Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
24 Reviews
1234.958335
Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review
July 15, 2013

more

July 15, 2013

I couldn't create a better volunteer experience if I tailored it myself. The office is well organized, and the staff and volunteers are among the most dedicated and intelligent people I've encountered in a long time. (And they're nice, too.) I record books or edit the recordings of others, and I feel that I'm making a real difference to people who need what I do; I also learn so much in the process. The work done by this organization is truly extraordinary, and it is gratifying to be a part of it.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Try to expand its reach!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 3, 2013

more

July 3, 2013

Pleasant supervisor and work conditions. I volunteer by proof listening to recorded books and
ensuring high quality accuracy.

It is fulfilling to volunteer and giving back to society.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Likely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I have been a volunteer in the JBI recording studio for 12+ years. It is the most fulfilling volunteer experience I have ever had. The work is extremely interesting and very rewarding, the staff members are terrific, and I have become good friends with my recording partner. I feel terrific every time I leave the studio, knowing that I have helped a visually impaired person "read."

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I've been a volunteer at JBI for over 10 years and it has been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life. The staff are delightful, friendly helpfull -- and they really appreciate their volunteers and value their time. The volunteers are bright, friendly, interesting people who are a pleasure to work with. The work is fun and gratifying and I really feel as though I'm opening a new world of books and magazines to people and keeping them in touch with the world.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I can't think of any way to make it better!

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 2, 2013

more

July 2, 2013

I love this experience. I believe that books are the eyes of the future. By recording books, I can provide those eyes and make great works available to others. And JBI is the best! You are respected and you have the opportunity to learn so much from everyone who works and volunteers there. It is a chance to give back in a way that is meaningful. I am so grateful to JBI.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

hire more people for quality control to help produce the books faster.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

July 1, 2013

more

July 1, 2013

To find an organization comprised of such caring, concerned, generous people is rare. The fact that these people are also knowledgeable, highly skilled, and cuttting-edge in their respective fields is extraordinary.

It has been my pleasure to volunteer as a narrator at JBI for the last
couple of years, and I hope to continue to work here in this heartening environment where everyone's joy in "doing good" is uplifting and infectious.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 30, 2013

more

June 30, 2013

My experience at JBI has been exceptional in three ways:
1. JBI values their volunteers' time. When you go to JBI, you're there to work. There's no waiting around, no disorganized volunteer coordinators trying to find something for you to do, no pointless tasks handed off because no one else
wanted to do them.
2. There's an obvious link between volunteer efforts and recipients. We record books and magazine articles, assist in directing the recordings, and quality control the recordings. The vision impaired then gain access to various publications. The distance between effort and who benefits is so much closer than with other volunteer efforts, where organizations ask for help with administrative tasks, fund raisers and other intermediate, albeit necessary, tasks that are a few steps removed from the intended beneficiaries.
3. The work is edifying. In the process of QC'ing recordings, I've been exposed to books and magazine articles I otherwise never would have read. Plus, I've had the opportunity to work with extremely intelligent fellow volunteers and JBI staff.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Have the occasional visually impaired recipient stop by the recording studio so volunteers get an even more immediate connection between their work and who benefits from it.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

Volunteer for 16+ years. Wonderful group of people.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

JBI International has some truly wonderful people and is the highlight of my week. I enjoy going to the studio and help wherever I can whether it is editing an audio book, directing a reader or quality control of the almost finished book for the blind or sight impaired. i would highly recommend to anyone who is interested in helping those to have access to books and magazines not otherwise available to them.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

June 28, 2013

more

June 28, 2013

I started volunteering at JBI International after reading an ad for a large print Hagadah in a local newspaper. Little did I know that it would become a highlight of my week. At that time, the recordings were done on a reel to reel machine and some training was needed. The person (is still on the staff) who trained me was most patient and understanding since I have no mechanical skills whatsoever. I have subsequently learned that the entire staff has these virtues as well as being friendly, caring, helpful, understanding, etc. They are very knowledgeable about the workings of a computer and the subject matter that is being recorded. Questions are answered with a smile!! We are one big happy family making a major contribution to those in need - - -

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 3 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers