Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
41 Reviews
1234.926835
Write A Review
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

Jazz Bridge serves a much under served yet deserving community with its medical, legal or financial difficulties. It also serves an educational function. All members of the board are volunteers and all donations are directed toward the organization's primary purpose.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Some

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 28, 2014

more


1 previous review
February 27, 2011

My mother, the late Susan B. Ford, was involved with Jazz Bridge in it's formation. She along with the founders, Wendy Simon and Suzanne Cloud, came together with countless others to give something ba... more

October 28, 2014

I came to Jazz Bridge as the second generation - my mother was the first. They are NOT just about Community, but their fellow man or woman, jazz and blues artist. They have helped countless individuals in need or crisis. Whether it's a gig, assistance with a place to live, medical, mental and dental problems. Sometimes all that is needed is a kind word or some direction. Jazz Bridge has been there when no one else was. They have even been there for me, spiritually and personally. Thank you for EVERYTHING and not just the music. God Bless you 365 days of the year!

KT

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

They need more donations and grant money. This is a thankless job, and non-profits don't get thanked often.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 27, 2011

My mother, the late Susan B. Ford, was involved with Jazz Bridge in it's formation. She along with the founders, Wendy Simon and Suzanne Cloud, came together with countless others to give something back. Not just for the musicians they help, but to the people that need it most - talented and gifted people who just don't always have what they need to get the job done.

Jazz Bridge allows individuals to share their gift with the public at large. And it's a wonderful thing to behold. From the woman who needs dental work to smile at her audience while she plays to the 90 year old musician who needed legal assistance for righting a wrong.

This isn't an organization about politics or the color of skin... they help ANYONE in the music business get a fair shake and who, for whatever reason, are without resources. Jazz Bridge has formed incredible relationships with the community at large. Medical, legal, psychological and local government, just to name a few.

Through Community Concerts in PA & NJ, they raise money to pay musicians for their performances and put something back in the till, for a rainy day. It's hard to balance providing music to the community and helping musicians in need, but that what Jazz Bridge is ALL about.

It would be easy to just go along in life and ignore what is put before you, but Jazz Bridge is about helping and giving back, unconditionally. With the public's assistance, more people in the arts can be helped. It doesn't happen unless you get on board. I did and I am better for it.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

By getting involved.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Invite more people to make a donation and help someone you don't even know. Or ask them to attend the Community Concerts and see what their contributions can do.

October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The wonderful folks at Jazz Bridge are a tremendous help to jazz and blues musicians in the Philadelphia tri-state area . . . and by this they have also become a pillar of the community at large. Their work includes developing continuing opportunities for musicians to perform through their own concert series (which seems to be growing all the time), public service information about everything from grant opportunities, health care and legal information to connecting musicians with other professionals. And most importantly they lend a hand to countless musicians with difficult life situations and help them find solutions where they would otherwise have no where to turn. They have organized fundraisers for people with cancer, helped to resolve legal issues with musicians housing, even helped elderly musicians by organizing a ride to the doctor for them- Jazz Bridge is there to help in anyway they can. The Jazz Bridge Project truly makes a difference with the work they do. As a Jazz musician I am over joyed to know that they are in my corner if I need them.
October 28, 2014

more

October 28, 2014

The tireless and creative work and dedication of "Jazz Bridge Project Inc. has been a Godsend to the community of jazz musicians in Philadelphia and surrounding areas. Helping and assisting those who are down on their luck in a severely underpaid profession with no financial security for later life and years. Coming to the aid of a proud and dignified profession of wonderful gifted musicians and singers who bring to glorious life the true American music and art form , jazz. I have witnessed the courage and determination of the people at Jazz Bridge and all the good they are doing and continue to do for the community of jazz musicians. My gratitude is boundless for all that they have done and continue to do. Larry DiTommaso
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

Jazz Bridge has filled a need in the music community that has been dear to my heart for years now. To provide support when you have a problem in a private and confidential manner is immeasurable. We are here to help one another and that is a space that Jazz Bridge has done over and over again for a part of our community that provides us with the magic of music. In addition, their public work with their neighborhood concert series is a wonderful way to provide musicians with work and promote the vision of Jazz Bridge while doing so. I enjoy them immensely.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

This organization is an angel on the Philly jazz scene. They do so much for musicians with so few resources. I have been a friend and supporter for years and will continue to be one. Highly recommended.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

A bit over two years ago, I was in the midst of a personal, professional, health and financial crisis. It was as far down as one could get, and as falls go, it was pretty quick, as not long before, I had been a more-than-successful jazz drummer, recording artist, video producer with Warner Bros. , columnist with Scripps-Howard, and happy and secure in my personal life.

The beautiful folks at Jazz Bridge, notably Suzanne Cloud and Wendy Simon Sinkler found out about my situation. Ms. Cloud, who I had not seen in years, tracked me down. I was looking, feeling and playing lousy, without drums and without computer. At first, I didn't want the help of Jazz Bridge or anyone else. I think that's why it's called "foolish pride." I eventually broke down and accepted the assistance of Jazz Bridge. In short order. Jazz Bridge got me a computer, a set of drums, and because of their faith me me as a writer, installed me in the Jazz Bridge Public Relations chair. It took about a year, but my writing career resumed, I'm busier playing jazz now than I have been in 40 years, am handling public relations for a variety of clients, feel well, look well, etc.

Let me tell you how important Jazz Bridge is: If not for them, I wouldn't be here. Nor would lots of others. I vowed to them at the start, that I would be more than happy to tell my story--loudly, frequently and to anyone within earshot--about how essential and important Jazz Bridge is to our community.

It would be impossible for me to adequately express my gratitude for what they did for me. I can only hope that my love for all those in the organization comes through in my writing and above all, via my playing.
October 27, 2014

more

October 27, 2014

In this business, we do not get any benefits, even as small as sick day pay. When serious illness causes financial strife, there's no one to turn to, and that's where Jazz Bridge steps in and helps to help its own.
October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more


1 previous review
February 27, 2011

Jazz Bridge is such a necessary and special nonprofit. The dedication and valuable hard work is so inspiring. I have had the privilege of listening to concerts at the Cheltenham Art Center and can te... more

October 17, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

It is true for so many artists that one often is not sure when the money will be there and there are times in everyones life that help is needed for the unforeseen.
What a wonderful organization to have something to turn to!
And then to hear the wonderful musicians for so little and get
the music out there for the people that have never had the incredible experience of jazz.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

February 27, 2011

Jazz Bridge is such a necessary and special nonprofit. The dedication and valuable hard work is so inspiring. I have had the privilege of listening to concerts at the Cheltenham Art Center and can testify
what a thrill that is. Not only does Jazz Bridge bring much needed help to those who
bring so much joy and hope to the world with their playing and singing, as an added benefit they continue this vital art form by making it an affordable one too.
To be there in time of crisis is a very noble thing and my hope is that Jazz
Bridge will get stronger and stronger to help so many more in need.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

N/A

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Perhaps more general publicity of the concerts and the wonderful work that is done through them.

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 17, 2013
2 people found this review helpful

This group helps jazz and blues musicians to cope with difficult situations by providing financial and other sorts of support. The funds come from neighborhood jazz concerts presenting the best musicians in the area. Of course the musicians in need benefit greatly, but over the years the organization's committed leaders have also greatly expanded the opportunities for listeners to hear great music and for musicians to have fairly paid opportunities to play. The concerts are designed to be conveniently accessible to everyone in the region, and they're scheduled in early evening so young people can attend. There's a special question-and-answer period so people can learn more about this great American cultural treasure. With the commercial market for jazz and other forms of art music shrinking, organizations like Jazz Bridge become more and more important in preserving jazz as a live, spontaneously created art form. Yes, it helps musicians in need, but it's also a great benefit to present and future music lovers.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers

3 hours of volunteer time for this nonprofit will...

Provide outreach by manning a table at our concerts!