Oops! You must enter a search term greater than 3 characters.

Invite reviews

Invite friends and colleagues to share their experiences with this nonprofit
20 Reviews
12345
Write A Review
April 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
April 16, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

I went to Jatson last summer as volunteer, teaching English, Math, and Arts. Children in Jatson Chumig are so lovable. I was greeted by dances and songs every morning. Jatson's children lived together like brothers and sisters, helping each other and take care of each other. Their hearts are as beautiful and crystal as the clear blue sky of Tibet. I met some children who are physically challenged....but have very positive and strong will to overcome difficulties. It was a very touching moment when I saw one little boy (lost his right hand) insisted in doing his stuff without my help, and smiled back to me when he succeeded. The day I left campus, I burst into tears, when a little child who could draw and write beautifully, gave me a picture with my smiling face and a sentence "teacher, thank you for your warm smile to me". I missed the children very much. I gain more than I gave during the life-changing volunteering in Jatson.

More feedback...

Would you volunteer for this group again?

Definitely

For the time you spent, how much of an impact did you feel your work or activity had?

Life-changing

Did the organization use your time wisely?

Very Well

Would you recommend this group to a friend?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

April 12, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

When many are turning their heads away from Tibet due to China's influence around the world, individuals who have the hearts and soul for humanity steps up to provide education and living to physically challenged and orphaned Tibetan Children who would otherwise be unnoticed in the Occupied land. I really appreciate what JCEC is doing to help under privileged children in Tibet hidden from the world behind the China's Iron Curtain.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2006

March 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

March 9, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We have been involved with The Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation since it was founded by Brian and Joanne McClatchy. Due to the unbelievable job done by Brian in helping the children with their education, clothing, medical expenses and now by building a new dormitory building these children are now living an incredibly better life everyday that each of them deserve. Unlike most non-profit organizations The Jatson Chumig Educationall Corporation donates 95 cents of every dollar raised directly to the betterment of Jatson Chumig and the children that live there. This is itself an amazing story due to the efforts and 100% free time given by Brian McClatchy, meaning that he does not get paid a salary or receive compensation in any way. Because of everything I have discussed we have given thousands of dollars to The Jatson Chumig Educationall Corporation over the years and we will continue to support this great cause for years to come. Thank you to Brian and Joanne McClatchy for all of the wonderful things you have done to make such a better life for the children of Jatson Chumig.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 31, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

We represent the Collette Foundation, one of the philanthropic arms of Collette Vacations, the oldest escorted tour operator in the United States. The Collette Foundation focuses on providing resources to children in areas we visit with our passengers around the globe. We purposely select our sites based on the difference the entity we are partnering with intends to make and the stability of the organization to carry through with plans we agree to fund. We have partnered now with Jatson Chumig School & Orphanage since 2008. Our first grant in 2008 provided new uniforms and clothing to the students. In 2011, many of the uniforms were worn out and new uniforms especially for the frigid winter months were required. We agreed to fund the replacement of the unifirms and upgrade the material for an even warmer winter uniform for these deserving children. In 2010, the Collette Foundation funded the renovation of an old dilapidated building into a new Kindergarten Room for the young children. As we enter 2012 we are very much committed to building communities that will better the lives for children around the globe. They deserve every chance to have a positive, promising and bright future.

It has been so rewarding to work with this wonderful Tibetan school, which provides handicapped, orphaned, and destitute children of Tibet with a supportive, nurturing home, a basic education, vocational job training and more. We look forward to continuing to fund iniatives of this very worthy organization. The team at Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage does an exceptional job of communitcating with us on the status of our projects every step of the way. We are proud to be one of the supporters of the Jatson Chumig School & Orphanage.

More feedback...

How does this organization compare with others in the same sector?

Very Well

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you recommend this organization to others?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

What is unique about this organization?

Their follow through and commitment to tirelessly look for new ways to support the children makes them among the most effective organizations we work with around the globe.

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 29, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I have been a volunteer at Jatson Chumig Welfare school in Llasa since 2004. But it is Brian McClatchy's single-handed endeavor in setting up JCEC to make an impact on the orphanage by formalizing and converging the fundraising effort dedicated to the school. He is the only member on the board that is dedicated to JCEC full-time, and as a board member, I have witnessed and been touched by the difference JCEC has made to the school and its children to date, including the rebuilding of the girl's dormitory, the opening of kindergarten room, the set-up of website that outreaches to not only English-speaking but also Chinese-speaking communities, and the distribution of winter and summer school uniform that gives the students a sense of unity and pride. Going forward, it is hoped that JCEC can assist in upgrading the teaching resources and the boys' dormitory, in addition to supporting ongoing operating expenses. It is also hoped that stronger mutual trust can be established between JCEC and the local government, that the organization is solely dedicated to supporting the cause of the welfare school for the needy children across Tibet.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

I have witnessed first hand how the donations have helped the children in alleviating the crowded of dormitories, the providing physical therapy apparatus to the school, and the pride you see in the eyes of the children that they attain a better environment to learn.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

I hope I can help bridge the cultural and language differences and help convey mutual trust with local organizations and government. Ultimately I hope I can be effective in complementing JCEC's fundraising effort in Hong Kong, especially in terms of upgrading the schools' teaching resources and helping the handicapped children in obtaining effective therapeutic care early on.

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I have been on the school's contact database since my volunteering in 2004, so I had been reached out to by JCEC once it was set up.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

To complete fundraising for the construction of the toilet house at the school.

What is its top priority in the long run?

To enhance the teaching resources so the children can really learn properly as they grow up.

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

more

January 25, 2012
1 person found this review helpful

I volunteered at Jatson Chumig in January 2008. January is the coldest month of the year in Tibet, but no sooner did I arrive then my heart was warmed by the cheerful, happy children at Jatson. The care that the housemothers, the administrators and the children had for one another was unlike anything I had ever seen! Orphaned and disabled children with no real family, no real possessions and seemingly no future, lived together as a family, caring for one another and striving to become educated, contributing members of society. This would not be possible, but for the commitment of the founders of Jatson Chumig and JCEC to provide food, clothing, shelter and a caring environment to these almost forgotten children. I have been involved with JCEC since its inception and have the highest regard for its mission and integrity in furthering its goals. Please join us in enriching the lives of these needy children!

More feedback...

Will you volunteer or donate to this organization beyond what is required of board members?

Definitely

How much of an impact do you think this organization has?

Life-changing

Will you tell others about this organization?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

January 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

more

January 24, 2012
2 people found this review helpful

As founder of The Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation, we've done an outstanding job in helping the children at Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa, Tibet. We are proud to state that 95% of all donations reach the orphanage with only 5% used as operating expenses. Thus far, the children have been helped in many ways such as, buying food, clothing, medical expenses and paying for their education. JCEC has also raised funds to build a new dormitory for the girls in 2011 and also a new toilet house for everyone in 2011. This has greatly improved their living conditions and sanitation conditions at the orphanage. The Collette Foundation has been extremely helpful in providing funds in buying new clothing (school uniforms) for all the children in 2008 and again in 2011. The Collette Foundation also donated funds to renovate an old, empty building into a new kindergarten room for the youngest of the Jatson Chumig children. In 2012, we hope to continue the rebuilding at the orphanage with the construction of a new boy's dormitory. Next year (2013) Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa, Tibet will celebrate its 20th anniversary (1993-2013). This program does an incredible job in providing opportunities for the children of Tibet and the USA nonprofit, JCEC, helps by providing assistance without compensation. All services provided by JCEC are donated and no salary or compensation is paid to anyone.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

continue to help spread this success story to others so that they become aware of the incredible success being accomplished in Lhasa, Tibet.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

make it globally known so that others can learn of its success and contribute toward its rebuilding.

More feedback...

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2012

How did you learn about this organization?

I first visited Tibet in 2006 and have been with Jatson Chumig School and Orphanage in Lhasa since 2007 - present.

What is this organization's top short-term priority?

The shot-term priority is providing for these orphaned children. Improving their living conditions, their diet, the sanitary conditions, their housing and giving them the best education possible to improve their opportunities of continued success in life. Another short-term priority is to help the many disabled children living at Jatson Chumig; exercise equipment, helping them find a professional physical therapist and improve the overall health of the children.

What is its top priority in the long run?

The top priority is providing for these orphaned children. Improving their living conditions, their diet, the sanitary conditions, their housing and giving them the best education possible to improve their opportunities of continued success in life. Another short-term priority is to help the many disabled children living at Jatson Chumig; exercise equipment, helping them find a professional physical therapist and improve the overall health of the children.

December 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

Review from Guidestar
December 17, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

A coworker introduced me to JCEC two years ago. After seeing the photographs and hearing about the school/orphanage I decided to sponsor a little boy. I have not doubted my decision for a minute. I have received letters and photographs from the boy I sponsor. I keep these on my desk at work as a reminder to keep things in perspective and remember what is important. My coworker has visited the school a few times and has given me first hand updates on the improvements to the facilities there. Most recently she provided me with some wonderful photographs. She has also told me about the positive impact the teachers/caregivers at this school are providing to the children. I feel confident that the donation I provide is being used in the best way possible.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Likely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

When I saw the need for improvements at this school/orphanage.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I believe in this program.

What would you tell others about this organization?

I think it is a worthy organization that is making a difference in the lives of many children.

November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

more

November 23, 2011
2 people found this review helpful

This nonprofit, The Jatson Chumig Educational Corporation, has done an incredible job in both assisting and in helping to rebuild the Lhasa Jatson Chumig Welfare Special School located in Lhasa, Tibet ~ PRC.

Most recently, November 2011, a new girl's dormitory and a new toilet house were
both completed. These buildings will help improve the sanitation conditions and provide a much improved standard of living.

JCEC is helping children, orphaned children and disabled children living in Tibet. They do this by raising funds to assist this school and orphanage in Lhasa ... and they do this without anyone being compensated. This is the true-meaning of a nonprofit, service for others.

With a 96% donation to organization record, I feel confident that my donations go directly to help the children living at Jatson Chumig in Lhasa.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

seeing that this nonprofit is responsible for the building of a new dormitory, I know that my donations were used exactly for the purpose I had intended. They have full accounting and report back to me with pictures, videos and reciepts of how donations are spent.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

tell more people that they too can improve the lives of orphaned children living in Lhasa, Tibet.

More feedback...

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

The overcrowded and sanitary conditions had to be improved. I knew that my donations would help solve these problems.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

I've helped JCEC in the past, but with their capital campaign to rebuild dormitories, I knew I could do more and have a greater impact to help these children.

What would you tell others about this organization?

Absoultely! This organization is truly worthy of greater recognition.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

more

October 4, 2011
1 person found this review helpful

I recently became a donor to JCEC after my cousin highlighted to me the critical support that Jatson Chumig provides to disabled and orphaned children in Lhasa. Because of the low overhead for donations to JCEC, I feel assured that the money I can donate is being used to provide critical housing and educational support
for these children. Brian McClatchy, chief executive officer provides clear information about the needs of the children, and information on which projects are of highest priority. Mr. McClatchy is very responsive to inquiries, keeps donors updated on the progress of the projects that donations fund.

The Great!

I've personally experienced the results of this organization in...

Reports from my cousin who volunteered at Jatson Chimig, and who plans to do so again this fall (2011). Information provided on the website also provide important updates on the progress of projects.

Ways to make it better...

If I had to make changes to this organization, I would...

Encourage them to continue to seek appropriate funding from individuals and larger organizations that are considered acceptable donors. Encourage expansion of healthcare and physical therapy support for the children.

More feedback...

Was your donation impactful?

Definitely

How likely is it that you would recommend that a friend donate to this group?

Definitely

How likely are you to donate to this group again?

Definitely

What specific problem, purpose, priority, or project prompted your gift?

JCEC showed a demonstrable need for support for critical housing for girls at Jatson Chimig.

Why did you make your donation at this time?

My children are very fortunate to have a safe, warm home to live in, and I wanted to share that opportunity. I had recently recieved gifts and felt that passing the value of some of those gifts along to those in great er need was important. It also gave me the opportunity to encourage others to donate in celebration of my birthday.

What would you tell others about this organization?

It is unusual to have family who have been so involved in such an important activity, and that involvement has made me very confident that the funds that I and they donate will be very well used.

When was your last experience with this nonprofit?

2011

Write A Review

Filter by reviewer role:

Support This Nonprofit

Help this nonprofit get more reviews

5 tips for getting reviews

5 tips for getting reviews...

  1. Sending an email to clients, volunteers, donors, board members, and other partners with a link to your profile page.
  2. Putting a link on your Web site
  3. Including a link in your email newsletter
  4. Putting a link in the signature of your email
    Putting a link on your facebook page and status updates
  5. Tweeting out a link to your twitter followers