Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
22 Reviews
1234.954555
Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review
July 23, 2014

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 27, 2014

I attended JayaDevi's Umrao Jaan ki Raat event last Saturday and I must say, I left with a feeling of anticipation that I can't wait for the next event. It was an evening showcasing the phenonmenal ta... more

July 23, 2014

I attended the Kitchrie Festival over the last weekend and it was the best ever! The caliber of the musicians, the performers, the dancers...were top rated. I have never been to anything like this in South Florida. I would have paid $50 to see this show.
We were educated on a brief history of
the Indo-Caribbean heritage and even though we are from different countries, we got a see the similarities within our culture through the performing arts.
The play, though very comical, had a very strong message about family, unity and the purpose of the higher power in our lives. Can't wait to see this group on stage again!
The JAI Dancers added the 3rd dimension to the shows, the dances were the binding element of the production.
The entertainers from Suriname, Guyana, Trinidad and Jamaica, performing together, on one stage, epitomizes the mission statement of JAI. I will continue to support this organization in any way I can because I see the continuous growth and the positive influence JAI is having in the wider community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended JayaDevi's Umrao Jaan ki Raat event last Saturday and I must say, I left with a feeling of anticipation that I can't wait for the next event. It was an evening showcasing the phenonmenal talent of our Indo-Caribbean Community. The performances were top notched and you can clearly see the level of dedication and committment that went into making this event the success it was. If this event is any indication of the what is in store for us from JayaDevi, then I know our culture will continue to prosper and forge a new identity in South Florida. JayaDevi Arts Inc is not only bringing cultural awareness to the community through visual and performing arts but also teaching and mentoring the dancers to be independent and confident young ladies. Congratulations on a phenomenal job and wishing JAI continued success in 2014!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of this Organization for 2 years and I have personally seen the phenomenal growth of JAI in such a short time. They have never lost focus of their mission statement and continue to grow and educate our community through the Arts. The caliber of their Indo-Caribbean theatrical productions continues to exceed expectations.
For my nominal donation, I get so much from JAI; to me it's an investment in my children's future. The group continues to mentor and train dancers in awareness, discipline, self confidence and professionalism through the Arts.
A vivacious bunch of people with a common goal...preserving Indo-Caribbean culture.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand throughout the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One of the most organized and well-regulated non-profit organizations I have ever been involved in. Their goal is simply to preserve and educate american born west/east Indians about our rich and beautiful culture. The active members are doing a wonderful job at achieving this goal and are over experienced in their area of expertise. Combing both south and north Indian culture was a revolutionary idea that made our dance, music, and art much more exciting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

February 1, 2014

more

February 1, 2014

Had the best time ever at your recent function, Umaro Jaan Ki Raat at Walter C Young. Excellent show, well organized, fantastic dances and fabulous cultural family event. Thanks for a great night out.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

help them find more volunteers and in-kind services

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

The event Umaro Jaan Ki Raat hosted by JayaDevi Arts was a phenomenal well put together showe! I received an award for great service to the community, but it's shows and programs like this that makes us performers want to participate in such events. It's was such a lovely evening for the entire family. I brought my children and for a long time they enjoyed the evening and was very entertained. The idea of a dinner and dance formal event was mind blowing. Not often do you see West Indian events like this put together for the community! I was way beyond my expectations, and the program was well organized and put together! The cultural program that was featured showed different aspects of our culture! Thank you all for recognizing me in the community, and in look forward to this organization to promote and bring more shows and events like this to our West Indian community thanks to the amazing Denyse Babolal.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

January 30, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 24, 2013

We are soooo Happy and great full for an organization like Jayadevi Arts!! They show are unique and of high standards. They teach the younger American born they heritage of the parents, and the immig... more

January 30, 2014

Jayadevi's Umrao Jaan Ki Raat was the talk of the town!!! The stage was transformed to the courtyard from the Movie Umrao Jaan, the students created their own solo dancers which displayed their skills and level of learning, the local singers Shaina Rashid, Vidya Gosine, Neera Maharaj and Neil Persad were exemplary and the guest artists Headliner Amit Inderdeo was exceptional and engaged the crowd they loved him!!! International Dancer Zaman razzled and dazzled the audience with his costumes changes, Wings prop, and great facial expressions. Indian Goddess Sundari--- a drag queen did a fantastic Mujra dance!!! The audience request the same performance a 2nd time back by popular demand! Which non profit Arts Culture organization recognizes and award members of the community for their outstanding achievements and dedication to the community??? Jayadevi did!!! The awards were not corporate standard awards but something that was artsy and would stand out in their collection of awards/trophies.

Jayadevi Arts a 5 year 5013c organization have been make WAVES in South FL. This event is just the beginning ...... In 5-10 years their vision is to have the first Indo-Caribbean Cultural Center in SFL !!!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Need more passionate volunteers, committee members and board members

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of advisors?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 24, 2013

We are soooo Happy and great full for an organization like Jayadevi Arts!! They show are unique and of high standards. They teach the younger American born they heritage of the parents, and the immigrants who havent been home in years a nostalgic feeling of our culture, arts, festival and shows. I wish them more and more success for the great work they are doing!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would grant them a permanent home or cultural center

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

This program was certainly beyond my expectations. It was a full house program with an all out cultural program promoting the beautiful students, what they learned and the culture of Bollywood mujra. They set the stage and the mood for the audience as the program promised too. It was fun! I can't wait till next years Jaya Devi arts production!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Likely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 30, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

Jayadevi Arts hosted an event called Umrao Jaan Ki Raat. It was mind blowing!!! For $15 we received Dinner, dessert that was sooo wonderfully moist and tasty, A full 1hour dance recital, and concert for 1hr, they awarded members from the community who preserved and promote our Arts & Culture in South FL. The stage design and centerpieces were jaw dropping. It was a please donating the awards, sodas & water to this organization and WILL continue to support them. Thank you for an amazing experience.... This show was like attending a Broadway play in NY!

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Get more Manpower or trusted volunteers to assist. We saw the limited help and the struggles the few endured

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jaya Devi arts is a great way for our younger generation to get involved in the cultural community. By Presenting, Promoting and Preserving Indo-Caribbean Arts & Culture in a non profit organization they have done so in various shows, event, cultural and family fun events and concerts. The various dance services she provides are Dance Edu for Kathak and Chutney dance which when they put on a show is really one to watch! They work really hard to promote fun and keep our youngsters from doing other means of things by preserving their heritage and training them well.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

A lot

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Quite well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Likely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 19, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

Jayadevi's is one the best things to happen in South Florida to Indo-Caribbean arts & Culture and everywhere it can be seen. There performances to events that have been hosted have done a great deal to alot of people and have been very enjoyable by many.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

August 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

more

August 15, 2013
3 people found this review helpful

Jaya Devi Arts is a non-profit organization filling a much needed void in Florida for the Indo- Caribbean community's culture. I was pleased to know that even though there are few Indo-Caribbeans in Florida ...our rich Indo-Caribbean culture will not die. Jaya Daya upholds the art of dance and maintains the Indo-Caribbean culture to the best of its ability. To know tha Indo-Caribbean Floridians can celebrate holidays like Holi, and Diwali and have cultural dancing and singing and ethnic food will welcome more Indo Caribbeans to the Sunny State of Florida. I would like to congratulate and commend the organizers of JDA and encourage them to keep the culture alive with their dance classes, lectures, shows and cultural devotional offerings! God Bless
-Lakshmee Singh
"Let's Talk With Lakshmee Tv Show"

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand with more classes and teachers

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

Previous | 1 2 |
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers