Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
30 Reviews
1234.85
Write A Review
October 1, 2014

more


1 previous review
July 22, 2013

This organization moves mountains in South Florida in the Indo-Caribbean community more

October 1, 2014

Jayadevi Arts Inc Have blown away the community with the first Indo-Caribbean musical dance drama in South Florida. 30 cast members and musicians from every Indo-Caribbean community. I was very impressed with the production!
July 22, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

This organization moves mountains in South Florida in the Indo-Caribbean community

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

A lot

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

August 29, 2014

more

August 29, 2014

It was a privilege to act in the play "Chakay." I've grown to know more about my culture and traditions. I was also able to develop new acting technique and lean from other cast members. What excited me the most was going to new places ( Fort Lauderdale) and meeting new people. The entire journey was fun and adventurous.

Thank you to RCC and JayaDevi arts for allowing me to be apart of the cast.


August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

It was an honor to be a cast member of the in Kitchrie 2014 "Chakay". This play was a great experience for me. I was able to develop new skills in theater and made wonderful new friends. Thank you JayaDevi Arts Inc and RCC for giving me the opportunity to be part of this project to educate our community about our Heritage, and stigmas associated with our culture in the art form.

I have worked the both of these Organizations in the past and each time there is always something new to learn. They open the doors for new individuals when on one else does.

Looking forward to seeing more events like this in the future. Keep up the great work.

Zaman

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

A lot

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Likely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Okay

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2014

more

August 28, 2014

JayaDevi is serving a much needed,& very crucial part in the Cultural Arts scene in Florida.That of endeavoring to preserve & grow the rich cultural heritage & history of IndoCaribbeans that now live elsewhere.If what I saw at this Kitchrie weekend is a representative sample, then they are well on their way to their goal.Through music,dance, drama, etc.audiences of all races were introduced to the vast cultural tapestry that is the IndoCaribbean heritage.It brought together performers of all ages, ranging from the littlest dancer of 4 years, so eager to learn & absorb, through all the ages between, up to the elders, our custodians-eager to share & pass on their knowledge.Because the show included performers from the various countries of the Diaspora, you were able to see how while all countries had some basics in common, there were also aspects that had stayed unique to their individual countries.These were the best of the best,found & brought together to show what they do so well.Sharing their knowledge & learning, passing it on.JayaDevi is well in the forefront of this cultural surge.I am proud to have assisted in this project.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

August 28, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I went to the “Kitchrie Festival 2014 Chaakay” on July 19, 2014 at Hollywood Performing Arts Center in South FL that Jaya Devi Arts hosted which is all about young adults trying to live their lives according to the modern lifestyle. And the parents would like them to keep some traditions, this one was an arranged marriage for their daughter who was dead against it. The play was well put together it’s their first one can only get better this was something new to South Florida which was refreshing to see. The play was very entertaining and funny keep you interesting, the music, the Jaya Devi and the guest dancers the singers and to see the drummers from Trinidad, Guyana, Jamaica, & Suriname were very enjoyable. The play portrayed a very good reminder of the cultural heritage that the younger and older generation needs to see and to preserve, teach, promote and, unite the people of the Indo-Caribbean.
The skit the writer portrayed in the beginning of play was very entertaining and funny she had the audience laughing throughout it very funny.
So thank you Jaya Devi Arts for bringing these shows to South Florida, looking forward for the next one.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

I was a cast member in Kitchrie 14 "Chakay" and I think the work JayaDevi Arts Inc has done is very important to the community. They brought a forgotten Heritage art form back with new and innovative styles. The play Chakay is a contemporary play with failing traditions and rising changes. The music and dance was traditional I look forward to another presentation of JayaDevi Arts Inc.
August 27, 2014

more

August 27, 2014

Thank You Jaya Devi for bringing such artistic and cultural extravaganza to us here in Florida. I enjoyed the show and to let you know that in portraying the years gone by it made my children understand some of the things I tell them how I used to live back home. Bringing dance into the play made it so much more entertaining and having groups from different islands bringing the talent of their respective countries was also quite enjoyable ... enjoyed the variety of artist preformed.
Bring more shows like this one... mohan

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

be more punctual

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

August 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

more

August 25, 2014
2 people found this review helpful

This is a tremendously meaningful organization for this community. It has put forth many wonderful show that are entertaining and enriching to the community and culture. I have attended and participated in most of the events and the quality is outstanding. JavaDevi Arts Inc, has always gave more than is expected and everyone always wants more. I highly recommend anyone of all ages attend any event hosted by JavaDevi and they will not be disappointed.
July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more


2 previous reviews - show all
January 27, 2014

I attended JayaDevi's Umrao Jaan ki Raat event last Saturday and I must say, I left with a feeling of anticipation that I can't wait for the next event. It was an evening showcasing the phenonmenal ta... more

July 23, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended the Kitchrie Festival over the last weekend and it was the best ever! The caliber of the musicians, the performers, the dancers...were top rated. I have never been to anything like this in South Florida. I would have paid $50 to see this show.
We were educated on a brief history of
the Indo-Caribbean heritage and even though we are from different countries, we got a see the similarities within our culture through the performing arts.
The play, though very comical, had a very strong message about family, unity and the purpose of the higher power in our lives. Can't wait to see this group on stage again!
The JAI Dancers added the 3rd dimension to the shows, the dances were the binding element of the production.
The entertainers from Suriname, Guyana, Trinidad and Jamaica, performing together, on one stage, epitomizes the mission statement of JAI. I will continue to support this organization in any way I can because I see the continuous growth and the positive influence JAI is having in the wider community.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

January 27, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

I attended JayaDevi's Umrao Jaan ki Raat event last Saturday and I must say, I left with a feeling of anticipation that I can't wait for the next event. It was an evening showcasing the phenonmenal talent of our Indo-Caribbean Community. The performances were top notched and you can clearly see the level of dedication and committment that went into making this event the success it was. If this event is any indication of the what is in store for us from JayaDevi, then I know our culture will continue to prosper and forge a new identity in South Florida. JayaDevi Arts Inc is not only bringing cultural awareness to the community through visual and performing arts but also teaching and mentoring the dancers to be independent and confident young ladies. Congratulations on a phenomenal job and wishing JAI continued success in 2014!

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

July 23, 2013
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a member of this Organization for 2 years and I have personally seen the phenomenal growth of JAI in such a short time. They have never lost focus of their mission statement and continue to grow and educate our community through the Arts. The caliber of their Indo-Caribbean theatrical productions continues to exceed expectations.
For my nominal donation, I get so much from JAI; to me it's an investment in my children's future. The group continues to mentor and train dancers in awareness, discipline, self confidence and professionalism through the Arts.
A vivacious bunch of people with a common goal...preserving Indo-Caribbean culture.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Expand throughout the country.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2013

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 24, 2014
1 person found this review helpful

One of the most organized and well-regulated non-profit organizations I have ever been involved in. Their goal is simply to preserve and educate american born west/east Indians about our rich and beautiful culture. The active members are doing a wonderful job at achieving this goal and are over experienced in their area of expertise. Combing both south and north Indian culture was a revolutionary idea that made our dance, music, and art much more exciting.

More feedback...

How would you describe the help you got from this organization?

Life-changing

How likely are you to recommend this organization to a friend?

Definitely

How do you feel you were treated by this organization?

Very Well

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2014

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers