Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Previous | Next
Write A Review
March 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been involved with The Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation since it was founded by Brian and Joanne McClatchy. Due to the unbelievable job done by Brian in helping the children with their education, clothing, medical expenses and now by building a new dormitory building these children are now living an incredibly better life everyday that each of them deserve. Unlike most non-profit organizations The Jatson Chumig Educationall Corporation donates 95 cents of every dollar raised directly to the betterment of Jatson Chumig and the children that live there. This is itself an amazing story due to the efforts and 100% free time given by Brian McClatchy, meaning that he does not get paid a salary or receive compensation in any way. Because of everything I have discussed we have given thousands of dollars to The Jatson Chumig Educationall Corporation over the years and we will continue to support this great cause for years to come. Thank you to Brian and Joanne McClatchy for all of the wonderful things you have done to make such a better life for the children of Jatson Chumig.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

December 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

A coworker introduced me to JCEC two years ago. After seeing the photographs and hearing about the school/orphanage I decided to sponsor a little boy. I have not doubted my decision for a minute. I have received letters and photographs from the boy I sponsor. I keep these on my desk at work as a reminder to keep things in perspective and remember what is important. My coworker has visited the school a few times and has given me first hand updates on the improvements to the facilities there. Most recently she provided me with some wonderful photographs. She has also told me about the positive impact the teachers/caregivers at this school are providing to the children. I feel confident that the donation I provide is being used in the best way possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

When I saw the need for improvements at this school/orphanage.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I believe in this program.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I think it is a worthy organization that is making a difference in the lives of many children.

November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This nonprofit, The Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation, has done an incredible job in both assisting and in helping to rebuild the Lhasa Jatson Chumig Welfare Special School located in Lhasa, Tibet ~ PRC.

Most recently, November 2011, a new girl's dormitory and a new toilet house were
both completed. These buildings will help improve the sanitation conditions and provide a much improved standard of living.

JCEC is helping children, orphaned children and disabled children living in Tibet. They do this by raising funds to assist this school and orphanage in Lhasa ... and they do this without anyone being compensated. This is the true-meaning of a nonprofit, service for others.

With a 96% donation to organization record, I feel confident that my donations go directly to help the children living at Jatson Chumig in Lhasa.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing that this nonprofit is responsible for the building of a new dormitory, I know that my donations were used exactly for the purpose I had intended. They have full accounting and report back to me with pictures, videos and reciepts of how donations are spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tell more people that they too can improve the lives of orphaned children living in Lhasa, Tibet.

More feedback...

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The overcrowded and sanitary conditions had to be improved. I knew that my donations would help solve these problems.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I've helped JCEC in the past, but with their capital campaign to rebuild dormitories, I knew I could do more and have a greater impact to help these children.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Absoultely! This organization is truly worthy of greater recognition.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I recently became a donor to JCEC after my cousin highlighted to me the critical support that Jatson Chumig provides to disabled and orphaned children in Lhasa. Because of the low overhead for donations to JCEC, I feel assured that the money I can donate is being used to provide critical housing and educational support
for these children. Brian McClatchy, chief executive officer provides clear information about the needs of the children, and information on which projects are of highest priority. Mr. McClatchy is very responsive to inquiries, keeps donors updated on the progress of the projects that donations fund.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports from my cousin who volunteered at Jatson Chimig, and who plans to do so again this fall (2011). Information provided on the website also provide important updates on the progress of projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to continue to seek appropriate funding from individuals and larger organizations that are considered acceptable donors. Encourage expansion of healthcare and physical therapy support for the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

JCEC showed a demonstrable need for support for critical housing for girls at Jatson Chimig.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

My children are very fortunate to have a safe, warm home to live in, and I wanted to share that opportunity. I had recently recieved gifts and felt that passing the value of some of those gifts along to those in great er need was important. It also gave me the opportunity to encourage others to donate in celebration of my birthday.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is unusual to have family who have been so involved in such an important activity, and that involvement has made me very confident that the funds that I and they donate will be very well used.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I've been a donor to JCEC for the past three years and I think the organization is a great steward of such funds. I've witnessed donations in action through significant improvement to facilities and amenities for the kids. I think the organization has strong leadership and vision!

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

newsletters and reports from the organization on the progress of certain infastructure projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Continue to build the fund development efforts so the organization can assist more children.

October 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

JCEC is an important organization with dedicated staff and volunteers which help the truly disadvantaged children of Tibet. It means so much to my wife and I to sponsor Pema, a small at the school. We hope in a small way we can help a child half way across the world, who does not have the same opportunities that our son has.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 3, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

JCEC provides direct help to orphaned and disabled children. When i donate to any worthy cause, I like to be confident that my contribution will do the greatest good. JCEC relies on generous volunteers who keep the overhead to a minimum so that the donations can do what they should- better the lives, health and well-being of vulnerable children.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I know someone who has been there, volunteered, and knows how much all help is appreciated.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

increase resources to expand the medical facilities for the 150+ students.

Previous | Next
Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers