Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Jatson Chumig Welfare school in Llasa since 2004. But it is Brian McClatchy's single-handed endeavor in setting up JCEC to make an impact on the orphanage by formalizing and converging the fundraising effort dedicated to the school. He is the only member on the board that is dedicated to JCEC full-time, and as a board member, I have witnessed and been touched by the difference JCEC has made to the school and its children to date, including the rebuilding of the girl's dormitory, the opening of kindergarten room, the set-up of website that outreaches to not only English-speaking but also Chinese-speaking communities, and the distribution of winter and summer school uniform that gives the students a sense of unity and pride. Going forward, it is hoped that JCEC can assist in upgrading the teaching resources and the boys' dormitory, in addition to supporting ongoing operating expenses. It is also hoped that stronger mutual trust can be established between JCEC and the local government, that the organization is solely dedicated to supporting the cause of the welfare school for the needy children across Tibet.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have witnessed first hand how the donations have helped the children in alleviating the crowded of dormitories, the providing physical therapy apparatus to the school, and the pride you see in the eyes of the children that they attain a better environment to learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope I can help bridge the cultural and language differences and help convey mutual trust with local organizations and government. Ultimately I hope I can be effective in complementing JCEC's fundraising effort in Hong Kong, especially in terms of upgrading the schools' teaching resources and helping the handicapped children in obtaining effective therapeutic care early on.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I have been on the school's contact database since my volunteering in 2004, so I had been reached out to by JCEC once it was set up.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To complete fundraising for the construction of the toilet house at the school.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To enhance the teaching resources so the children can really learn properly as they grow up.

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at Jatson Chumig in January 2008. January is the coldest month of the year in Tibet, but no sooner did I arrive then my heart was warmed by the cheerful, happy children at Jatson. The care that the housemothers, the administrators and the children had for one another was unlike anything I had ever seen! Orphaned and disabled children with no real family, no real possessions and seemingly no future, lived together as a family, caring for one another and striving to become educated, contributing members of society. This would not be possible, but for the commitment of the founders of Jatson Chumig and JCEC to provide food, clothing, shelter and a caring environment to these almost forgotten children. I have been involved with JCEC since its inception and have the highest regard for its mission and integrity in furthering its goals. Please join us in enriching the lives of these needy children!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As founder of The Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation, we've done an outstanding job in helping the children at Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa, Tibet. We are proud to state that 95% of all donations reach the orphanage with only 5% used as operating expenses. Thus far, the children have been helped in many ways such as, buying food, clothing, medical expenses and paying for their education. JCEC has also raised funds to build a new dormitory for the girls in 2011 and also a new toilet house for everyone in 2011. This has greatly improved their living conditions and sanitation conditions at the orphanage. The Collette Foundation has been extremely helpful in providing funds in buying new clothing (school uniforms) for all the children in 2008 and again in 2011. The Collette Foundation also donated funds to renovate an old, empty building into a new kindergarten room for the youngest of the Jatson Chumig children. In 2012, we hope to continue the rebuilding at the orphanage with the construction of a new boy's dormitory. Next year (2013) Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa, Tibet will celebrate its 20th anniversary (1993-2013). This program does an incredible job in providing opportunities for the children of Tibet and the USA nonprofit, JCEC, helps by providing assistance without compensation. All services provided by JCEC are donated and no salary or compensation is paid to anyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

continue to help spread this success story to others so that they become aware of the incredible success being accomplished in Lhasa, Tibet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it globally known so that others can learn of its success and contribute toward its rebuilding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I first visited Tibet in 2006 and have been with Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa since 2007 - present.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The shot-term priority is providing for these orphaned children. Improving their living conditions, their diet, the sanitary conditions, their housing and giving them the best education possible to improve their opportunities of continued success in life. Another short-term priority is to help the many disabled children living at Jatson Chumig; exercise equipment, helping them find a professional physical therapist and improve the overall health of the children.

What is its top priority in the long run?

The top priority is providing for these orphaned children. Improving their living conditions, their diet, the sanitary conditions, their housing and giving them the best education possible to improve their opportunities of continued success in life. Another short-term priority is to help the many disabled children living at Jatson Chumig; exercise equipment, helping them find a professional physical therapist and improve the overall health of the children.

April 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 30, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I first volunteered at Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage (Jatson Chumig) in Lhasa Tibet, P.R. China in 2006 providing physical therapy guidance to disabled students. Jatson Chumig is an NGO founded in 1993.

In 2007 I got to know Brian McClatchy and when he approached me about his goal
to found Jatson Chumig Education Corporation (JCEC) I was enthusiastic about what we could achieve.

JCEC was founded in 2009 with an all volunteer board. No salaries are received and an incredible 94% of donations (6% pays direct expenses such as PayPal & bank transfer fees) are transferred to Jatson Chumig in Lhasa. These donations provide food, clothing, education, and medical assistance to the students of Jatson Chumig. Jatson Chumig is currently currently home to about 158 students.

JCEC has also raised funds to renovate buildings and has just begun building a new girls dormitory.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

In addition to on-going direct contact with individuals running Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa, I returned to volunteer in 2009. I got to see and hear first hand the difference that JCEC is making.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

My goal is to help more people know about Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation (JCEC) and the difference it makes in the lives of the orphaned and disabled children who have found a home at Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

I traveled to Lhasa Tibet, P. R. China in 2006 to volunteer at Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage. Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation was founded in 2009 to assist the school.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

JCEC's mission is to improve the educational and vocational opportunities available to the orphanimed and handicapped students who attend Jatson Chumig Special Welfare School and Orphanage in Lhasa Tibet, P.R. China.

What is its top priority in the long run?

Long-term goals include the rebuilding of two dormitories and creating a new medical clinic while continuing to provide on-going improvement of educational and vocational opportunities.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

March 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

March 14, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

My name is Brian McClatchy and I am the founder / president of the Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation. Founded in 2009, JCEC raises funds which go directly to the Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage located in Lhasa, Tibet - PRC.

We (JCEC) has a remarkable donation rate as 94% of all
donations actually are transferred to Lhasa to help support the school and orphanage.

Consisting of an all volunteer Board, there are no paid employees and no salaries are paid to anyone, thereby making the most of every donation and helping the children at Jatson Chumig in Lhasa, Tibet.

Donations are used to buy: FOOD, CLOTHING, PROVIDE MEDICAL CARE AND TO PAY FOR THE EDUCATION OF ALL THE CHILDREN. Currently, there are 150+ children living at Jatson Chumig in Lhasa.

JCEC is also raising funding to help rebuild Jatson Chumig. After completing a new Kindergarten Room and Physical Therapy Room in 2010, we are embarking on a larger project in 2011. We have now begun building a brand new dormitory for the girls along with a new toilet house to improve the sanitation conditions for all the children.

Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa Tibet is an NGO organization. It opened in 1993 and has been run privately by the same Tibetan family since its founding.

Donations come in from around the world and JCEC transfer all monies it receives to Jatson Chumig in Lhasa to support the school and orphanage. At Jatson Chumig, the children are first and foremost.

Please look at our 990 IRS filings to see our success and visit our website at www.jatsontibet.org to read and see for yourself the success. Employer Identification Number: [EIN] = 35-2355827.

We look forward to YOU learning more about us and becoming involved. This is an OUTSTANDING organization in which donors know their generosity goes directly towards helping the kids. Once again, 94% of every dollar donated goes to helping the children living in Lhasa.

Photos

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

After being a volunteer teacher in 2007 (twice) and again in 2008, I began a larger role in marketing and development. It was then that a website was created and more fund-raising occurred which is improving the lives of the children.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I would like to create a larger audience to learn how effective Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation truly is. Seldom do you read about so much success coming from such a small number of donors and of a board which donates all of its time, talent and treasure toward helping Tibetan orphans.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

How did you learn about this organization?

In 2006, I visited Lhasa Tibet. In 2007, I returned (twice) and volunteered at Jatson Chumig as an English teacher.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The mission of the Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation is to improve the educational and vocational opportunities available to the orphaned and handicapped students who attend The Jatson Chumig Welfare Special School in Lhasa, Tibet ~ P.R. China

What is its top priority in the long run?

long-term goals are to rebuild two dormitories and create a new medical clinic to care for the children.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers