes, the pancakes were also pretty amazing :-) Soria E. Colomer, MA, NBCT
Southern Regional Education Board Dissertation Scholar
Teaching Assistant, Department of Language and Literacy Education
University of Georgia


More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

July 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

July 14, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

There are not enough words to begin to describe the amazing efforts of Jeffrey's Voice; but the story behind it is greater than that. The story is tragic, yet shows just how much of a difference, the two young men who inspired Jeffrey's Voice, really did make, and have continued to make, even after the loss of those wonderful men. I witnessed the story, from the beginning, being Jeffrey's girlfriend throughout high school and college. It is devastating what Leukemia (AML) can do to a person, not only physically, but emotionally, and to those around. Mrs. Horne, Jeffrey and Brian's mother, has established the charity in order to continue to fight, for a cure for the wretched disease. Winship Cancer Institute of Emory University, (where Jeffrey was treated) has even seen what a difference Jeffrey's Voice is making, by critical research being done there, that Jeffrey's Voice has helped fund. Every part of Jeffrey's Voice, every cent, goes to helping find a cure for Leukemia. But more importantly than that, Jeff and Brian Horne's voices continue to be heard, through the hard work and dedication of the organization. Jeffrey's Voice is a charity that won't give up ~ not ever, and not until we find a cure for this horrific disease.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Assist in fundraising efforts.